We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, wonderful staff!”
Review of Harbour View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbour View Inn
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great place, wonderful staff!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We were here with a group. 25 couples. The staff bent over backwards to accommodate all our requests. The rooms were clean, nice, comfortable. The location is absolutely ideal, and the ambience is magnificant. Thanks to Michelle, Kathy, Becky and the banquet staff. You do it right. We will be back. Thank you!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank onthego802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    245
    55
    25
    10
See reviews for
192
377
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed for two days at the Harbour View Inn, and will definitely return. The view from our window was wonderful - the harbor, boats coming/going, lighthouses, and St Anne's steeple (which leans a little ... if you look carefully). :)

A great location to explore Mackinac Island, and enjoy the very special ambiance that only a vehicle-free location can provide. Waking up to the dawn chorus of local songbirds, and the steady clip-clip of of horses' hooves on pavement just makes you lie in bed and smile. And wish for simpler times and places.

Staff was very accommodating, and the morning coffee was plentiful. Would have like more protein options at breakfast (I'm diabetic, and can't do the carbs usually offered at continental breakfasts), but with some creative planning and bringing some cheese to go with the hard-boiled eggs, I was fine. Hubby enjoyed the many varieties of toast, jams/preserves, and cereals.

Highly recommend this very special and quaint Inn. :D

Room Tip: Definitely face the harbor, and if you can, get a room with a patio or balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Plain, MN
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed at the Harbour View Inn in June and it was Wonderful. The staff was very friendly, our room was lovely. We stayed 2 days and have already recommended the Harbour View Inn to friends. Enjoyed our stay so much!!!

Room Tip: Look at website and see photos. We stayed in the Main hotel, but there are other buildings with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Divamom49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We enjoyed a 2 night stay in the bed and breakfast building. I had requested a/c and ended up with the last room with a/c available. Beautiful, clean room and a nicely updated bath. We thoroughly enjoyed breakfast on the front porch each morning. Staff was very pleasant. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdets89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed at the Harbour view at the end of June. It was still cool in the mornings and very comfortable other times. There are several buildings, our room was in the Bed and Breakfast. Breakfast is served at the main hotel lobby dining room and at the bed and breakfast and you can take your pick, but everyone from the hotel and both other buildings goes to the hotel dining room, so i recommend eating at the bbed and breakfast reguardless of the building you are staying in. It is quiet and slow paced there and you can make a cup of tea and sit out on the front porch and watch as the town slowly comes awake in the mornings. I'm not sure whether its the hotel or just Macinac that makes it an Excellent - probably Macinac - location, location, location. This Inn is close enough to the docks to walk, far enough from the Downtown to be out of the shopping crowd.

The room rates were reasonable compared to other places on Macinac, which is very pricy. We were not willing to pay +$300 a night for the Grand, much less $10 just to walk on their porch. Our room was comfortable with a full bath with tub, cable TV. This hotel is a moderate walk down the main street from the ferry docks. We planned ahead to carry only hand luggage for two overnights on the ferry and were easily able to carry our own bags to the hotel, just ask locals for directions. With heavier luggage you can get a carriage ride to and from with horse-drawn or bicycle porters to carry your baggage. I think we saved time by just walking. The town is small and easy to walk around in.

Room Tip: It's low tech, the building we were in was a walkup, so inquire if you need an elevator. Like I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2A_j_w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, PA
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Just outside the busy part of town, but still close to everything. Room was spacious, comfortable and sink/vanity separate from toilet room was a plus. Had nice cool weather, so didn't need a/c, but had plenty of flying insects join use (probably got in around window a/c.) The screen seemed perfect in the window we had open.
Breakfast room is somewhat tight, but patio provides for overflow. Property is charming and all personnel were helpful and very friendly.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyoming, Michigan, Usa
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

My husband & I stayed at Harborview June 26th through the 29th. All I can say is everything was awesome. We stayed in the Carriage House. The room was very nice & very clean. No dust any where or dirt. The bed which was a King size very comfortable. We loved the balcony. Each room had its own balcony. We ate dinner on the balcony & in the evening hung out on the balcony. The staff was very nice & friendly. And to top it off free breakfast every morning. Deluxe continental breakfast. Everything except meat which was ok because everything else fills you up. We have been visiting Mackinac Island over 20 yrs. We have stayed in other hotels but they didn't compare to Harborview. If I could give them a 10 I would.

Room Tip: We stayed in a garden view room on the 2nd floor which is behind the main building we were surrounde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
890 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
952 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
260 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,022 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Inn

Property: Harbour View Inn
Address: 6860 Main Street, PO Box 1207, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour View Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a short walk from the best attractions on Mackinac Island, yet away from the bustling traffic of downtown. Our relaxing hotel complex offers a variety of rooms in four different buildings and complimentary breakfast. All rooms are non-smoking. Out of respect for all our guests, we ask that you leave your pets at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Harbour View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Hotel Mackinac Island
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing