We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Service”
Review of Island House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Island House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2008

Our stay at the Island House was very nice. All staff interaction was friendly and very helpful. Our room had a rooftop view that was not very pleasing. We were offered the choice of three other rooms but elected to stay in the first because it had the MOST comfortable bed and a larger bathroom. We were only in the room to change clothes or sleep anyway! Dining was lovely outdoors and breakfast was varied with excellent service.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank portr8painter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,030)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

965 - 971 of 1,031 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2008

My wife and I honeymooned on the Mackinac Island 21 years ago and have returned numerous times since to celebrate our anniversary. We just returned home from the island were we spent both Friday and Saturday night (Aug. 1 & 2) at the Island House Hotel. I felt like we had stayed at a hotel located on the main street of a college town where drunks rule the early morning hours. My wife and I were awakened from our sleep at least 3 times each night between the hours of 1:00 and 2:00 AM by foul mouthed yelling bar patrons returning to their homes or hotels. We have never experienced anything like this when staying on the island before.

Is there a noise ordinance on the island? If there is, where in the world are the Mackinac Island Police, Mackinac County Sheriff Deputies, or the State Police? Why is law enforcement not maintaining a peaceful environment? It will be a long time before my wife and I return to the island.

The hotel had mold in the bathroom sink, window installed air conditioning unit obstructed our water view, bathroom door would not close without a struggle, and the food was OK at best.

Stayed: August 2008
1  Thank MM2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2008

Room 220 at the Island House Hotel was substandard in the extreme.
Below are some of the concerns we had about this room which we shared with the front desk manager but no resolutions were offered:
1) The shower drain backed up into the tub so that during a shower one could not keep feet out of dirty shower drain water backing up in the tub. This is a health hazard. We were told it would be fixed but it was not.
2) The bathroom plumbing was faulty. The operating valves are of the single handle type and hot is cold and cold is hot so the positions are backwards from what they should be and what they are labeled. Further, the shower valve is very hard to turn so it is difficult to get a proper temperature—it was either too hot or too cold. The shower head was nasty looking and leaked around the base.
3) The shower room tile floor and the tile beneath the sink in the room outside the shower room are VERY slippery. The slope of the floor toward the tub added to the treacherous nature and skidding on this very slick white tile which does not appear to be floor tile but instead looks like a wall-type tile. This is extremely hazardous.
4) The toilet is installed crooked and it’s made worse by the sloping tile floor.
5) The telephone never worked during our entire stay. We were told it would be fixed. When it wasn’t fixed we were told it was an outside line problem. However, other people in the hotel had operating phones.
6) The towels provided both days appeared very tattered and even dirty-looking.
7) The tile base in the bath had replaced something else and tattered wallpaper was ragged above the tile base with about an inch gap which revealed even older wallpaper. The wallpaper itself was deteriorating right off the wall with large soft spots in the corners and around the shower head as well as having holes just punched in the wall.
8) The view from the room was entirely of the roof behind with chillers, vents and miscellaneous storage of some type of fencing posts and other junk haphazardly thrown on it.
9) The only “closet” was an alcove which was blocked by one of the beds so one had to crawl across the bed to reach the open “closet.” There was no room to move the furniture for access although we tried to move a very heavy side chair which gave a 6 inch gap to try and slip through to hang things. Also, in the alcove there was a bad smell.
10)The mini blind controllers were broken.
11) The room was extremely stuffy but at night we didn’t feel comfortable with the window open for safety reasons since the roof level allowed easy access to crawl in the window. So, we turned on the air conditioner to try and ease the stuffiness but the noise was unbearable so we had to turn it off and suffer the stuffiness. There is no thermostat to adjust room temperature. There is only the wall mounted air conditioner.

We asked for help and we were specific in requesting to be moved from this room and the front desk manager offered no viable solutions and instead acted perturbed and not apologetic or helpful. Two letters have been written to the general manager requesting a refund but he has been unresponsive.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank 1stFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tvcallewaert, General Manager at Island House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2008

This review is too far from the truth to let it stand without a response. To begin, this guest has received two personal letters of response to her concerns regarding her stay as well as a complimentary invitation back to our hotel to show her the changes made. Please note, she has continually threatened the posting of these untruths if we did anything short of refund her entire stay.

This guest stayed with us as part of a tour group during a time when our hotel was at capacity. A few of the other members of her group received rooms with a view of the harbor and this guest made it known from the beginning that anything short of one of our water-view rooms would be unacceptable. Seeing as the hotel was completely full, there was no other option for this guest aside from the room assigned. As for the other points listed, please find our response to each below.

1) The shower drain issue was brought to our attention at a late hour and was dispatched to our hotel engineers as soon as they returned the following morning
2) This issue has been addressed and we appreciate this guest bringing it to our attention.
3) I personally checked the tile floor with our executive housekeeper and the floor was not slippery nor was any cleaning product used that would have produced such a result.
4) Aside from the normal lean in a building that originated in 1852, the floor in the bathroom is level.
5) This issue has been addressed and we appreciate this guest bringing it to our attention.
6) We continually replace our linens and there is never a time when anything less than clean linen leaves our laundry facility.
7) This issue has been addressed and we appreciate this guest bringing it to our attention.
8) Each room in our hotel is different and while this room does face the back of our hotel, the only objects on our roof are vents and white picket fencing to protect them.
9) Again, each room in our hotel is uniquely different and that is part of what makes our property special, we appreciate that this set-up did not work well for this particular guest but we do have many returning guests who request this room each time they travel.
10) This issue has been addressed and we appreciate this guest bringing it to our attention.
11) The temperature of each room is individually controlled, in this room this is done through the wall unit. While we appreciate the noise level that an air conditioner/heater makes, this unit is fully functioning and we have had no further complaints regarding either noise or temperature in this room.

This response is in no way meant as an attack, simply an explanation of the steps taken to correct issues that arise and our commitment to customer service. We still hope to see this guest back in the hotel and truly hope she takes us up on our offer to return for a complimentary stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2008

We stayed in a Premium room with 2 queen beds and a pull out couch. The room was very clean and perfect for us. The pull out couch was interesting, I never saw anything like it divided into 3 sections starting with a bottom that pulled out like a trundle bed. It was hard to put the fitted sheet on it since it wouldn't attach at the top, but it was OK for my 5 year old son as I made the bed with the 2 bottom sections only. The breakfast at the hotel was plentiful and the waitstaff was very nice and helpful. We had a dinner one night in 1852 Grill Room since it was included in our package. My kids loved it that they didn't have to have the usual kid's menu meals and loved the Prime Rib and New York Strip steaks. The Prime Rib was excellent!! We had a blast riding around the island on our bikes. We were pleasantly surprised there was not a very long wait at any of the restaurants since it was a very busy time to be there. What a fun time. It was the first time on the island and we can't wait to go back again. I would definitely stay at The Island House again. It was the perfect location across from the Harbor without being above the stores or bars on Main Street. Loved it!!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JANJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2008

We just left Mackinac Island a couple of days ago and really enjoyed our stay at the Island House. Even with cold, wet weather, we enjoyed our time on the island. We booked a room with a waterfront view and were not disappointed! Our room was on the third floor in one of the turrets of the hotel. We looked right out on the street below, the water and boats, and from the bathroom window we could see the fort on the hill. Our room was lovely and large enough to have a table and chairs, great for playing cards when the weather was yucky. We could hear sounds from other guests, but it wasn't a problem at all. We could also hear the clip clopping of horses hooves which was wonderful! The room above us spilled a lot of water somehow, which started to drip through the ceiling into our room, but we called the front desk and within moments a maintenance man was at the door and took care of things.

Our room rate also included breakfast in the 1852 Room, a very pretty room overlooking the water. It was a buffet with cereal, granola, yogurt, fruit, various beautiful muffins, breads and pastries, french toast, waffles, eggs, etc. We thought it was very nice and the service was amazing! You would barely finish the last bite of something and your dirty plate would be wisked away.

Main Street can be a little hectic at times so we were glad to be farther down on the street, a bit off the beaten path. We loved the location.

By the way, we ate at the Yankee Rebel Tavern for dinner and thought it was amazing! We also had fudge at both Ryba's and Joann's and we thought Joann's was the best.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TuckerSuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2008

We loved our cute fourth floor room. Unfortunately, we made the request for a marina view room too late, but our room was perfectly comfortable and met our needs. The only complaint about the room was that the shower curtain was set 6 inches inside the tub, allowing for a space only about 2 feet wide to shower. A curved shower rod would have helped quite a bit.

The breakfast each morning was very good with full breakfast offerings: eggs, sausage, bacon, biscuits and gravy, waffles and french toast, coffee cakes, fresh fruit, and wide variety of drinks. Looking out at the marina at breakfast was beautiful!

The veranda is a wonderful place to relax, read, and people watch. By the way, previous reviews have mentioned the lack of privacy and undisturbed sleep in the first floor rooms off the veranda. The hotel is fixing this concern as it now closes that portion of the veranda from 10pm to 10am, allowing those rooms more privacy and peace.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay at the Island House and we will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kdets89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2008

I have to say I hold a little bias for this hotel as I have been staying there for years. My family visits the island once or twice a year and we typically stay at The Island House for every visit. On the rare occasion that we book last minute and they can’t accommodate us, we will stay elsewhere but have always gone back the next time. We love it so much that my husband and I were married on the island and had our reception in the 1852 Grill Room at the hotel, which by the way serves an absolutely wonderful breakfast buffet and even more wonderful dinners!

First things first…yes, the hotel is a little pricy for what you get. If you are expecting luxury accommodations because of the price you are paying, get that out of your mind. You are paying for the atmosphere, not the luxury of the hotel. This is the oldest hotel on the island. It was originally built in 1852, therefore, don’t expect the Ritz. However, it is still a very nice hotel and in my opinion, it even beats staying at the Grand Hotel where you will spend multiple times more than you will here. I’ve stayed in every kind of room offered at The Island House from the 4th floor traditional rooms to the suites, and I don’t have any complaints about any of them. Again, they’re not luxurious, but no complaints.

What you are paying for when you stay at The Island House is the chance to get up in the morning and have a hot cup of coffee or hot chocolate while you rock in the rocking chairs on the veranda with the cool morning air gently breathing against your face. You pay for the chance to experience the quite ambiance of the island once the evening ferries have departed with the last visitors and hearing only the noise of the horse’s hooves as they clip clop down the street. You pay for the chance to go for a late evening stroll through downtown and over to the dimly lit boardwalk. You pay for the chance to sit back and enjoy a slower pace of life that none of us are accustomed to anymore. You pay for more than just your room, so remember to take that into consideration.

The Island House has been nothing but wonderful for the past 12 years I have been visiting. They have always been helpful, courteous, and go above and beyond to make your stay a great memory.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank AbbyShell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
731 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,052 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
272 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island House Hotel

Address: 6966 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757-1410
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range: £112 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Island House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island House Hotels offers modern conveniences within a historic setting. This family owned property is Mackinac Island’s oldest hotel, a registered Historic Hotel of America and an official State of Michigan landmark. Guests return time & again for our stunning waterfront views, historic charm & the ideal location. Whether relaxing on the porch or enjoying drinks with friends in the garden, Island House Hotel delivers the complete Island experience. All guestrooms have air-conditioning, private bathrooms & cable television. Hotel amenities include: indoor heated swimming pool, whirlpool, dry sauna, evening bonfire, gift shop, concierge service, onsite bike rentals, as well as two restaurants, 1852 Grill Room & Ice House BBQ. Discover the charm of a Mackinac Island stay at the Island House Hotel - where fine service, warm hospitality and memorable vacations have been a Mackinac Island tradition...since 1852. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Island House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Mackinac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing