We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Harbour View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harbour View Inn
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Woodridge
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

I had seen this lovely hotel on my last visit to Mackinac Island, and hoped to return and stay here some day. Did that, and was very pleased with the accommodations. The room was very lovely and very clean. The location of the Inn was excellent. We rented bikes here and found the price to be the best of anywhere else we checked on the island! The breakfast was everything we needed to start our day. It seemed very European to us... Would be happy to return some day.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms were located in the back of the Inn, with just a few higher priced ones in the fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    225
    50
    24
    10
See reviews for
175
349
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Livonia, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

We had a great 3-night stay at the Harbour View Inn. Our room was spotless and the breakfast was delicious every morning. I recommend this inn for your stay on Mackinac Island. It's just a beautiful 5 minute walk from the down town area, with a couple of local coffee shops close by to start your stroll down Main Street! The Butterfly House is just one street over too.

Room Tip: There were no elevators. If you can't climb up stairs very well, then request a ground level ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky River, Ohio
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We just got back from a 2 day trip up at Mackinac Island and stayed at the Harbour View Inn. The staff was very nice and professional and the room we had was just great. We had booked through Groupon and we were not disappointed at all. However, they offer a continental breakfast that I think has a little to be desired. The fruit selection was good but the eggs tasted like they were powdered eggs and there was not a meat selection to be found. Outside of that the stay was pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Italianmama49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio City, Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Thank you for all the people that work for the hotel. Our rooms were clean and we did like the way it was set up. Thank you also for the lady that helped us out with the laundry,We really appreciate it. You are all very helpful and friendly. I do recommend this hotel for everyone.We had a good time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariaelena50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level Contributor
70 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

This is the 3rd time we have stayed at Harbour View Inn. They just gave the rooms in the Guest House a face lift. It's tastefully done with new carpet, fresh paint, furnishings and pictures! We rather preferred the way it was before, each room was noticeably different, very Victorian and so Mackinac Island. But, like I said, the new rooms are very tastefully well done! It's a very clean Inn, which is important to us. My husband and I are rather picky when it comes to where we spend our vacation. Bathrooms are clean and linens are clean.

This Inn is our favorite b/c you are on the main drag but far enough away from the hustble bustle to make it quiet. It's very romantic and cozy! We always stay in the "garden view" rooms and we love the view of the steeple of St. Anne's church. You are steps away from the lake! They offer a free continental breakfast every morning, we are always pleased with the selection. Love the fresh fruit!

I am giving a "4" b/c I didn't feel the staff was as friendly as usual. You would think repeat customers would be treated a little nicer?! When we checked in, Austin helped us with our bags and we had a key issue, he resolved it right away and was very helpful/friendly, thanks! We had very noisy neighbors above us that awoke us every morning at 6AM, no fault of the Inns, but we asked front desk to possibly move us and they didn't try very hard.

Overall, this is a good place to stay, the location, views and value are good! I would recommend it, just stay on a top floor if you are not a very sound sleeper!!!

Room Tip: Guest house and top floor facing garden. Or rooms facing the lake in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boilerbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinckney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

My friend and I had a wonderful experience at the Harbour View Inn. The customer service was excellent. We arrived on a very hot, humid day and were concerned we might not have an air conditioned room. The staff made sure we had a lovely room, with a/c, and even upgraded the room at no extra charge to us. Breakfast was great, grounds are lovely, and I'll be back!

Room Tip: If you need a/c, be sure to let them know. Ask about the view if it's important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Just returned from a two night stay at the Harbor View. I always stay here when I visit the island and have never had any complaints. This is a lovely hotel. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff is very friendly and considerate. The
Breakfast is very good and has a good variety. From our room on the fourth floor we could see the lake and light house.
A little slice of heaven on this wonderful island.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 4905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
0.1 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
0.3 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Inn

Property: Harbour View Inn
Address: 6860 Main Street, PO Box 1207, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour View Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a short walk from the best attractions on Mackinac Island, yet away from the bustling traffic of downtown. Our relaxing hotel complex offers a variety of rooms in four different buildings and complimentary breakfast. All rooms are non-smoking. Out of respect for all our guests, we ask that you leave your pets at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbour View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Hotel Mackinac Island
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing