We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute getaway”
Review of Island House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Island House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My husband and I traveled of mackinac island for a "mini" honeymoon. We used a groupon deal and stayed at the island house hotel. It was both of our first times visiting the island. The hotel was great, in a good location near the restaurants and shopping. We had s'mores and sat out on the with the fire pits at night. The free breakfast buffet in the mornings was wonderful and we are at the grille which had great service and delicious food. The staff were very nice and helpful. I would definitely recommend Island house hotel to future travelers and we hope to revisit often.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MollyDenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHHotel, Manager at Island House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

MollyDenny, thank you for your complimentary review of the Island House Hotel! We're so pleased that you enjoyed your time here, and that you chose to stay with us on your romantic getaway to Mackinac Island. We agree that the Island House is in an absolutely ideal location - just steps from everything you'd want to experience on the island - and we're delighted that you found our staff to be helpful and accommodating. Our culinary team is phenomenal, and we're very glad that you were able to experience the cuisine in the 1852 Grill Room and that you enjoyed it so much!
We hope that this was your first of many trips to Mackinac Island, and that you'll choose to come back and stay with us at the Island House again. Thank you, and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,088)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

775 - 781 of 1,088 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

We used a Groupon for our stay-had 2 rooms. Because of a large group coming in we got upgraded to much better rooms. One of our rooms was a corner suite harbor view and the other was next to it was an upgrade over what we would have gotten. Both were really good rooms with an awesome view of downtown from one of our rooms. The whole hotel is what we would expect from a historic hotel on the island. The food in the restaurant was excellent-even the breakfast with the BEST fried potatos I think I have ever had. The service for dinner and the following beakfast was horrible though. We just got unlucky as we saw the excellent work of other servers. The buss help though were excellent as well as our server for the second day for breakfast. WiFi was hit or miss in the hotel though.

Room Tip: we were told the standard rooms were really small so try and get an upgrade if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelbymann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHHotel, Manager at Island House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for your review, Shelbymann! We're so glad you chose to stay with us at the Island House Hotel, and appreciate you taking the time to let us know how we're doing.
We're thrilled that you enjoyed your guestrooms, and the cuisine in the 1852 Grill Room. Chef Phil is incredibly talented and we're delighted that you were able to experience his culinary offerings. We're sorry that every aspect of your dining experience didn't meet your expectations - and we'll certainly take your feedback and use it to improve. We hope that you'll come back to visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Island house is in a great location. Easy to get to the restaurants and shops on Main and Market streets. The Hotel is little run down. We have been staying at Island house for years. This summer we visited the island 3 times and each time stayed in different places. After staying in the 2 other hotels, we felt as if Island House was tired and needed some updating. It is nice that they have an indoor pool, however, it was very musty. Food was ok, the waitstaff was very nice. It seemed as if the other workers weren't happy to be there. The view of the marina is very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHHotel, Manager at Island House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Susan W, thank you for visiting the Island House Hotel and beautiful Mackinac Island. We value your feedback and we're delighted that you found the location of the hotel to be ideal. Situated just steps away from all of Mackinac Island's best dining and shopping, we have to agree that the Island House is in a great location!
We're very sorry that you didn't find every aspect of your stay to be superior - we would be very happy if you would stay with us again and allow us to improve upon your experience. As you said, the views are incredible - and our lovely 1852 Grill Room will undergo a full renovation in the next six months. We'd love to welcome you back to see the improvements we're making! Please give us a call to book your next stay. Thank you again for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed two nights. Loved this property. It is very old and historic so don't expect high tech plastic keys. Nope. You get an actual key!

Staff was wonderful. Dining room overlooks the Lake. Great breakfast buffet. Easy walking to downtown, but not right in the heart of the busy main street. Bicycles for rent out front. Lovely wrap around balconies for sitting and enjoying the view with other guests, or sit out on the lawn chairs if you want full sun. Loved it.

Room Tip: We were travelling with another couple so we got a suite with 2 bed-rooms and a common sitting area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birder1535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHHotel, Manager at Island House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Thank you for your complimentary review, Birder1535 - we're delighted that you found the Island House to be a lovely destination! Part of the appeal of Mackinac Island and the Island House, for many people, is the historic charm - and beautiful views. We're so glad that you chose to stay with us, and that you took advantage of the convenient bicycle rentals, spacious front porch, and relaxing front lawn area here at the Island House. Please stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

My husband and I had a great time at the Island House Hotel. This historic hotel has friendly, helpful staff and a great location near shopping and attractions on Mackinac Island. We really liked that they had arrangements in place to transfer our luggage between the ferry and the hotel. Our room was clean, fresh, and very comfortable. We enjoyed relaxing in the rocking chairs on the spacious front porch during the day and by the campfires set in portable fireplaces on the front lawn after dark. We had a great getaway.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHHotel, Manager at Island House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Debby R, thank you for your positive review of the Island House! We're very happy that you enjoyed your time here. It is our pleasure to ensure that your baggage transfers are taken care of, and we're thrilled that you found your guestroom to be clean and pleasant and our expansive front porch to be relaxing and enjoyable. The Island House is a truly special Mackinac Island getaway, and we appreciate your business and feedback very much. Please visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I've stayed at the Island House with my family when I was younger and also more recently with my husband ... it's a fantastic place with friendly, accommodating and helpful staff. The room decor is a little outdated, but doesn't that fit with the rest of the island? :) I love the view of the harbor and the location of being just outside of 'downtown.' You can quickly walk to everything but none of the noise of the bars and restaurants during busy times. The indoor pool is nice and the large porch is great to relax, eat your fudge and enjoy the charm of Mackinac.

We also enjoyed the outdoor fire pit in the front lawn on a chilly evening ... it really was perfect!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katebly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHHotel, Manager at Island House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thank you for your kind review of the Island House, katebly! It makes us so happy to hear that you thought your stay at the hotel was perfect.
The location of the hotel is indeed ideal - with gorgeous views of the water and within walking distance of most everything you'd want to do on Mackinac Island. We're so pleased that you enjoyed our large front porch and lovely front lawn area; they're among our most treasured features.
katebly, please come back to visit us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Beautiful view of the harbor right from the huge porch. Bike rental on property. Excellent dinner menu with great food and service. Great breakfast included in the room price. Friendly staff.
Quaint old fashioned room with all the necessities and very clean. Adorable place.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tallulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHHotel, Manager at Island House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Tallulo, thank you very much for your glowing review of our hotel. We're thrilled that you chose to spend your Mackinac Island vacation at the Island House, and that you enjoyed your stay so much!
The 1852 Grill Room dinner experience is indeed spectacular - Chef Phil's cuisine is outstanding, and the beautiful views of the harbor make a meal with us truly special.
We're so glad that you found the rooms to be very clean, and our staff to be friendly - we strive for excellence and couldn't be more pleased that you had such a wonderful time with us. Please visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,056 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
738 reviews
0.2 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#2 of 12 in Mackinac Island
670 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and Waterfront Collection
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and ...
#10 of 12 in Mackinac Island
264 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island House Hotel

Address: 6966 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757-1410
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range: £179 - £287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Island House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island House Hotels offers modern conveniences within a historic setting. This family owned property is Mackinac Island’s oldest hotel, a registered Historic Hotel of America and an official State of Michigan landmark. Guests return time & again for our stunning waterfront views, historic charm & the ideal location. Whether relaxing on the porch or enjoying drinks with friends in the garden, Island House Hotel delivers the complete Island experience. All guestrooms have air-conditioning, private bathrooms & cable television. Hotel amenities include: indoor heated swimming pool, whirlpool, dry sauna, evening bonfire, gift shop, concierge service, onsite bike rentals, as well as two restaurants, 1852 Grill Room & Ice House BBQ. Discover the charm of a Mackinac Island stay at the Island House Hotel - where fine service, warm hospitality and memorable vacations have been a Mackinac Island tradition...since 1852. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Island House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Mackinac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing