We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrific Place”
Reviewed 4 August 2008

I simply do not understand the negative reviews. Our experience was exactly the opposite. Our room was made up the minute we left in the morning. We had attentive service. Extra blankets and pillows were provided within minutes of our request. The room was terrific -- big, clean, modern, and comfortable.

Be sure to get a room facing the main street. Those rooms have lovely balconies and are worth the price.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Thurgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    500
    124
    33
    8
    8
See reviews for
282
234
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2008

The service was poor, room not made up by late afternoon, the sink was blocked on our arrival and it was dirty, then the toilet blocked, the decor was shabby and so was the furniture. It was not worth the money. For this price I'd expect at least good service and a clean and well maintained room.

  • Liked — central location in town
  • Disliked — poor service and standards
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank jcsbUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2008

This past weekend we stayed at the Lilac Tree. Having never stayed there before but staying many other places on the island we did not know what to expect. What we found was a WONDERFUL stay!! Everyone at the hotel from the front desk, to housekeeping to the housekeeping manager was extremely friendly. We had a suite overlooking the main street. It was extremely clean and had beautiful decor. It was a perfect spot to be close to everything. We will without a doubt be staying at the Lilac Tree for all of our visits to Mackinac Island!!!!

  • Liked — Everything!!
  • Disliked — Everything was great!!!!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichiganTriplover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
momtothree5
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2008

It has been a hectic summer so my husband and I decided to take our small children to Mackinac Island for a peaceful and relaxing family getaway. My husband and I visited the Island on our honeymoon 15 years ago and remember how relaxing it was so we thought that would be perfect to slow down and catch up with our children. We heard from an acquaintance they had stayed at the Lilac Tree so we decided to just try our luck because time to really research was not an option (we stayed at the Grand before but decided the kids weren’t ready). The rate was a bit higher than we would usually pay but we were told “we were paying for the great location.” This could not be further from the truth…so much for our relaxing family vacation. The Lilac Tree is located right downtown and every time you step out of the hotel it is like stepping into chaos with the bikes and people enjoying the Island everywhere. While this is part of the charm that we like to visit, we did not enjoy being forced to deal with it all the time. Also, with our little ones it was difficult to spread out and let them run around without having to first battle through a crowd. We still love Mackinac Island and were able to find some other places that we will definitely be bringing our children back to next time. As for our room, it was mediocre at best and not at all worth what we paid for it.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank momtothree5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howell, MI
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2008

We have stayed in numerous hotels on Mackinac and this one was a good one. The room was not the cleanest, but clean enough that we felt comfortable. The elevator is open to to anyone from the public to come up, but we never saw anyone suspicious. The door has locks- so we didn't see any problems with it. It was actually kind of nice to just walk right up to the elevator, not have to walk through a lobby. As far as noise complaints, that is bound to happen in any hotel, just the luck of when your stay is. We had no problems with noise while we were there in the high season.

What we liked best was how the beds were in a separate area from the couch, t.v., sink and fridge, and balcony. We could put our two small kids to bed and close their door, but still stay up and enjoy the sounds of the island from our balcony. Previous stays at other hotels we would have to try and wind down the same time as the kids, which is not ideal for us. The toy store is also right outside the elevator, which is ideal for kids. One afternoon it rained and we made a few trips down to look at the toys.

Stay at the Lilac, you'll like it.

  • Liked — separate sleeping and lounging areas
  • Disliked — not top notch cleanliness
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Brooklynsmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2007

I stayed at the Lilac Tree twice this summer and loved each stay! The staff was friendly and helpful, the rooms were beautiful and spacious, and the location was perfect! I visit the island twice a year and recommend the Lilac Tree rooms with a balcony for your stay. I stayed in rooms 312 and 314 this year. Both of these rooms were spacious and had big balconies. I enjoyed sitting on the balcony watching the people enjoy the island and hearing the horses walk by. The stay is well worth every penny.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmm729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2007

Our first trip to Mackinac Island and it's absolutely a great place to visit. Very beautiful! However, I definetely would not stay at the Lilac Tree again. Please note: I have never written a bad review! The front desk check-in lacked any form of customer service. The room we originally checked into was disgusting. The carpet was filthy and in desperate need of a vacuuming or a shampoo or better yet, replacement. The bathroom was littered with hairs and not the ones from your head. Luckily, we were able to switch rooms. Our new room was a little better, it still had filthy carpet but not nearly as many hairs. I'm a pretty frequent traveler and I've stayed in many hotels. It's almost expected that you will always find something in your room that acts as a reminder of the previous guest. No big deal, but this was pretty disappointing. My husband and I were staying at the hotel with 4 other friends, if we had been by ourselves we would have gotten a refund and stayed somewhere else. Ok-enough of the hotel, the island is absolutely beautiful and I definetely recommend renting bikes and riding around. It was a blast! Oh, and if you love eating fudge, this island is the place for you!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — Filthy floors, outdated rooms.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skywren520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
804 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
927 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
901 reviews
0.1 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
250 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilac Tree Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilac Tree Suites & Spa

Property: Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Address: 7372 Main St., Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lilac Tree Suites & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lilac Tree Suites & Spa is located in the heart of downtown, centrally located to the ferry docks. We are surrounded by restaurants, bars, shops and most Island activities. We are an all suites property featuring modern amenities that a traveler is accustomed. All suites have two large rooms separated by a bathroom with double vanity. All suites also have two 40" flat screen TVs, wet bar with microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker, and pillowtop mattresses in the bedroom. The Lilac Tree Spa is located on the ground floor of the hotel, offering massage, body wraps, facials, and nail services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Lilac Tree Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lilac Tree Hotel Mackinac Island
Lilac Tree Suites And Spa
Lilac Tree Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing