We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay!”
Review of Island House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Island House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Channahon, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great stay!”
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We loved our stay at the Island House. We stayed 4 nights and had a room with the harbor view. Once we figured out the air conditioner it was very comfortable. Though it was in the 50's every night so it was lovely to have the windows open. The staff was very helpful and nice. I LOVE the way they get your luggage to and from the ferry esp since we brought our own bikes. We had ourselves on a waiting list for an extra night and they could accommodate us when we arrived. It was great being down the street from town and there was always plenty of chairs to get comfy in the afternoon shade. I fell asleep many times on the great cushion chairs on the grass. The fire places outside at night are a nice touch. Breakfast has a huge choice and is delicious with warm items, cold items and tons of fruits (my favorite!) And they have an excellent granola that I would love the recipe for. Make sure your get the bed and breakfast package. We will definitely use the Island House again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjminarich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    241
    84
    47
    33
See reviews for
257
350
13
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

The hotel is in a great location with a view of the Lake from the front porch. They have plenty of outdoor seating and you can even make s'mores on the front lawn in the evening! The restaurant menu is excellent for both breakfast and dinner...highly recommend!

Room Tip: We had a room that had a backyard view on the second floor, but had a King size bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carcoverlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockport, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We just returned from our Memorial Weekend stay at Mackinac Island. We really appreciated the Island House staff getting our luggage from the ferry dock to the hotel - very convenient. Each and every staff member we encountered was very friendly, professional and pleasantly eager to please. We purchased a package deal and knew ahead of time that our room wouldn't have a lake-front view, which was fine with us because we left early each morning and returned late evening. The room was on the small side, but that has been the case with most historic hotels we have stayed at so again that was fine with us, and really we were only in the room to sleep. The room was quiet, the 2 double beds were comfortable. the bedding of good quality, the shower was hot and we enjoyed good nights' sleep.

The hotel is very clean and well-maintained, including the exterior, common areas and the room. Staff were continually sprucing areas up, cleaning, doing maintenance work etc and their efforts are not in vain - the hotel looks fantastic. The elevator worked fine - the 2 times we used it...the rest of the time we used the spiral staircase (I suppose we were hoping to work off some of that Island fudge!) The lobby area has several pieces of comfortable furniture which would be great for small group gatherings.

Our package included the buffet breakfast in the 1852 Dining Room and was very good both mornings. We are early risers so were able to get window-side tables, gorgeous views and it was such fun to see the town come to life in the mornings. The buffet offered a nice variety of choices including scrambled eggs, bacon (done just right!), biscuits, gravy, yogurt, fresh fruit, some really tasty granola bars, french toast, and several other selections along with juices, milk and good coffee. We found the experience a great way to get our day off to a perfect start. We also dined in the 1852 one evening; my husband enjoyed the (plentiful!) half rack of ribs and the Mackinac Chicken was very good. Service was excellent and all wait staff were very pleasant and efficient.

The Hotel is conveniently located to town, a short 5 minute stroll and you're there. We enjoyed sitting in the comfortable lawn furniture on the front lawn each evening, enjoying the beautiful views and just relaxing - they light a fire in the 2 fire pits for making s'mores (you can get the ingredient packs at the front desk). Staff delivered our luggage back to the ferry dock, and all too quickly our 2-night stay at Island House Hotel was ending. We really enjoyed our weekend there and hope to return again some day!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justus0875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I booked 2 rooms and must say that the price was pretty high. The porch, lawn and view are unmatched on island (expect for Grand Hotel) but the room, food (vouchers) and comfort was pretty sparse.
For $240 per night, the room was small and uninsulated. I could hear kids, romantic adults throughout the hallway to room and in the room. It is a lovely historic site and well worth the stay but this comes at a painful premium. The pool restaurant (Ice House) has great food and a friendly college-aged staff. If you want the best view it is worth the price for the porch but I think next time I will try a bed and breakfast as it might be just as quaint but the price would match the value and I can find a view by the marina. The family that owns this inn has an extensive list of properties on the island but quantity doesn't always mean quality.

Room Tip: A queen is for 2 small adults. Try the king if you are an average or tall person.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mrs C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glencoe, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

If your coming for the service, don't stay here! When making reservations we requested a room with a lake front view, when we got here we were given a room so small in the corner of the 4th floor that you could honestly just get in the door, and even then you walked around the edge of the bed, which in itself probably is a violation of a fire code! We went back down to the front desk and asked for a room change, the front desk person said they would have to talk with their manager, she left the desk for 30 seconds, came back and said that there was nothing else. I requested to talk to the manager, she went to her office again and came back saying that the manager was busy now. I told her I would wait. Looking rather uncomfortable she said that she was "busy". I said that I wanted to talk with her and would wait. I could see that there was no way that the couwardly manager was going to come out so I asked for the name of her manager. Somone else named Nicole came out and gave us a key to another room. Still no view, but atleast we could actually get in the room. We called down again to ask if there was ANYTHING better available, we would pay ANY aadditional costs for an upgrade..No. Now the bell boy brought our bags and said that there were other rooms available. If your coming here for the view, try someone else!!!!

Room Tip: Don't reserve here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank katiep55336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macomb, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012 via mobile

This is a great hotel to stay in on Mackinac. We stayed in the annex suite in the back with 6 people and it was perfect. Just a 5 minute walk to downtown and the ferry. Clean hotel and staff was nice. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank rangerstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

I stayed at the Island House for a bachelorette weekend with the girls. The best part of our stay was the complimentary breakfast and the location! It was very close to the main strip. We got around on bikes that we brought (remember to buy a license for your bike if you bring your own, you can purchase them from the ferry company.) in the future I would probably rent a bike on the island, it was a little bit of a hassle bringing our own.

The Island House brought our luggage to and from the ferry. The view from the hotel is amazing. It was a great relaxing stay, but I would probably recommend a trip like this for couples rather than a group of bachelorettes!

Room Tip: Stay on a lower level floor, the ceilings of the top floor are slanted in some spots and my friends...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichelleMakarewicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
898 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
712 reviews
0.2 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
927 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
473 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island House Hotel

Property: Island House Hotel
Address: 6966 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757-1410
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Island House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1852, guests at the historic Island House Hotel on Mackinac Island, Michigan have enjoyed the escape to a simpler time. Disembarking on the island is truly like stepping back in time. Motor traffic is prohibited on the island, making walking, biking, and horse-drawn carriages the preferred modes of transportation. This family owned historic landmark offers modern conveniences within a historic setting. Open from May through October, there are several packages available to help you plan your perfect island getaway. Mackinac Island has a long and storied history, beginning with the Native Americans who populated the Straits region, followed by French fur trading. Abundant natural resources made Mackinac Island an important post in the lucrative fur trade and a hub of fishing activity. In the 19th century, tourism became the island’s main industry and today, new generations discover the charms of this quaint resort community. The Island House Hotel has the distinction of being the only hotel located within the boundaries of the pristine Mackinac Island State Park. We look forward to welcoming you to the breathtaking beauty of Mackinac Island, one of Michigan's most photographed and talked about travel destinations. Located between Michigan's upper and lower peninsulas, the Island offers you unforgettable natural and historical treasures surrounded by the sparkling blue waters of the Great Lakes. With an eight-mile circumference, Mackinac Island offers an abundance of attractions for adventurers of all ages. Parasailing, historic tours, hiking trails, narrated carriage tours, horseback riding, drive yourself horse & buggies, shopping, dining and watching world famous Mackinac Island fudge being made. Hotel amenities include: indoor heated swimming pool, air conditioning, evening bonfire for roasting smores, concierge service, onsite bike rentals, as well as excellent in-house fine & family dining at 1852 Grill Room or Ice House BBQ. Today, with our beautifully renovated guest rooms and breathtaking views of the marina and Mackinac harbor, the Island House offers you a timeless escape from everything that's ordinary. From our veranda, discover for yourself why this extraordinary island has beckoned visitors world-wide for over three centuries. In addition to stunning waterfront views, guests choose the Island House Hotel for its convenient location. Far enough from the downtown hustle to enjoy the sounds of horseshoes on the pavement and gentle breezes off the water yet just a short walk to the Mackinac Island’s most popular attractions and shopping. Whether relaxing on the porch or enjoying drinks with friends in the garden, the Island House Hotel delivers the complete Island experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Island House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Mackinac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing