We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Things could have been terrible. We arrived on the island to discover that most of the island had been without power, and the hotel was still down. However, even with a line of concerned folks waiting for answers, the staff were very pleasant and very helpful. After waiting awhile to see if the power would come back on, we asked if they could help us find another place to stay. The staff gladly booked us into one of their other properties while maintaining the room rate we had been originally quoted. Then they arranged for our luggage to be moved and even called ahead. When we arrived, we just had to show our credit card and we were in our room. The next night, when power was restored we moved back. Again, the staff took care of everything.

As for the accomodations. The room was very spacious. The harbor view was great. Everyone was cheerful and helpful--and I mean everyone. The lady that cleaned rooms greeted us with a smile every morning, and smiled and sang while she worked. We had a lovely experience and will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: The harbor view rooms are definitely worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scott K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

793 - 799 of 1,144 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

The Chippewa Hotel is amazing! My husband and I came to Mackinac Island for our honeymoon, and choose to stay here because of the reasonable rate, and location. It was incredible. The staff was super friendly, and had a bottle of champagne and Murdick's fudge waiting for us in our room with a cute little note from the staff! The Pink Pony restaurant is also delicious! We had breakfast there one morning, and dinner another. The best part is the awesome view of the harbor, and the big jacuzzi that's right outside overlooking the water. Outstanding location, right downtown on Main Street and within walking distance of a lot of the cute shops and attractions.

Room Tip: If you are staying here for your honeymoon or anniversary, tell them that when you book. Never know...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hvmattiuzzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Recently visited family on the Island, stayed at the Chippewa Hotel where I worked 40+ years ago. The "new" accommodations are beautifully appointed, service is excellent and I relaxed for 3 days. Highly recommend the Chippewa for any visitors to Mackinac Island.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3delta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Overall the hotel is really nice. The room we stayed in was a little small but it has that cute country victorian feeling. Great location at the end of town so you dont hear any outside noises. A lttle pricey as well but worth the one time experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The island is an amazing place. Beautiful views from everywhere! The hotel was clean and everyone was very helpful. My room was small but nicely done (I had the double with a twin). Good price point too.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lgaffke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My mother and I stayed here for one night while on our trip to Mackinac Island. I have now stayed at 6 hotels/B&Bs on the Island. The Chippewa ranks at the top of my list. We had a corner room right across from Douds and so we had views of the Fort as well as even the Harbor. Our room was also beautifully decorated and clean. The hotel staff was so very friendly. I loved that they called us when our room was ready since we arrived on a morning Ferry. I would definitely stay here again. The location is perfect and you can't beat the price either!

Room Tip: The street side might be a bit noisey during a busy weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Taylor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Great location in the little town.. Clean room..friendly staff. Had a Harborview suite which was really nice..spacious..and had a great view. Comfy beds. Worked well with having small children..could come up and relax or get take-out and eat in our room overlooking the water (listening to live music from the porch below).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaralaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,088 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
738 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
783 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and Waterfront Collection
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and ...
#10 of 12 in Mackinac Island
263 reviews
0 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chippewa Hotel Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chippewa Hotel Waterfront

Address: 7221 Main Street, #103, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range: £75 - £450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chippewa Hotel Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our turn of the century hotel, built in 1902, has all of its original victorian charm combined with all the modern amenities that resort travelers expect. With our prime downtown, waterfront location, the Chippewa Hotel is definitely the place to stay. All water-view rooms are large suites with spacious balconies. All suites have been recently updated and feature separate living rooms, two flatscreen televisions, King or Queen pillowtop beds, and wetbar. The waterfront patio features a 25-person jacuzzi hot tub. We are home to the famous Pink Pony which has four different dining and drinking experiences. Our sister hotel, the Lilac Tree Suites & Spa features the Lilac Tree Spa for your relaxing enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Chippewa Hotel Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chippewa Hotel Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing