We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean with friendly staff but needs updating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Hartland, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Clean with friendly staff but needs updating”
Reviewed 29 September 2012

The color scheme throughout the hotel is garish. The common areas and hallways are painted in lilac and wallpapered in a floral motif. That part was okay until I saw our suite which was painted entirely in BRIGHT yellow with a wallpaper border in primary colored flowers. The bedspreads were a different floral design of primary colors. The bathroom tile was broken and filthy and the porcelain of the tub had been damaged in a spot. Perhaps the plan is to update which is badly needed. The staff especially the manager, Nikki, are friendly and helpful. Overall the hotel is very clean. The location is good, right on the main street, in easy walking distance of the ferry company docks.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    543
    126
    35
    8
    10
See reviews for
307
246
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Great place to stay. We had a party of 5: 2 couples and an adult in a suite with 3 queen beds - very roomy and comfortable. The only improvement suggestion is that a second toilet would make this a perfect suite for multiple guests!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HTCHANG53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

My sisters and I decided on the Lilac Tree Hotel because it was located downtown and offered a two bedroom suite for the six of us. Our room had an island view which faced the cottages behind us. The suite had two queen beds in one room and another queen bed in the living room. The beds were wonderfully comfortable. The two rooms were divided by the bathroom area which featured a two person jacuzzi tub/shower. Everything was spotless. There were two TV's, microwave, fridge and wetbar. The decor has busy floral motifs, typical of the island hotels. In the evening the housekeepers brought us cookies and milk one night and put chocolates on our pillows the next. We used the hot tub provided by the sister hotel, The Chippewa, about a block down the street. The hotel is in the center of town. Those who wanted to shop needed only take the elevator to the street. The night spots, Horn's Bar and The Pink Pony are just a block or two down main street. Both had live entertainment. The Stu Stuart comedy show and the Lilac Tree Spa are located downstairs of the hotel. The spa was wonderful, but suggest you make an advanced appointment. We ate dinner at The Woods Resteraunt, a wonderful treat. Not cheap, but the Bavarian lodge decor, delicious meal, and classy Jamaican waiters made it our favorite! Look forward to returning.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holt, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We were in a balcony spa room with a beautiful view of the harbor and of the street below. Room was spotless, the staff was friendly and professional. The decor is slightly outdated, but everything in the room was clean and worked perfectly. We were right across from the elevator and concerned about the noise potential, but it was not a problem. Would definitely recommend this property and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easton PA
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

I am a group leader for our Church and decided on the Lilac Tree for our trip to Mackinac Island. The hotel is centrally located in the middle of Main Street. Every one of the 39 suites are decorated differently. There were spotlessly clean and well taken care of. They are all beautiful and everyone was happy. The staff at the Lilac Tree was friendly and did everything possible to help you. I would definitely encourage anyone to stay at the Lilac Tree.

Room Tip: I had room 308 with a large balcony and it was great. Look for the balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolEastonPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

The suites are pretty nice - queen beds, pull out couch. The rooms are in back so noise from street not a problem. The decor is a bit outdated - bad wallpaper border and gold tone bath fixtures. The bed was most comfortable bed I've slept on in awhile.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank restandrelax84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendallville, Indiana, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed in a Balcony spa room. What a great view! We had a view of the harbor and looked down on main street. The balcony was perfect in the morning to watch the sun come up and to listen to the town come to life. The room was pricey but what isn't on the island! We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJRuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
890 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,022 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
952 reviews
0.1 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
260 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilac Tree Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilac Tree Suites & Spa

Property: Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Address: 7372 Main St., Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lilac Tree Suites & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lilac Tree Suites & Spa is located in the heart of downtown Mackinac Island. We are surrounded by restaurants, bars, shops, Island activities, and are centrally located to the ferry docks. We are an all-suites property featuring modern amenities that a traveler is accustomed. All suites have two large rooms separated by a bathroom with double vanity. All suites have two 40" flat screen televisions, wet bar, microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker, and pillowtop mattresses in the bedroom. The Lilac Tree Spa is located on the ground floor of the hotel, offering massage, body wraps, facials, and nail services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Lilac Tree Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lilac Tree Hotel Mackinac Island
Lilac Tree Suites And Spa
Lilac Tree Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing