We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely spot on the island”
Review of Harbour View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbour View Inn
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely spot on the island”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

This inn is a perfect place to stay on Mackinac Island. I have been here many times over the years and it is consistently clean, well-staffed, and the rooms are lovely. The breakfasts, included in the price of your stay, include more of a variety of fresh foods than you usually get at a hotel. The garden atrium is a nice place to look out on or sit for a break. The location of the inn is perfect, off the busy main street yet close to all the attractions, Mission Point, the Butterfly House and the histroic St. Anne's Church.

Room Tip: If you want to sit outside your room overlooking the garden atrium, ask for a first floor room in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drosenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    226
    50
    24
    10
See reviews for
175
352
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

There really are no bad places to stay on Mackinac Island. Each hotel and B&B has its own charm. My goal is to stay at every single one of them one year at a time. This year we wanted to be cost effective and chose to stay at Harbour View Inn. While it is less costly than some of the other hotels, it has just as much if not more to offer making it an excellent value! Our room was fairly large and the bed was excessively comfortable. The decor was charming and welcoming. The staff was friendly and the breakfast was tasty. There are plenty of common areas including a beautiful porch to sit and relax. It is a short walk to the dock and the "downtown" area and an even shorter bicycle ride. They even rent bicycles by the hour here so you can just grab it before you leave and return it when you get back. Great hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PenelopeTsernoglou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Stayed there 2 nights July 2nd and 3rd 2013. They put us in the back house. It is a cloister of rooms that face a courtyard which is super hot and stuffy location! The patios are NOT private and stretch out to other peoples rooms who SMOKE! The bed blankets had HOLES in them and smelled like stinky feet. They only give you two smashed pillows and the beds are hard as a rock and feel like a board. The bathroom is part of your room!!! The sink area is Open to the bed area- like a MOTEL! No closets! Very very much MOTEL like. The front desk is NOT helpful and for some reason the carriage tax's don't wait one minute for you and leave if you are not out front and they will not come back! you can miss your dinner reservations if you depend on the carriage taxi to pick you up from this place. No wonder they had rooms available during the 4th of July weekend....:(

Room Tip: Do NOT stay in the carriage house/back house. You will hate it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Haven, Michigan
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We stayed for one night at the Harbour View Inn. We were on the top floor of the guest house. We had a nice view of the harbor. The room was nice and large with two queen beds. I thought the rooms were especially nice. I have stayed at two other properties recently on the island and our room was much larger here.

The breakfast was more then enough with oatmeal, cold cereal, pastries, fruit, etc.

I especially enjoyed sitting on the front porch. Even though it was quite warm when we were there, we had a nice breeze and it was very relaxing.

Room Tip: Thought it was very quite in the guest house. Nice view of the harbor from the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler49090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

A friend and I spent 3 wonderful days @Harbour View Inn on Mackinac Island this past June. We just so happened to be there at the peak of the wonderful Lilac Tree Season. The Island smelled like Sweet Perfume.
Our room was in the Guest House in the Back of the Main Property, overlooking the gorgeous gardens and the rooms were just redone in wonderful Fresh Garden Flower Motifs. We also had a wonderful breakfast each morning, just enough to get us up and out. The staff was most kind and helpful while we were there..first we were met at the dock by a young man who took our luggage to our room so that we might walk around the Island a bit. We stopped by the Pink Pony for an afternoon refresher and I left something there, the staff at the Harbour View dialed up the Pink Pony for me and the young man from there biked up to our Inn to return my item. Now that's service with beyond compare. This was our second trip to Mackinac Island and we love the Island and will be back again next year, samt time, same place...

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Oak
Level Contributor
131 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We've stayed in several hotels on Mackinac Island over the years. I doubt we'd come back to this one. I don't have any particular complaint except for the awful bed. We had a top floor room in the Guest House building, which had a great view of the harbor. I'm not sure the rooms below us (which had balconies), did have the view. In any case, the building was prettily decorated and the room was large and clean. But that was possibly the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in, with the exception of my brother's sofabed, and the pillows were like rocks. Also, the shutters did almost nothing to darken the room, which is a problem in the middle of summer when it gets light around 5:00am. I've had that same problem of inadequate curtains in other hotels on Mackinac Island.
The staff were very friendly, as you expect on the island. All hotels are overpriced there, and perhaps this one was slightly less over priced than others. But it was missing the extra touch that fools you into thinking that maybe the price isn't so outrageous. Other hotels offer a small pool or a billards table in a game room or a large porch to sit on or cheese and crackers in the lobby or warm cookies or fudge at night. This one had none of those small touches. They did rent bikes at the going rate on the island, but they didn't have kids bikes so we went elsewhere.
The breakfast was totally ordinary and all cold - hard boiled eggs, yogurt, some small muffins, cereal, juice.
If you do go to the island, biking around the island makes it all worthwhile.

Room Tip: the top floor of the "guest house" building have fabulous views of the harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MKRoyalOak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medina, Ohio
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We stayed at the Harbour View Inn during the Lilac Festival in June and absolutely loved our stay here. We were in the Bed and Breakfast next door to the main building. We were on the top floor and thought we were going to die climbing all the stairs to get there, but by day two of our five day stay, we had no trouble at all. Of course biking everyday helped a great deal. Our room was fabulous, we almost couldn't find it when we first arrived, it was on the left at the top of the stairs (kind of hidden). It was a hidden gem! It was an L shaped room with a little living room area with a sofa, wingback chair, tv, and dresser in the long area and a king sized bed and nightstands in the other area. We also had a great bathroom and a very large closet. The slanted ceiling in the room added character and was not steep, we were never in danger of bumping our heads. (my husband and I are both 6' tall). The room was at the back of the building where the roof pitch is not as steep as the front. There was a view of the harbour if you looked at an angle, so we positioned the chair to see the harbour. We didn't really spend that much time in the room anyway, only the first day after I wiped out on my bike. The B&B had an ice machine on the first floor, which was great because my knee required icing that afternoon. There is also a very nice bathroom located on the first floor. So you don't need to run up all the flights of stairs if you are sitting on the front porch, enjoying a glass of wine, while people watching and need to use the restroom.

The breakfast in the morning was simple, but perfect for us; oatmeal, hard boiled eggs, great coffee cakes and fruit. They also had several varieties of bread for toast, cold cereals, and juices. Their coffee was very good too! They always had apples or bananas available, which was great for the mid day snack after biking.

Our first morning, which was a Monday, there must not have been many people in the B&B because breakfast was served in the main building, which was just as nice, but a bit more crowded. That's when we discovered the porch on the second floor of the main building, this is the Harbour View!!! It is just spectacular, you could hang out there all day long.

The proximity to town was fabulous! Like other reviews have mentioned; close enough to walk, but far enough away you don't hear all the hustle and bustle.

We brought our own bikes and parked them in the back of the B&B, very convenient.

I also wanted to mention our great experience with the luggage service. We used Shepler's Ferry as recommended by the inn. The hotel staff took the luggage right from the Ferry straight to our room, we never had to touch our luggage. This was fantastic, we were there for a week and packed for all seasons (being early June). We didn't have a lot of luggage, but what we had was heavy. We never could have carried it up the four flights of stairs, thank you to the great bell service!!! Big tip well worth it!!

We had such an enjoyable and relaxing stay. This was our first trip to Mackinac Island and we cannot wait to return. We stayed for 5 days and could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: If you cannot handle stairs, do not stay in the B&B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gbutlerfan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
0.1 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
0.3 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#10 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Inn

Property: Harbour View Inn
Address: 6860 Main Street, PO Box 1207, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour View Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a short walk from the best attractions on Mackinac Island, yet away from the bustling traffic of downtown. Our relaxing hotel complex offers a variety of rooms in four different buildings and complimentary breakfast. All rooms are non-smoking. Out of respect for all our guests, we ask that you leave your pets at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbour View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Hotel Mackinac Island
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing