We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Accommodations!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cottage Inn of Mackinac Island

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cottage Inn of Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
McHenry, IL
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful Accommodations!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2010

If there is a distinction, I would describe this property as an Inn rather than a Bed & Breakfast. We have stayed at numerous B&Bs, most having antiques throughout the home, large common sitting areas and one large dining room table where breakfast is served at an appointed time.
The Cottage Inn has a light, airy, island feel to it. Upon our arrival the Innkeepers, Rich and Marge, were as helpful and gracious as can be. Rich showed us to our room and explained the heating and air conditioning systems. They were both quite so informative when asked about things to do on the island.
An advantage over a B&B was that breakfast was available for two hours, and coffee was available at all times! The variety and quality of the breakfast items was terrific.
Another nice touch was the DVDs provided in the lobby. We had not had a chance to see Somewhere in Time prior to our arrival. Watching that made our visit to The Grand Hotel the next day that much more special.
We would highly recommend The Cottage Inn, and we hope to be back there again one day soon!

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KeyWester01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    599
    40
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
108
410
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cheektowaga, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2010

Spent three nights at the Cottage Inn and this has been on of the best experiences we have had at a B&B. Wonderful hosts, exceptional accommodations, location is excellent to all restaurants and Main St. We loved staying here and are looking forward to coming back to the Cottage Inn.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geri6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Blackshear, GA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2010

The Cottage Inn more than met our expectations during our stay there during the Winter Festival on Mackinac Island. Marge and Rich (and mascot Joe Cocker) treated our group of four as cherished, old friends. Breakfast each morning was a variety of delicious home-made goodies - hot breakfast casseroles, right out of the oven muffins, fresh fruit and yogurt, cereals, fresh juices. Delightful! In the afternoon, when we would return from hiking around the island and be cold and tired, there was always fresh cookies, fudge, coffee, and hot chocolate waiting for us. Our room was spacious, sparkling clean, and comfortable. This is the only hotel I have ever stayed in that had a pillow that was better than my own at home. The whole picture was made complete by the friendliness of the innkeepers, Marge and Rich. They love the island, and they love to share its stories and treasures with their guests. We spent over an hour each morning just sitting, drinking coffee downstairs, and chatting with them. They were charming - the perfect innkeepers, and now we all regard them as friends. I give The Cottage Inn an A+!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank macisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2010

Watched the "Ice Bridge" video last summer and felt inspired to try something unusual, i.e. Mackinac Island in the winter. Spent New Years Eve on the island and it did not dissappoint! Plenty of live music and partying - even a wedding, made for a special and festive way to ring in the new year. What a secret gem the island is in the dead of winter! The Cottage Inn has a lovely warm atmosphere. The rooms are definitley small but adequate for a couple - Rich and Marge have the right balance of being available yet not intrusive as Inn Keepers and offered a plethera of information to make our stay enjoyable. Cross country ski trails are groomed daily and are breathtakingingly beautiful within the island- many folks brought their own skis as well as snowmobiles over on the ferry...what a hoot! Although most of the downtown is closed, the necessities of grocery store, pharmacy and a couple restaraunts were more than adequate for a couple nights stay for us! Looking forward to making another trip in February to really take advantage of the cc skiing and maybe rent a s-mobile if available. DRESS WARM!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magee13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodward1
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2010

Winter on Mackinac Island is a uniquely fun experience, and the Cottage Inn is a delightful place to call home . Cordial inkeepers,sttractive ambiance, great breakfasts and snacks, friendly guests, and handy location to shops, restaurants and ferries.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodward1Woodward1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2010

My wife and I made the trip with two other couples for a unique New Years getaway. The Cottage Inn was a great place to stay, far nicer than most of the other available winter accommodations. It was warm and cozy with a good breakfast and a very friendly couple managing it; Rich and Marge. We had a great time and enjoyed the island in a completely different light than we had in our numerous summertime visits.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank corkpopper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mattawan, MI
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2009

It started as a lark when we previewed the Cottage Inn when visiting in October, and the idea struck us that it might be nice to meet friends and family on the island this winter. What a delightful experience. Rich and Marge, the innkeepers, could not have been more accommodating and gracious. Comfortable room, delicious breakfasts, and great advice made for a wonderful winter experience. This inn, and the island in the winter, is an absolute delight. And don't miss the public library (yes, the public library) for the comfy reading area around the crackling fireplace. Good food and beverage available nearby.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JhawkerMattawan_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#5 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,380 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.2 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Inn of Mackinac Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Inn of Mackinac Island

Property: Cottage Inn of Mackinac Island
Address: 7267 Market St, P.O. Box 458, Mackinac Island, MI 49757-5171
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cottage Inn of Mackinac Island is a beautiful inn built with Victorian style and charm. The Cottage Inn was built in 2001 and we are proud to be the most modern B&B on Mackinac Island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cottage Inn Of Mackinac Island Hotel Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing