We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st Anniversary - Great Time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2009

I spent a bit more on this hotel than I normally do, but I think it was worth it. Great time, great hotel, great views. Very comfortable. Great restaurant.

We got to the island on one of the early ferries - 9AM Star Line ferry. The porter was at the dock and he took our bag to the hotel for us. Very nice guy, name's Archie and he lives on the island. He seems like he enjoys what he does. So, we went to the hotel, which was about a 5 minute walk, and found out that our room was ready for us already! And they upgraded us! So, you can imagine, we were both very happy about this. We had a place that we could go to before 3pm to relax and wash up, etc.

The room itself was great. I can describe the hotel interior look as an antique motif. But once you get inside the room, it's got some nice modern touches. We had a 4th floor suite with a balcony. I have some pictures below and it was fantastic. 2 queen beds in the bedroom (the first room when you enter, which I thought was weird, but that's okay), and a bathroom/shower with a separate sink (i.e the sink was outside the bathroom). And then the suite/living room, which had a fridge, microwave, sink, awesome Samsung 'Touch of Color' 46" TV, a couch and a few chairs, and an amazing balcony overlooking the lake. Obviously the lake is what made the balcony, but still it was amazing. You had a view of the pier and the busy side of the island, but that's where the hotel is, so I'm not complaining about that. The balcony itself wasn't that private as you'll see in the pictures, but you can't get everything, I guess.

Downstairs, there was a nice restaurant with pretty good food. Our dinner entree at the Pink Pony restaurant ran us $50 for 1 entree, an appetizer and a few drinks. Not that bad, in my opinion, for a fine restaurant. Breakfast was free and delicious.

Service was great, as they treated us well (and I expected it as I was paying a decent amount, approx $210 to stay there).

The only negatives I can think of are the price of the stay for one night, and the fact that you're so close to the dock that when Arnold ferries come in, you can feel a slight rumble underneath you. But, it wasn't at night, because ferries don't run at night, so I'm not complaining that much. Free USA Today, and discount coupon book for things in the area. Staff at front desk was very nice and helped us out deciding what to do.

Great time. Would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AppreciateBeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,096 - 1,102 of 1,144 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2009

We just returned from a great stay on Mackinac Island. We go to the Island once a year and this is the first time staying at the Chippewa. We got a deal on a waterfront room, two room suite. ALthough the ferry horns can be heard when they pull in at the dock, we found them to be rather alluring after two days. The hotel has been renovated and the rooms were spotless and the bath was immcaulate. The pink pony lounge, whcih is downstairs, was the place to be the night we were their, great guitar player..We would definately return to the Chip!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarnicleBrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2009

We stayed at the " Chip" in a waterfront suite, usually on the third floor, for eight years for eight to ten days up until we bought a condo on the Island. Our children and grandchildren came for two or three nights as well. They always tried to group our rooms together. We always had a great time. We used their inhouse babysitting service and were very pleased with how they took care of the grandchildren . The daily room service was always great, and if you needed something extra, Nancy's housekeeping staff was on top of it.. The front desk personnel were always friendly and helpful. The restaurant and Pink Pony were outstanding as well.If there was ever a problem, it was taken care of as soon as possible by Brian's staff. The one time in eight years that we had a problem (hot water was not working temporarily in one of our three rooms) an adjustment was made on the bill for that room. My wife enjoyed the massage service. We have recommended the "Chip" to other family and friends, and they have been equally pleased. This is a result of a great team being pulled together by Brian Bailey, general manager, and the committment of the owners to quality and excellence. Now that we are blessed to spend 5-6 months on the island in our condo, we still frequently visit the Pink Pony and eat in either the main dining room or outside on the patio.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2009

We have stayed at this hotel several times and have always enjoyed it. It is close to the ferry's and to a lot of bars and restaurants. The Pink Pony has a great atmosphere and is a lot of fun. We've always had a great service, the staff is wonderful.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mackinawfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2008

This was a great place to stay I came home from Iraq for our anniversary and the hotel staff was great. The room was clean and nice. There was plenty to do on the island. I recommend tis hotel to anyone. The location was great close to shopping and the sites.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank fireboy825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2008

Anyone who is looking for a place to stay while on Mackinac Island would be very happy at the Chippewa Hotel.

I would like to give special mention to Nadine at the front desk, very pleasant and great to deal with. Nancy who is head of housekeeping is so friendly and will make sure you are comfortable and your rooms very clean. Joe is the best cocktail maker at the Pink Pony bar. Archie is the to go guy for your luggage, so friendly and and a great guy.

These are only some of the people who made our stay memorable.
They can all give you history and stories of the Island.

If you go be sure to say Hi from Bart and Judy

Stayed: October 2008
1  Thank FlowerJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2008

We recently celebrated our anniversary by spending the week-end at the Chippewa Hotel Waterfront on Mackinac Island and we had the most wonderful time! The Chippewa Hotel has the friendliest staff we have ever encountered in all of our travels! The hotel is clean and ready to serve your every need. They even surprised us with a bottle of sparkling wine, a set of embossed flutes, and a box of truffles! Thank you for a most romantic week-end!!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlessedGrandmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,088 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
738 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
783 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and Waterfront Collection
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and ...
#10 of 12 in Mackinac Island
263 reviews
0 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chippewa Hotel Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chippewa Hotel Waterfront

Address: 7221 Main Street, #103, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range: £75 - £450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chippewa Hotel Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our turn of the century hotel, built in 1902, has all of its original victorian charm combined with all the modern amenities that resort travelers expect. With our prime downtown, waterfront location, the Chippewa Hotel is definitely the place to stay. All water-view rooms are large suites with spacious balconies. All suites have been recently updated and feature separate living rooms, two flatscreen televisions, King or Queen pillowtop beds, and wetbar. The waterfront patio features a 25-person jacuzzi hot tub. We are home to the famous Pink Pony which has four different dining and drinking experiences. Our sister hotel, the Lilac Tree Suites & Spa features the Lilac Tree Spa for your relaxing enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Chippewa Hotel Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chippewa Hotel Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing