We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful hotel”
Review of Harbour View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbour View Inn
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis,in
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“beautiful hotel”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

stayed with 2 friends here last of june 2014-for 6 nights -have stayed at many places the last 8 yrs i have visited the island-the hotel was lovely-beautiful furnishings -we had the garden room with 2 queens-nice patio outside our door to sit and read ,overlooking beautiful garden area-rooms were very nicely furnished -only flaw was with 3 people sharing a room-there is only i sink in main room and none in bathroom!early riser that i am-i really didnt want to run water and make noise while my friends were sleeping-tricky for us all to get ready to go out! breakfast every morning was included -it was nice-adequate -not much variation-busy dining room-the location was wonderful-ii would recommend this place -but i prefer a bed and breakfast place,with a more intimate demeanor myself -very nice price wise-try it -you will find it charming -and some other hotels around are much more money per night

Room Tip: there are several buildings to choose from-to have a true"-harbor view"-might check out b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    227
    51
    24
    10
See reviews for
175
355
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My husband and I stayed on the third floor of the Carriage house just a few weeks ago. The room was spacious, very clean and comfortable. The only bad thing was the rooms on the third floor do not have balconies. So, if you are looking for that, ask for a different room.

The location is perfect. It is just far enough from downtown to not be noisy and close enough to walk to all the restaurants and shops.

We did not rent our bikes here because none of them had handle breaks or gears. They were all cruising bikes. If you are going to ride all around the island, I suggest a bike with gears! it can get hilly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenib2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed at The Harbour View for 2 nights July 2014. Wonderful stay; the hotel was in a great location (yes, with views of the harbour), the staff were friendly and welcoming and our room was clean and very comfortable. We stayed in an annex at the back of the main Inn, but we still had great views (3rd floor with an elevator) and our room was quiet and peaceful. We hired bikes from reception during our stay, the hire charge was very competitive and the bikes were in good condition. We ate breakfast at the Inn and the food was varied and plentiful; meals are served in the main lobby area. Can't think of anything negative to say about this hotel, would definitely recommend and we shall definitely return!

Room Tip: Higher floors in the annex have the best lake views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R3738ORIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
140 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We were here with a group. 25 couples. The staff bent over backwards to accommodate all our requests. The rooms were clean, nice, comfortable. The location is absolutely ideal, and the ambience is magnificant. Thanks to Michelle, Kathy, Becky and the banquet staff. You do it right. We will be back. Thank you!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank onthego802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed for two days at the Harbour View Inn, and will definitely return. The view from our window was wonderful - the harbor, boats coming/going, lighthouses, and St Anne's steeple (which leans a little ... if you look carefully). :)

A great location to explore Mackinac Island, and enjoy the very special ambiance that only a vehicle-free location can provide. Waking up to the dawn chorus of local songbirds, and the steady clip-clip of of horses' hooves on pavement just makes you lie in bed and smile. And wish for simpler times and places.

Staff was very accommodating, and the morning coffee was plentiful. Would have like more protein options at breakfast (I'm diabetic, and can't do the carbs usually offered at continental breakfasts), but with some creative planning and bringing some cheese to go with the hard-boiled eggs, I was fine. Hubby enjoyed the many varieties of toast, jams/preserves, and cereals.

Highly recommend this very special and quaint Inn. :D

Room Tip: Definitely face the harbor, and if you can, get a room with a patio or balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Plain, MN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed at the Harbour View Inn in June and it was Wonderful. The staff was very friendly, our room was lovely. We stayed 2 days and have already recommended the Harbour View Inn to friends. Enjoyed our stay so much!!!

Room Tip: Look at website and see photos. We stayed in the Main hotel, but there are other buildings with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Divamom49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We enjoyed a 2 night stay in the bed and breakfast building. I had requested a/c and ended up with the last room with a/c available. Beautiful, clean room and a nicely updated bath. We thoroughly enjoyed breakfast on the front porch each morning. Staff was very pleasant. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdets89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
0.1 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
0.3 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#10 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Inn

Property: Harbour View Inn
Address: 6860 Main Street, PO Box 1207, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour View Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a short walk from the best attractions on Mackinac Island, yet away from the bustling traffic of downtown. Our relaxing hotel complex offers a variety of rooms in four different buildings and complimentary breakfast. All rooms are non-smoking. Out of respect for all our guests, we ask that you leave your pets at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbour View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Hotel Mackinac Island
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing