We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This review is about the spa only, which was FANTASTIC.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2010

So we were in Mackinaw staying at the sister hotel, The Chippewa hotel. We saw the advertisement for spa services at the Lilac Spa. We booked 2 one hour appointments for massages for the following day. When we arrived to book the appointments and again for the massages, the reception room was not what we expected. When we arrived for our appointments though, we were taken in to the relaxation room and wow, what a great place. We were given lockers, robes and slippers. My girlfriend had Deb and I had Kelly. Both were very great at tailoring the massage to what we needed. After wards Kelly had a glass of water, with this awesome Tranquility drops. AMAZING! we are already planning on our return trip to Mackinac and the Lilac Spa. Maybe we will try Tatiana when we go back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erj1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (783)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

727 - 733 of 783 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2010

My family stayed in a suite with balcony overlooking the street. There isn't a better location on the island. We enjoyed relaxing on the balcony, watching the island "awaken" each morning, and people watching . The room was pricey but we felt the location, cleanliness, and comfy beds justified the price. The building (and all of the island) are old, but that is part of it's charm. While on the island we enjoyed riding bikes around the perimeter of the island, lunch at the fort, and toured the grand hotel. I would recommend having breakfast at Marc's bakery a bit down the street and dinner at Horn's. Shepler's and starline ferries are within a block from the hotel. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveljunkies87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

While the room was nice, the web site does not do a good job of letting you know that the referenced restaurant/bar (Pink Pony) is not on site. The front desk is not helpful; they could not even tell me how late a bicycle could be rented. If you're looking for something quiet, the downtown location has a great deal of noise.

They also tried to charge us for smoking in the room (which we did not). We did smoke on the balcony but that is a no-no too! Read the fine print before you sign anything and don't expect them to tell you about it. They just indicated I should initial that we would not smoke in the room - which we did not. The fine print lists balcony too! My fault for trusting them. When they called to let us know not to smoke on the balcony we complied immediately.

The really bad thing was they tried to charge $100 for smoking in the room, but tried to hide it as well! I wasn't given a bill until I demanded it. That's when they admitted the charge. Really, really NOT a good thing. They charge way too much $$$$ for this kind of treatment. Did they need the $100 for Febrezing the "air"?

Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
4  Thank Mobile55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bballer, General Manager at Lilac Tree Suites & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2010

I am very sorry that you had a poor experience. We certainly strive to give excellent customer service to our guests. Our front desk associates are trained to explain the new Michigan Smoking Law regarding guest rooms and balconies. I'm sorry that they did not convey this clear enough. It was not mentioned that the $100 charge was taken off their bill. We have since changed our policy to warn about smoking first and only charge if the warning is ignored. Every customer upon checkout receives an itemized copy of their folio, we certainly do not "hide" any charges.
Being a destination we train our associates to know as much as possible about the Island to help our guests with all sorts of questions. Since we are not in the bicycle business however, I think that this would be a difficult question to answer. The associate should have made a call on your behalf however.
Even though the Lilac Tree Suites & Spa is convienently located in the middle of downtown, it is certainly a very quiet hotel with nice size airconditioned two room suites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

We purchased a night at the hotel at a charity auction, figuring that we couldn't go wrong with a place on Mackinac Island! The hotel was on the main street and overall was okay. Things that drove me crazy - the toilet ran for about 5 minutes before you could flush it again, the sheets would not stay on any of the beds (had to get up several times in the night to attempt to put the sheets back on the bed...gross!), the coffee pot had not been cleaned and the cups were still dirty in the room, wallpaper falling off everywhere, room faced an alley, hairdryer barely blew any air.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichiganBelTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2010

This is the second time we've stayed at the Lilac Tree. The location is great and the front desk is very friendly. We would definitely stay there again. There were only two things that I didn't care for. The cups and glasses are 'washed' each day when the maid comes in. They didn't actually clean them but rinsed them out instead. The other was one afternoon as we were relaxing in our room the maids came in unexpectedly. We didn't hear them knock and I was quite startled to look up and see people in my room. They asked if we'd like milk and cookies which we declined. I probably would have taken them had I not been so panicked. We felt it was a bit odd. All in all, we love it there and will go back.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank artgirl59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

Paid over $300 for a "suite" with 3 Queen beds (which were actually pretty comfortable). There were no windows in living room area and the one window in the bedroom overlooked an alley and the backs of buildings. Rooms seemed clean but walls were covered in outdated peeling wallpaper, metal frame in bathroom's drop-ceiling was extremely rusted, ceiling tiles were stained. The two main rooms have worn golf course green carpeting. Some of the lamps didn't work. I was kind of embarassed that I picked this hotel for my family to stay at given the condition of the rooms. But the hotel's location is right on main street and I had assumed it would be a lot nicer given it's name "Lilac Tree Suites and Spa." Not a seedy place, but desperately needs attention and updating and definitely not worth $300+ a night.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJ48178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2010

I hesitate to write this review because it'll just make more people want to stay there and then the rates will go up! We stayed at the Lilac in June of 2009 and it was great. Staff were very helpful and atmosphere was very relaxing. We enjoyed massages downstairs and our third floor suite was HUGE. We marveled at how nice it all was for the price. There are many places to stay on the island that are NOT air-conditioned, and they cost more!
We had A/C, T.V., refrigerator, coffee pot and more for a great price in a spacious room. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dulcimer05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,090 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#2 of 12 in Mackinac Island
671 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and Waterfront Collection
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and ...
#10 of 12 in Mackinac Island
264 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
738 reviews
0.1 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilac Tree Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilac Tree Suites & Spa

Address: 7372 Main St., Mackinac Island, MI 11040-1664
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range: £136 - £290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lilac Tree Suites & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lilac Tree Suites & Spa is located in the heart of downtown Mackinac Island. We are surrounded by restaurants, bars, shops, Island activities, and are centrally located to the ferry docks. We are an all-suites property featuring modern amenities that a traveler is accustomed. All suites have two large rooms separated by a bathroom with double vanity. All suites have two 40" flat screen televisions, wet bar, microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker, and pillowtop mattresses in the bedroom. The Lilac Tree Spa is located on the ground floor of the hotel, offering massage, body wraps, facials, and nail services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Lilac Tree Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lilac Tree Suites And Spa
Lilac Tree Hotel Mackinac Island
Lilac Tree Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing