We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming stay”
Review of Harbour View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harbour View Inn
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2012

I stayed here the last week they were open in October, for 5 days. They offered a great deal for a room online which allowed me to stay longer on the island. There are two buildings to this hotel which seem to offer the same great experience. The main building that looks like the plantation is where I stayed and where you check in, and to the side is a big blue building that is the bed and breakfast. The b&b might be 4 story's, filled with antiques and really pretty from what I could see. My 1st floor room was perfect for one person and offered an outdoor sitting area off of the room, which was great for morning coffee. The inviting front porch is so beautiful with feel as if you are on a southern plantation, but offers the great view of Lake Huron and the clip clop sound of horse and buggy on Main St.
Coffee and tea is served all day, and a continental breakfast each morning. They also offer a discount to their guests on bike rentals, which is a must when on the island.
Great price and very clean. I highly recommend to anyone no matter what their budget.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gbortner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (728)
There are newer reviews for Harbour View Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

624 - 630 of 728 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2012

This inn is at a great location, the rooms are large and quaint and very comfortable. The breakfast, included in the price, is wonderful, with hot and cold items.
The luggage service is great. You leave it in your room and a porter brings it to the ferry, so you don't have to walk to the dock carrying suitcases.
BUT:
The porter did not bring our luggage to the ferry on time. Our advice is to make sure you see your luggage being loaded on before the ferry takes off and don't tip the porter before you get your luggage !! We ended up waiting around for 2 hours on the mainland for the return trip of the ferry........

Room Tip: we stayed in the "Carriage House". Although there is no view, it is very quiet because it...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gerdina1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Having read differing reviews on the rooms, I was a little skeptical. I was fortunate that I had a room in the Guest House that was more of a suite than a room. Some of those on the trip were complaining about their small rooms. It must be the luck of the draw. I found the staff outstanding and most interested in accommodating requests. The location of the Inn is perfect, although I doubt there is a bad location on the island. I highly recommend travel to Mackinac in the Falll. No crowds and beautiful colors. The only drawbacks of the Inn are that there are no coffeemakers in the rooms and the televisions are for the most part VERY old with poor reception.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
2  Thank gonealot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012 via mobile

Ideal location just 2 - 3 blocks from all the shops, restaurants, and attractions. Our Inn room was clean & pleasant, a bit small, but had balcony access with wonderful harbor views. The garden rooms were more spacious with courtyard view. The staff was very pleasant & helpful, breakfast was good, and they had their own bike rentals for guests - at the lowest rates we saw! We'd return!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WanderingDiddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Nice place to stay on Mackinaw Island. Just a couple of blocks from the "downtown" area, which was nice because it was quieter at night. Room was very cute, nice bedding, and clean. Complimentary breakfast was very good. Definitely would come back

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

My husband and I decided to celebrate our 24th wedding anniversary (Labor Day) at Mackinaw Island, MI. We had never been there before and had no clue where to stay. Since our visit was a last minute decision, the Harbor View Inn was the only place available. We hesitated because we read one (1) bad review. However, "let the record show" we LOVED it!!! It looked just like the picture and the people were very hospitable. The room was small but quaint and romantic. Next time we go to Mackinaw Island, we will be staying at the Harbor View Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

My wife and I recently spent our first weekend on the island and in our research we decided to book 3 months prior with the Harbor View and we were very satisfied! Value, Atmosphere, corteous and knowledgeable staff made the long weekend a pleasant time. Staff met us at the Ferry, retrieved our bags and met us at our room. The hotel is a 10 minute walk to the center of this fantasy town. No cars only peddle bikes and horse drawn carriages are the mode of transportation and it is a wonderful experience. We will be back to the island and we will be staying at the Harbour View Inn!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schaefcand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
972 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,000 reviews
0.3 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
494 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,067 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Inn

Address: 6860 Main Street, PO Box 1207, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range: £112 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour View Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a short walk from the best attractions on Mackinac Island, yet away from the bustling traffic of downtown. Our relaxing hotel complex offers a variety of rooms in four different buildings and complimentary breakfast. All rooms are non-smoking. Out of respect for all our guests, we ask that you leave your pets at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Harbour View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Hotel Mackinac Island
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing