We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great option on the Island” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chippewa Hotel Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great option on the Island”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

A water-view suite is the way to go. Even though it was drizzly and cold during our stay, we didn't let it stop us from bundling up and sitting outside watching the ferries arrive and depart. The view is great and the larger room was comfortable. You can arrange for your bags to be taken to and from the ferry by the hotel - which makes it easy if you have much to carry.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shamlinN77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    652
    189
    31
    18
    17
See reviews for
308
390
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Our first stay at the Chippewa didn't disappoint! Upon arrival, we learned of our upgrade to a water-view suite. We were sad that we had a busy day/night/morning planned and didn't get to spend much time in the room, and on our patio overlooking the marina.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jables460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

I return to Mackinac Island year after year to meet up with lifetime friends who all worked up on the island in college. Hands down, the Chippewa is my favorite place to study! Amazing views, large suites, great hospitality...and conveniently located to the Pink Pony and Main Street Mackinac. I've stayed many places over the years...this one now feels like home!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee2West
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Mackinac Island is a perfect harmony of then and now! What a beautiful place to walk around, horse around, bike around or to simply be still and enjoy the straits of Mackinac. This is the best place to unplug and unwind.

Chippewa Hotel was our home away from home. From the moment we embarked on the island a friendly chippewan face greeted us. We were quite early but everyone went out of their way to accommodate us. Our room was also quite special.....our view, priceless!!! Thank you to all the wonderful staff for making our stay very special. Till we meet again.......

Room Tip: Our rooms were on the top floor suites. The view of the straits is magnificent and the suites are b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MightyCoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebron, Indiana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We have been visiting the Island since 1971 and the Chippewa has become our home. Great location, friendly staff ( dock porters, front desk, house keeping and management ). A great place to relax with a cup of coffee on your deck and watch the world go bye. Catch a ball game and dinner in the "Pink Pony". Life is good.

Room Tip: Get A Harbor side room if possible. Great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shagbark2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Chippewa Hotel was a great family vacation experience. The location is right on the main road and the harbor on the back side of the hotel. The heated Jacuzzi pool was great for the kids after a day of biking and shopping. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Harbor side rooms offer a great view of the ferries coming to the island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Going to Mackinac Island, I expected an overpriced joint that barely qualified as a real hotel. Boy, was I wrong. The Chippewa rooms were very spacious and beautifully appointed. Everything about the hotel was nice. The front desk people were friendly and helpful, the restaurant was nice (not great) and of course, the atmosphere was what you expect of Mackinac Island. The only downside was the TINY elevator, but we were happy walking the stairs, anyway. If you are going to Mackinac Island and don't want to stay at the stuffy Grand Hotel, the Chippewa is definitely a good choice

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rturian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#5 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,380 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.2 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chippewa Hotel Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chippewa Hotel Waterfront

Property: Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Address: 7221-103 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chippewa Hotel Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our turn of the century hotel, built in 1902, has all of it's original victorian charm combined with all the modern amenities that resort travelors have come to expect. With it's prime downtown, waterfront location, the Chip is definitely the place to stay. All waterside rooms are large suites with spacious balconies. All suites have been recently updated and feature separate livingrooms, two flatscreen tvs, king or queen pillowtop beds, and wetbar. The lakeside patio features a 25 person jacuzzi hottub. It is home to the famous Pink Pony which has four different dining and drinking experiences. It's sister hotel, the Lilac Tree Suites & Spa features the Lilac Tree Spa for your relaxing enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Chippewa Hotel Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chippewa Hotel Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing