We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When can I go back?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“When can I go back?”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We loved our stay at the Chippewa Hotel. Everyone from the baggage porter to the desk clerk were friendly and helpful. Our room was larger than expected and had a beautiful view of the harbor. Mackinac Island is one of our most favorite destinations in Michigan. We will be back!

Room Tip: The Harbor View side has a great view from the 2nd floor and above. The Pink Pony shares this side o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytrailstooU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    663
    195
    33
    18
    18
See reviews for
322
394
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Everything was clean, staff was pleasant. Only reason for 4 out of 5 was the price....a little high for the size room we had, but I'm sure it's in line with other hotels.

The restaurant food was good, we had 2 dinners and 1 breakfast at the Pink Pony.

You can't beat the location of this restaurant as it is right next to the ferry dock, very convenient. I recommend this hotel and will more than likely stay there again!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank CrysWindsor_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren, OH
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The Chippewa Hotel has a wonderful location. It is on the end of Main Street, so it is in the midst of all the shops, bars, restaurants, fudge stores, etc., but also away from the congestion of people. It is a short walk to the fort and along the marina. The staff was extremely friendly and the room was beautiful and quite large. The room was very quiet at night even having street view and the Pink Pony attached. The food was excellent at the Pink Pony and it was nice to just walk through the hotel lobby to then go to the room. I would highly recommend this hotel. It is not inexpensive, but with a short season, it is understandable. The luggage service was a great bonus. We dropped our luggage off at the Shepler Ferry dock and it was in our hotel many hours later.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachLoverWarren_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We had never stayed on the island before, but will definitely come back to the Chippewa! Very friendly and helpful staff. Beautiful view from our room of the water; we sat right outside our room door and watched freighters go by. Restaurant is great and the internet breakfast special is well worth it! Can't wait to go back in the fall for a color tour.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almont, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Booked this hotel last minute and what a wonderful surprise. Price was not cheap but the room was just perfect. The front desk personal were fantastic, friendly and helpful. We had a street view......all that was available. Great location not far from the ferry. Best of all home to the Pink Pony!!!!

Room Tip: Harborview would be my first choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dgreenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saugatuck, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The hotel is clean, well located and one of the very few on the water. The staff are great too. The negative is a lack of wind down places to go such as chairs and such to hang in during the day. The hottub area has the kids and the few chairs go quick, the rest is outdoor lunch tables. If you want to read and relax for the door, this might not be the place but for lively activity and partying, it is great. Also, rooms are TINY unless you get a suite.

Room Tip: You can get street side, generally small rooms, or water side views with balconies that I think are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, Michigan USA
Level 6 Contributor
427 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I'm in room 312 as I write this review. The staff is excellent the rooms are large and clean. The rooms with harbor view have great views… even better if you're on the 3rd or 4th floors. The quitter rooms have the larger numbers… hence my choice of 312 rather than 302. I have stayed here MANY times over the last 10 years. It's not a quiet hotel during boating weekends… be aware. I really enjoy this hotel.

Room Tip: Harbor view… hi numbers
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marty O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
803 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
901 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
673 reviews
0.0 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
250 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chippewa Hotel Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chippewa Hotel Waterfront

Property: Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Address: 7221-103 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chippewa Hotel Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our turn of the century hotel, built in 1902, has all of it's original victorian charm combined with all the modern amenities that resort travelors have come to expect. With it's prime downtown, waterfront location, the Chip is definitely the place to stay. All waterside rooms are large suites with spacious balconies. All suites have been recently updated and feature separate livingrooms, two flatscreen tvs, king or queen pillowtop beds, and wetbar. The lakeside patio features a 25 person jacuzzi hottub. It is home to the famous Pink Pony which has four different dining and drinking experiences. It's sister hotel, the Lilac Tree Suites & Spa features the Lilac Tree Spa for your relaxing enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Chippewa Hotel Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chippewa Hotel Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing