We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Nearby Hotels
Mission Point(Mackinac Island)
US$153
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Island House Hotel(Mackinac Island)
US$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Lake View Hotel(Mackinac Island)
US$220
US$213
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel(Mackinac Island)
US$394
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$220
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa(Mackinac Island)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
Harbour View Inn(Mackinac Island)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Inn at Stonecliffe(Mackinac Island)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Murray Hotel(Mackinac Island)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,142)
Filter reviews
1,142 results
Traveller rating
833
230
39
19
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
833
230
39
19
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspink ponyhot tubstreet sidemilk and cookiestop floorwatch the boatsliving areaturn down serviceoverlooking the watergreat place to stayfort mackinachoneymoon suitewonderful hotelcoffee makerbeautiful viewclip clopferry dock
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
732 - 737 of 1,142 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I return to Mackinac Island year after year to meet up with lifetime friends who all worked up on the island in college. Hands down, the Chippewa is my favorite place to study! Amazing views, large suites, great hospitality...and conveniently located to the Pink Pony and Main Street Mackinac. I've stayed many places over the years...this one now feels like home!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee2West
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Mackinac Island is a perfect harmony of then and now! What a beautiful place to walk around, horse around, bike around or to simply be still and enjoy the straits of Mackinac. This is the best place to unplug and unwind.

Chippewa Hotel was our home away from home. From the moment we embarked on the island a friendly chippewan face greeted us. We were quite early but everyone went out of their way to accommodate us. Our room was also quite special.....our view, priceless!!! Thank you to all the wonderful staff for making our stay very special. Till we meet again.......

Room Tip: Our rooms were on the top floor suites. The view of the straits is magnificent and the suites are big and spacious.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MightyCoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We have been visiting the Island since 1971 and the Chippewa has become our home. Great location, friendly staff ( dock porters, front desk, house keeping and management ). A great place to relax with a cup of coffee on your deck and watch the world go bye. Catch a ball game and dinner in the "Pink Pony". Life is good.

Room Tip: Get A Harbor side room if possible. Great view.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Shagbark2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Chippewa Hotel was a great family vacation experience. The location is right on the main road and the harbor on the back side of the hotel. The heated Jacuzzi pool was great for the kids after a day of biking and shopping. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Harbor side rooms offer a great view of the ferries coming to the island.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Going to Mackinac Island, I expected an overpriced joint that barely qualified as a real hotel. Boy, was I wrong. The Chippewa rooms were very spacious and beautifully appointed. Everything about the hotel was nice. The front desk people were friendly and helpful, the restaurant was nice (not great) and of course, the atmosphere was what you expect of Mackinac Island. The only downside was the TINY elevator, but we were happy walking the stairs, anyway. If you are going to Mackinac Island and don't want to stay at the stuffy Grand Hotel, the Chippewa is definitely a good choice

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rturian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews