We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Tyler, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Lovely Place to Stay”
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Lilac Tree is located in the center of town and is a very convenient location to downtown activities. I took the "Mackinac Haundted Walk" history ghost tour and it actually started in the lobby of our hotel. The room was spacious and very clean. Would stay there again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caper2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    542
    126
    35
    8
    10
See reviews for
307
246
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We stayed in the Balcony King spa room. It was very roomy and the view overlooked Main Street and a little of the harbor. The bed was very comfortable and faced the inside of the hotel away from the noise of the street. It was nice to have a separate living area away from the bathroom and bedroom.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battle Creek, Michigan, United States
1 review
Reviewed 17 September 2012

The room was large, clean and in the middle of everything you want to do on Mackinac.

The toilet leaked constantly. (We were told they were being replaced the following week.)

The beds are right there when you walk into the room but away from the street and balcony so the street/night noise in not heard. They are very comfortable and the turndown service was good.

Overall, I think the hotel is pricey without a whole lot to offer.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Cincinnati
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed in the Balcony King Spa room and it was quite nice- roomy, nice view of Main street and some of the harbor, and well decorated. Staff was warm and friendly. The only problem was, we could not access the free wireless from our room! We had to sit in the hallway, and at the price we paid that shouldn't be an issue. Also, the bed pillows were too big- why do hotels seem to think the fluffier the better? We had to use the decorative pillows from the sofa for our heads so they wouldn't be up so high! In spite of this, I would highly recommend- we got an EXCELLENT couples massage at the Spa from Chelsea and Tatiana!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stargal61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Let's start with the positives: great location, spacious, great staff and friendly service and the beds were comfortable. Milk and cookies were a nice touch. But I have to admit I was underwhelmed when I saw the room. Everyone comments how clean the rooms are and I just did not find that to be the case. Everything seemed just a little dingy, and maybe it was the lack of natural light in our room (which was the last available). The negatives--lights in the bathroom were dim, the toilet ran (and ran and ran)--it wasn't broken but just slow and the carpet was well worn. Overall it was nice and I would stay again (but would definitely book earlier to get a balcony room), but I am not sure that we have found the place that we will always stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton Township, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

This was the best experience ever! We took a short 3 day trip to the island for our honeymoon, and booking this hotel was the best thing we could have done. Their packages are PHENOMENAL, the rooms are quaint and clean, the room service and turndown service is quick and precise, the view is amazing, but most of all BOOK WITH THE SPA. The spa was an amazing experience tucked under the hotel. It was such a relaxing experience. We did a couples deep tissue massage and felt sooooo relaxed after, it really made our trip. Not to mention the breakfast with the beautiful view each morning, a bottle of champagne each day, and a big box of chocolates and fudge waiting for us when we got into the room. This hotel is about the little details, and they had it spot on. A little pricey, but more than worth it, especially considering it's location and the cost of nearby hotels comparitively.

Room Tip: i definitely recommend getting the Romantic Getaway package, and definitely get a balcony room, well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aaron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2012

What a wonderful hotel and a wonderful stay. Our room was spectacular, overlooking the Mackinac Island, main drag; from our balcony we could see all the wonderful activity on the street, the horses and buggies, kids on bicycles and older folks proving that you never really do forget how to ride a bike. On our last day my wife had overdone it, we are seniors, 66 and 71. It was my wife’s birthday trip. On our last day Nancy could not walk because of a flared up hip problem; she overdid it a bit, walking, climbing in and out of buggies and dining and dancing at The Grand hotel. It was a short buggy ride to The Grand but much more enjoyable staying in town at the Lilac Tree, near all the activity. The staff, in particular Nicole, provided a wheelchair, and with the help of Josh, Nancy was able to stay in that wheelchair from our hotel room all the way to our car in St. Ignace. The team on the ferry wheeled her on and off the ferry and right to our car and made sure the wheelchair got back to the hotel. Everyone from the hotel to the ferry to the parking lot attendant was very caring and took care of use like family. Thanks to all of them. We are planning, and bringing some of our children and possibly grandchildren on, our next trip, and of course staying at the Lilac Tree. My daughter is looking forward to relaxing at the Spa and spoiling the granddaughters there as well.

Room Tip: Any room with a balcony overlooks the activity of the town and bay. I'm sure other rooms are ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
886 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,013 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
951 reviews
0.1 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
258 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilac Tree Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilac Tree Suites & Spa

Property: Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Address: 7372 Main St., Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lilac Tree Suites & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lilac Tree Suites & Spa is located in the heart of downtown Mackinac Island. We are surrounded by restaurants, bars, shops, Island activities, and are centrally located to the ferry docks. We are an all-suites property featuring modern amenities that a traveler is accustomed. All suites have two large rooms separated by a bathroom with double vanity. All suites have two 40" flat screen televisions, wet bar, microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker, and pillowtop mattresses in the bedroom. The Lilac Tree Spa is located on the ground floor of the hotel, offering massage, body wraps, facials, and nail services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Lilac Tree Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lilac Tree Hotel Mackinac Island
Lilac Tree Suites And Spa
Lilac Tree Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing