We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Gem of a Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Island House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Island House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Vista, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A Gem of a Hotel”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The hotel is very old and our room was on the small side, but the ambiance is spectacular. The huge front porch with rockers looks over the main street and the marina. There is a large 'front yard' with wicker furniture and chimineas where you can make smores supplied by the hotel for $3.00. Walk a block to town with many shops and restaurants. Restaurants and bar on premises. We had breakfast (included with stay) in the 1852 Dining Room. It was buffet style and excellent. You can also order off the menu. Staff was wonderful and people friendly.

Room Tip: Reserve early! Mackinack Island season is very short.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kwhalen01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    210
    76
    41
    33
See reviews for
216
291
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Wife and I spent a night here on a road trip to a Jeep Jamboree. The outside of the hotel is beautiful, with a spectacular view of the water, located very close to town, but not right in town (which is good). The room we had is pretty basic, charming more than functional, without much of a view. Still, very quiet, convenient, and staff is very friendly. I might stay here again as the price is really good relative to the other hotels on the island. Definitely doesn't wow me, but I'm not dissatisfied either.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Haven
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed at the Island House. Have been to many hotels on Mackinac Island and the Island House seems to be the most family friendly. The breakfast is the best on the island! Love the charm and history of this hotel. Very close to downtown. Staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madge934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Just returned from a trip to Mackinac Island and we stayed at the Island House. It was ok but not great. The rooms are old and the wallpaper is worn and pulling apart in places. Bathroom was clean and the shower was nice and strong with hot water. Beds were very comfortable. Problem is the walls are thin and you will hear the people above you unless you are on the top floors.

I would probably not stay here again unless they put in some major improvements. The Tiffany style chandeliers in the dining room were amazing and the outdoor fire places at night were quite wonderful. They just need to upgrade things a bit and they should be back on top.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globetrotter776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enola, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed 3 nights in room 217. This room is a front room which gives you a great view of the water and main street, but it is located right above the front lobby and next to stairs to the second floor. It took 2 nights to determine the noise we were hearing throughout the night , that we thought was above us..like someone walking on our heads, was the noise of the stairs as people came up from the lobby. The room was quaint, a nice way to describe small. The walls are paper thin so every time someone next to you took a shower, you heard the water noise. The location is great, an easy walk to the town, the fort and even the Grand Hotel. I would stay there again (maybe) but caution anyone looking to book a room at the Island House to be sure you know where it is located and ask a lot of questions. We had a double bed that barely fit into the room. We were with a tour group and I had no say in the room accommodations, but some folks with low ceiling rooms got changed before the hotel filled up.

Room Tip: Avoid room 217 and get something far away from the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Becky25_retired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walton, Kentucky
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Just returned from a 4 day Homemakers trip to Mackinac Island. The Arnold Ferry dropped us off at the dock right across the street from the hotel. We were greeted by one of the Hotel Coordinators who was very friendly and funny. She explained everything about our visit package, told us where to go for dinner and breakfast and assured us that they would help with any issues. Our luggage was delivered to our room promptly. The room was small and our view was of the roof. But it was nicely decorated. My only complaint was that the AC did not seem to work well and I had to stand on the bed just to get to the controls. Some others in our group had issues with the toilets, but it was resolved quickly. The Dining room was beautiful with a Huge bay window that looked out onto the lake. There was a man playing the piano, that was very enjoyable. Dinner was included in our plan and we could choose anything we wanted from the menu which included items like Prime Rib. Dinner both nights was delicious. Our Waiter for both nights was a student from KY who was there for the summer for his third year. We had fun with him, he was great!! Breakfast was a basic buffet, but still very good. We rented bikes on our last day there and the guy who was taking care of the bike rentals told us he closed at 6:00 but we could check the bikes back in at the hotel any time after that. We got back just as he was ready to lock up the rental, but he graciously stayed to check us back in. We had a wonderful time. We were there at the same time as a Youth Group, but unlike other reviews we never heard any disturbance from them. As a matter of fact, we commented about how quiet and peaceful it was. If I had any negative comments, it would be that some of the amenities need to be upgraded. But, after all, it is a hotel that was built in the 1800's.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank asta1116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is ideally located on the island, away from the congested areas further down Main St. It offers a great view of the harbor area. However, the hotel seems to cater to large groups and tour groups versus families. The large tour groups overran the facility, making it difficult for smaller groups and families to enjoy the amenities, such as the rocking chairs on the front porch or the chairs on the lawn.

The manager of the hotel seemed very inexperienced and was unable to resolve customer service issues with room assignments for our family in a satisfactory manner. The manager was quite defensive and more concerned about defending her position than trying to resolve the issue and to create a good customer experience.

The breakfast buffet included with the room rate was satisfactory and pretty basic. The cooked food was warm but not hot. By Thursday, the hotel had completely run out of jelly for the biscuits and breads. Small drink glasses kept you running back and forth to get drink refills.

Our room was clean but was rather small. Since it is such an old hotel, it lacks sufficient outlets to charge phones and other electronics, especially if you have several people in the room all trying to charge their phones. The rooms and hallways were noisy, especially near the stairs or elevator.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank maddiegirl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
817 reviews
0.2 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
907 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
656 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#1 of 12 in Mackinac Island
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island House Hotel

Property: Island House Hotel
Address: 6966 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757-1410
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Island House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1852, guests at the historic Island House Hotel on Mackinac Island, Michigan have enjoyed the escape to a simpler time. Disembarking on the island is truly like stepping back in time. Motor traffic is prohibited on the island, making walking, biking, and horse-drawn carriages the preferred modes of transportation. This family owned National Historic Landmark offers modern conveniences within a historic setting. Open from May through October, there are several packages available to help you plan your perfect island getaway. The island has a long and storied history, beginning with the Native Americans who populated the Straits region, followed by French fur trading. Abundant natural resources made Mackinac Island an important post in the lucrative fur trade and a hub of fishing activity. In the 19th century, tourism became the island’s main industry and today, new generations discover the charms of this quaint resort community. The Island House Hotel has the distinction of being the only hotel located within the boundaries of the pristine Mackinac Island State Park. We look forward to welcoming you to the breathtaking beauty of Mackinac Island, one of Michigan's most photographed and talked about travel destinations. Located between Michigan's upper and lower peninsulas, the Island offers you unforgettable natural and historical treasures surrounded by the sparkling blue waters of the Great Lakes. With an eight-mile circumference, Mackinac Island offers an abundance of attractions for adventurers of all ages. Parasailing, historic tours, hiking trails, narrated carriage tours, horseback riding, drive yourself horse & buggies, shopping, dining and watching world famous Mackinac Island fudge being made. Hotel amenities include: indoor heated swimming pool, air conditioning, evening bonfire for roasting smores, concierge service, onsite bike rentals, as well as excellent in-house fine & family dining at 1852 Grill Room or Ice House Bar & Grill. Today, with our beautifully renovated guest rooms and breathtaking views of the marina and Mackinac harbor, the Island House offers you a timeless escape from everything that's ordinary. From our veranda, discover for yourself why this extraordinary island has beckoned visitors world-wide for over three centuries. In addition to stunning waterfront views, guests choose the Island House Hotel for its convenient location. Far enough from the downtown hustle to enjoy the sounds of horseshoes on the pavement and gentle breezes off the water yet just a short walk to the Mackinac Island’s most popular attractions and shopping. Whether relaxing on the porch or enjoying drinks with friends in the garden, the Island House Hotel delivers the complete Island experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Island House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Mackinac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing