We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Nearby Hotels
Murray Hotel(Mackinac Island)
US$173
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Mission Point(Mackinac Island)
US$148
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa(Mackinac Island)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel(Mackinac Island)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Island House Hotel(Mackinac Island)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Harbour View Inn(Mackinac Island)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Inn at Stonecliffe(Mackinac Island)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Lake View Hotel(Mackinac Island)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,142)
Filter reviews
1,142 results
Traveller rating
833
230
39
19
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
833
230
39
19
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspink ponyhot tubstreet sidemilk and cookiestop floorwatch the boatsliving areaturn down serviceoverlooking the watergreat place to stayfort mackinachoneymoon suitewonderful hotelcoffee makerbeautiful viewclip clopferry dock
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
786 - 791 of 1,142 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The staff, the room, the Pink Pony....We couldn't have asked for a better time. We can't wait to go back! We wouldn't stay anywhere else.
Loved every minute of our stay and now we have wonderful memories to remember.

Room Tip: Lakeside, king size bed...great view of the water.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights in June. We'd never been to Mackinac Island before but had read plenty of great reviews of the hotel and the price was right. We were originally booked for two nights but loved the island so much we decided to stay for a third and received a great deal on our last night. I suggest calling the hotel for the best rates as they seemed to offer better deals than what we found online (generally it's the opposite).
Our first room was a corner room facing the street. First impression was not good - room was on an angle (about 2") and I felt like I had vertigo. Took the first night to get used to then I was okay with it. Second room down the hall was nice and flat. Rooms are small but they are clean and beds are comfy.
Staff are very friendly and the hotel is clean. I'm a stickler for cleanliness and this exceeded my expectations. The location was incredible, right in the heart of everything. Across from an amazing bar (Horns), the general store and Fort Mackinac. The view out back of the hotel was beautiful and we took advantage of the hot tub (a bit awkward as it is situated right beside the Pink Pony where guests are dining).
We had a street facing room and had read some reviews that the noise carried at night, we didn't have this issue. We loved waking up to the busy streets and being able to people watch out the window. The harbour view rooms out back were quite pricey but apparently less noisy with a sitting room and balcony.
We fell in love with the island and will definitely be returning. Though we toured the island and saw many B&B's and other resorts/hotels, we will be coming back to the Chippewa. You can't beat the service and the location. We have already referred many of our friends and family to the Island/Chippewa and hope they enjoy it just as much as we did.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nursemack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The staff was very friendly, the rooms are very clean. The Pink Pony was a good time and the Rum Runners were delicious. The only negative which really is more humorous than negative is that our room was on a slant. Gravity had me rolling out of bed : ) literally.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tigershark5347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

After exiting the ferry, we were kindly welcomed by the hotel porter who was standing next to our
baggage. At that point I knew the decision to stay @ the Chippewa Hotel was a good one. The location of the hotel on Main Street downtown is great with plenty of "touristy" things to do just minutes, even seconds, away. Our accommodations were immaculately clean & handsomely decorated with a nautical theme befitting the spectacular views of the Straits. Dinner at the hotel restaurant was delicious, and after-dinner drinks in the bar, with musical entertainment, capped off a wonderful day! Great service from check-in to check-out. Highly recommend The Chippewa.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank matt s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Things could have been terrible. We arrived on the island to discover that most of the island had been without power, and the hotel was still down. However, even with a line of concerned folks waiting for answers, the staff were very pleasant and very helpful. After waiting awhile to see if the power would come back on, we asked if they could help us find another place to stay. The staff gladly booked us into one of their other properties while maintaining the room rate we had been originally quoted. Then they arranged for our luggage to be moved and even called ahead. When we arrived, we just had to show our credit card and we were in our room. The next night, when power was restored we moved back. Again, the staff took care of everything.

As for the accomodations. The room was very spacious. The harbor view was great. Everyone was cheerful and helpful--and I mean everyone. The lady that cleaned rooms greeted us with a smile every morning, and smiled and sang while she worked. We had a lovely experience and will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: The harbor view rooms are definitely worth the money!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scott K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews