We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We have been visiting the Island since 1971 and the Chippewa has become our home. Great location, friendly staff ( dock porters, front desk, house keeping and management ). A great place to relax with a cup of coffee on your deck and watch the world go bye. Catch a ball game and dinner in the "Pink Pony". Life is good.

Room Tip: Get A Harbor side room if possible. Great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Shagbark2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

737 - 743 of 1,144 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

Chippewa Hotel was a great family vacation experience. The location is right on the main road and the harbor on the back side of the hotel. The heated Jacuzzi pool was great for the kids after a day of biking and shopping. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Harbor side rooms offer a great view of the ferries coming to the island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Going to Mackinac Island, I expected an overpriced joint that barely qualified as a real hotel. Boy, was I wrong. The Chippewa rooms were very spacious and beautifully appointed. Everything about the hotel was nice. The front desk people were friendly and helpful, the restaurant was nice (not great) and of course, the atmosphere was what you expect of Mackinac Island. The only downside was the TINY elevator, but we were happy walking the stairs, anyway. If you are going to Mackinac Island and don't want to stay at the stuffy Grand Hotel, the Chippewa is definitely a good choice

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rturian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My wife and I had been looking at all of the available options on Mackinac Island and after much debate we decided on Chippewa for a few reasons, but the big one was proximity to downtown. This was our first time to Mackinac Island and we didn't want to be removed from all of the action.

From the minute that we hit the dock on Mackinac, we didn't have to lift a finger. We walked to the hotel and a porter went and got our bags while we checked in and went up to our room. The porter came in and delivered our bags quickly.

The room was extremely clean (we had a street view on the second floor). All of the furniture was nice, neat and clean. and we had a generous sized love seat in our room with a coffee table. The bath was a little small, we just wished the door opened all the way. However the bathroom was spotless.

After reading a few reviews on the Chippewa, we were a little hesitant because there were a few that mentioned the noise. Honestly, I'm not sure if they changed the windows or what, but we hardly heard any noise.There was a little noise from the bar downstairs, but that ended at promptly at 11pm.

Pros :
In the city center. All the big attractions are near by and you can easily bike or walk to them.
The beds. The beds are super comfy and we slept extremely well the entire time we were there.
The hot tub. Located near the outside bar, grab a drink and soak the miles that you biked that day away.
Food. Having breakfast included (extra fee) at the Pink Pony was great and it was delicious.

Cons.
Kinda wish the A/C was located differently in our room. Seemed to blow just directly on our head in the bed.
It was so nice while we were there and being from the south, I wish the room just had a ceiling fan. That would have been sufficient for us.

So, in conclusion, we really liked staying at the Chippewa. It is close to everything, it is reasonable in price, it is clean top to bottom (even the molding through out...which there is a lot of). If you want to stay on Mackinac and be close to everything...Chippewa is the place to be.

Room Tip: If you get a street side room, rooms on the "east" side will be farther away from the Pink...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank scorchercrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Pros: centrally located, nice views

Cons: spotty service. Pool was supposed to open at 8am, asked about it at 9:15, asked about it at front desk, told by person at front desk that he didn't know ( and he made no move to find out because it "wasn't his job"). Breakfast order completely messed up.

For being in a service industry, they need to do better.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank 13lynettel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We were greeted at the dock by out Chippewa porter, Josh, who swept up our luggage at promptly met us at the hotel. The check in was efficient and friendly. We felt right at home. Josh led us to our room which could not have been more amazing. Beautifully decorated and appointed. I was pleasantly surprised to see a well stocked kurig. All was neat and clean. The view was spectacular. My son enjoyed the hot tub. We are already trying to figure out a way to come back.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terrilynn844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The Chippewa is my favorite place to stay on the island with a great location. The rooms are nice and spacious with flat screen tv's. Spend a little extra and get a room with a balcony and watch the sun go down. The Pink Pony is one of the best bars on the island with entertainment almost every night. During the day sit out on their deck that overlooks the harbor, and they also have a very large hot tub that faces the harbor as well. Good cocktails and good food too. They will also allow you to pre-pay for breakfast for $10 per person which is a great deal and we would recommend it.

Room Tip: Best rooms are balcony with harbor view on 3rd or 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WISam2220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,090 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#2 of 12 in Mackinac Island
671 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
783 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and Waterfront Collection
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and ...
#10 of 12 in Mackinac Island
264 reviews
0 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chippewa Hotel Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chippewa Hotel Waterfront

Address: 7221 Main Street, #103, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range: £72 - £431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chippewa Hotel Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our turn of the century hotel, built in 1902, has all of its original victorian charm combined with all the modern amenities that resort travelers expect. With our prime downtown, waterfront location, the Chippewa Hotel is definitely the place to stay. All water-view rooms are large suites with spacious balconies. All suites have been recently updated and feature separate living rooms, two flatscreen televisions, King or Queen pillowtop beds, and wetbar. The waterfront patio features a 25-person jacuzzi hot tub. We are home to the famous Pink Pony which has four different dining and drinking experiences. Our sister hotel, the Lilac Tree Suites & Spa features the Lilac Tree Spa for your relaxing enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Chippewa Hotel Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chippewa Hotel Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing