We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel okay, skip Mackinac Island, head to Traverse City or Charlevoix instead”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hotel okay, skip Mackinac Island, head to Traverse City or Charlevoix instead”
Reviewed 23 September 2009

Located in the center of Main St, where all the shopping and dining establishments are located. Lobby is separate from hotel; elevator to rooms is public -- anyone could go right up to the rooms. Stayed in King Club $uite w/balcony -- their top-of-line room. Was not on the water as I expected, but had a view of the water (over/between other ugly buildings). From the beautifully decorated hallway, you enter into the bedroom, the pass through bathroom, into sitting room where the balcony was.

The bedroom decorations were colorful and attractive, bed linens were clean/comfy, with a small TV on a shelf; the sitting area was all kelly green -- a bit much. Nice big jacuzzi tub and double sink with large mirror. In the sitting room, there is a couch/chairs, table/chairs, large flatscreen TV, inexpensive sink/frig/counter area. On the balcony, a table/chairs.

Upon arrival, I discovered that the AC was not working. To their credit, they did fix that right away and I had no further problem. One table was very dusty, but the rest of the room was clean.

Would have preferred the bedroom and sitting room areas switched for two reasons: (a) vending/ice was RIGHT OUTSIDE MY DOOR, so every night I could hear ice/cans dropping and sometimes people talking loudly in the hallway (b) would have enjoyed the view (what there was of it)/lake air from bed. However, guests might not want to hear the continuous clippety-clop of horses or, in busier season, more shoppers/diners on Main St.

Hotel staff was friendly and responsive, but the hotel doesn't do anything to make your stay special. With a little thought/effort, it could be more.

I wanted quiet and relaxing, on the water. Would have done better to stay in Traverse City or Charlevoix instead. Mackinac Island is beautiful, but basically an expensive tourist trap with lousy shops and okay-at-best dining. Metevier Inn on Market St looked to be more what I wanted, but is not on the water. Enjoyed the scenery but would not go back.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fatjoonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    500
    124
    33
    8
    8
See reviews for
282
234
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2009

We had a spacious two room suite with balcony overlooking Main Street-- comfortably laid out and well thought out. It was not at all noisy, although we were there mid-week and the Island was not that crowded. Staff was very nice, very helpful. I did feel that while generally clean and comfortable, faciliity maintenance could be stepped up a bit. Overall, though, a good experience. If the system allowed, I would rate this between a three and a four -- better than three, but not quite a clear four; but since it is clearly above three, I am giving it a four.

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DCTravelFan100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, MI
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2009

This is the best place to stay on the Island. Staff is wonderful - very responsive to requests and always very friendly. Location is perfect - right in the center of town and easily accessible from ferrys and great restaurants. Room was perfect - our two room suite was divided by a bedroom door that allowed children and parents their own separate, quiet space. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M0m2One
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2009

On each trip to Mackinac Island, we try to stay somewhere different to sample the many hotels and B&B's on the island. This trip, our stay was at the Lilac Tree, which I honestly didn't realize was an all-suite hotel.

Our room was divided into a sleeping area (closest to the hall) with the bathroom and sink area separating the living room which included the balcony. That simple setup allowed us to put our 3 year-old daughter to bed and without disturbing her, stay up and watch tv or more likely, sit on the balcony and watch the activity on Main Street.

The hotel is updating it's rooms and while ours still had the previous scheme (which was still nice), my sister's room was very nice with new wallpaper, carpet and furniture including a flat-screen TV.

The hotel lobby is quite small and the elevator is outside in atrium area, which in some cities would concern me, but it wasn't a problem on Mackinac Island.

A couple of highlights to mention is the great downtown location and the nightly turndown service which included Oreo cookies and milk (seriously). The best feature, though, was the size of the room. You could probably fit two standard rooms in our room (212).

My brother in-law had an okay massage in the spa, but Stu Stuart's comedy show at the hotel was quite enjoyable. Overall, a very nice visit that I'd be happy to repeat anytime.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AtlantaPhotog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, MI
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2009

I reserved an island side suite which worked perfectly. The bedroom had two beds, one for my 2-year old and one for myself. There was a separate living area complete with doors so she could have a quiet room to herself while the others in the suite could watch TV and talk. There was a also a refrigerator, handy for keeping her milk cold. The rooms were spacious and the tub was enormous. And the porter was very fast - from the time I called the front desk until the time he showed up was about two minutes.

The largest flaw in the hotel is noise. It's an old building, so sound travels, and the noisy wedding parties in the hall could be heard quite clearly. Also, the elevator and stairs to the upper floors are not located in the lobby, and do not require a key card, so anyone can wander through the hotel. And that is what happened, as there was a group of people that would run down the halls and jump up and down in the elevators (which was right by the head of my bed). The front desk was responsive to send someone investigating the noise, but it still took a while for the noise to end.

Overall, we had a pleasant stay, if not quite enough sleep as we would have liked. Hopefully, it was an isolated incident.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ScottSto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Combined Locks, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2009

The lobby of the hotel is located on the ground floor in the midst of various shops so the place definitely has the feel of a Hotel rather than a B&B. I took the advice of many on this site and stayed at the Lilac instead of The Grand and used the money I saved on a nice dinner at the Grand for my sweet bride & me. It was definitely the way to go. I sprung for the suite with a balcony and didn't have any issues with hearing noise from the street. I forgot to bring a corkscrew and the front desk was quick to help me out even though the gal working the desk appeared a bit annoyed. The Lilac's location was right in the middle of everything. It was close enough that when we left we just walked to the ferry with our luggage since we were running late. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tawas, michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2009

The Lilac Tree Hotel and Spa is located right in the "middle" of downtown Mackinac Island and in August it is a busy place but that is the way we like it. We had a street side room - throughly enjoyed the scenery from the balcony and meeting the people next to us. Sitting at night on the balcony enjoying some cherry wine and the summer breeze was delightful. The room was very clean with plenty of space and comfort. If you want quiet just close the balcony door - simple. Another plus for us is that all the good resturants and attractions are no more that a ten minute walk and I could walk to the Grand Hotel in the evening (with my golf clubs) and play nine holes - no problem. I would really recommend this hotel for families because of the size of the rooms and its location. We had a great time!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chippewa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
804 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
927 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
901 reviews
0.1 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
250 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilac Tree Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilac Tree Suites & Spa

Property: Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Address: 7372 Main St., Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lilac Tree Suites & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lilac Tree Suites & Spa is located in the heart of downtown, centrally located to the ferry docks. We are surrounded by restaurants, bars, shops and most Island activities. We are an all suites property featuring modern amenities that a traveler is accustomed. All suites have two large rooms separated by a bathroom with double vanity. All suites also have two 40" flat screen TVs, wet bar with microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker, and pillowtop mattresses in the bedroom. The Lilac Tree Spa is located on the ground floor of the hotel, offering massage, body wraps, facials, and nail services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Lilac Tree Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lilac Tree Hotel Mackinac Island
Lilac Tree Suites And Spa
Lilac Tree Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing