We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, charming rooms and good breakfast”
Review of Island House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Island House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good location, charming rooms and good breakfast”
Reviewed 7 June 2009

The location is right at the edge of town so it is very easy to walk around once on the island. Also, when you take the shuttle over from the mainland porters handle your luggage for you to and from your room to the ferry. The rooms are cute; however, the bathrooms are small and Wi-Fi doesn't work too well. There is a pool and hot-tub; however, we didn't use them, although they are located indoor. The breakfast was nice and was pretty good for the 5 dollars we paid. I would stay here again.

Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PSUFAN05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    227
    78
    42
    33
See reviews for
228
316
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Schaumburg, IL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2008

Our room was so cozy and updated. It had charming decor. It was clean and spotless. We had a pretty good view of the Lake. The weather was so perfect. We were lucky to hit the 'Colors" at their peak. We slept with the window open and in the morning we were awaken by the click-clocks of the horse pushing the carriage. How cool is that? The Island House is just so accomodating. We sat on the front chairs. We sat on the porch and watched the sunset. We had breakfast in their dinning room. The girl at the front desk was so pleasant. The Island House help make our stay a memorable one! Thank You Island House! We will be back! Don and Rosie, from Schaumburg, IL.

  • Liked — The room with the view.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank redr0sie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
1,689 reviews
272 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 679 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2008

I knew what to expect before we arrived. I knew this was a quaint, older hotel on Mackinaw.

GOOD:

*Friendly staff
*Indoor pool and spa!
*GREAT front porch
*Good breakfast
*Excellent location

BAD:

*The rooms are small, but typical for the island
*The rooms need some maintenance / updating, but typical for the island
*Some of the rooms in the main corridor would be VERY loud so ask for one away from the elevators and main staircase

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank lucycan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 9 September 2008

I brought my entire 4th grade class and their parents for an overnight stay at the Island House. Carol did and outstanding job organizing all of the activities and the rooms. The kids and the parents loved it. In Michigan we studied Michigan. Mackinac Island is an excellent opportunity for the students to experience Michigan's rich history. Also the price was very reasonable.

  • Liked — The rooms and the activities
  • Disliked — Waiting a while for someone to come to the front desk.
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 4Maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2008

First of all, I think all the negative reviews I have read are from people who haven't experienced many overnight stays on Mackinac Island.

I have been staying on the Island for over twenty years and have stayed at the Grand, Iroquois, Lilac and Island House (twice.) I was going to stay in the cheapest room I could find this trip, which would have been at the Chippewa Hotel at 155.00 per night (without breakfast) , until I received a letter from the Island House offering me three nights PLUS breakfast for the price of two (because I had previously stayed with them) for not much more.

I chose to stay with the Island House not only for their deal, but because I was bringing my three year-old son and it would just be the two of us. The Island House boasts being the most family friendly hotel on the Island - next to Mission Point (which along with the Island House offers babysitting services) the Island House is the less expensive of the two.

Unike the reviewer before me, I expected small rooms, as most of the older hotels on the Island have - save for suites that you pay hundreds more for - and being that I spent very little time in our room (which offered all that we needed and was quite comfortable away from the elevators, tucked in a corner of the third floor of the hotel) and most of our time enjoying bike riding around the Island, playing in the parks and at the Fort and SWIMMING in the indoor pool (not to mention eating two meals on outside tables just outside the pool at a very reasonably priced Ice House (with great food to boost) the room size was moot.

The staff was excellent in all aspects - from the front desk - all shifts - to cleaning staff to dining room staff - very friendly and I never felt unwelcome by my three year-olds sometimes irratic behavior - nor did I ever witness an eye roll.

Perhaps those who have had bad experiences have expected what they would have for the money at a Ramada Inn, Holiday Inn or Best Western hotel and not from an elegant, high star service, quaint resort bed and breakfast hotel on a high-end resort Island and need to think "Hamptons" (if they even know where that is) vs. "KOA" before booking their next overnight stay on Mackinac Island.

  • Liked — Overall atmosphere and support for being there with my young child.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank ChloeSimone89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2008

We just returned from a two night stay at the Island House.(8/2008) We purchased the summer special package with ferry service, breakfast buffet, & 1 dinner for each at the 1852 Grill Room restaurant. Our luggage was delivered to our room when we arrived at the hotel. It was delivered straight from the ferry. We had a room on the 4th floor (423). The only problem with the room was it was so far to get back and forth with going up stairs & down stairs. It was almost like a maze! The room was clean and very quiet & peaceful. The food was excellent. Enjoyed relaxing either on the front porch or in the chairs on the front lawn. We even rented bikes from the rental place on the property for a few hours. We would stay again at the Island House.

  • Liked — The view from front porch
  • Disliked — The maze to get to the room!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank millygirl70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Town and Country, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2008

First, we thought are room was going to be much larger than it was and have a pull out couch. For a family of five it was extremely crowded. We should have been encouraged to rent two rooms. We found the rooms to be very dated and in need of some serious attention. They failed to inform us that breakfast was included with the price of the room. So for 4 out of the 5 days we purchased breakfast. Their answer was "sorry we try to tell everyone." The offered to reimburse us $30. I don't know of many families of 5 that can eat 4 days for $30. My nephew became very ill one night and they refused to sell his brother a bottle of water because the gift shop was closed-it is connected to the front desk! Very, very rude staff. Would never, ever stay there again!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — staff
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurierao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
857 reviews
0.2 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
918 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#10 of 12 in Mackinac Island
447 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island House Hotel

Property: Island House Hotel
Address: 6966 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757-1410
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Island House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1852, guests at the historic Island House Hotel on Mackinac Island, Michigan have enjoyed the escape to a simpler time. Disembarking on the island is truly like stepping back in time. Motor traffic is prohibited on the island, making walking, biking, and horse-drawn carriages the preferred modes of transportation. This family owned historic landmark offers modern conveniences within a historic setting. Open from May through October, there are several packages available to help you plan your perfect island getaway. Mackinac Island has a long and storied history, beginning with the Native Americans who populated the Straits region, followed by French fur trading. Abundant natural resources made Mackinac Island an important post in the lucrative fur trade and a hub of fishing activity. In the 19th century, tourism became the island’s main industry and today, new generations discover the charms of this quaint resort community. The Island House Hotel has the distinction of being the only hotel located within the boundaries of the pristine Mackinac Island State Park. We look forward to welcoming you to the breathtaking beauty of Mackinac Island, one of Michigan's most photographed and talked about travel destinations. Located between Michigan's upper and lower peninsulas, the Island offers you unforgettable natural and historical treasures surrounded by the sparkling blue waters of the Great Lakes. With an eight-mile circumference, Mackinac Island offers an abundance of attractions for adventurers of all ages. Parasailing, historic tours, hiking trails, narrated carriage tours, horseback riding, drive yourself horse & buggies, shopping, dining and watching world famous Mackinac Island fudge being made. Hotel amenities include: indoor heated swimming pool, air conditioning, evening bonfire for roasting smores, concierge service, onsite bike rentals, as well as excellent in-house fine & family dining at 1852 Grill Room or Ice House BBQ. Today, with our beautifully renovated guest rooms and breathtaking views of the marina and Mackinac harbor, the Island House offers you a timeless escape from everything that's ordinary. From our veranda, discover for yourself why this extraordinary island has beckoned visitors world-wide for over three centuries. In addition to stunning waterfront views, guests choose the Island House Hotel for its convenient location. Far enough from the downtown hustle to enjoy the sounds of horseshoes on the pavement and gentle breezes off the water yet just a short walk to the Mackinac Island’s most popular attractions and shopping. Whether relaxing on the porch or enjoying drinks with friends in the garden, the Island House Hotel delivers the complete Island experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Island House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Mackinac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing