We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cottage Inn of Mackinac Island
Nearby Hotels
Murray Hotel(Mackinac Island)
US$173
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Mission Point(Mackinac Island)
US$148
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa(Mackinac Island)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel(Mackinac Island)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Island House Hotel(Mackinac Island)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Harbour View Inn(Mackinac Island)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Inn at Stonecliffe(Mackinac Island)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Lake View Hotel(Mackinac Island)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (734)
Filter reviews
734 results
Traveller rating
678
41
10
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
678
41
10
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscaramel cornmarket streetb bgarden balconyfudgelilac roomfather marquettegreat hostsegg casseroleafternoon snackbreakfast was deliciousmain streetfresh fruitquiet streeteach morningbagelsfront porch
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
679 - 684 of 734 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2010

We stayed at the inn during early opening weekend in April 2010. The inn was full with us and other geocachers. Upon arrival and the short bike ride from the pier where ferry boats dock, we were greeted by the innkeepers and shown to our room.

Our room overlooked the street with big windows to watch the passerby's. Bed was VERY comfy, bathroom was clean with ample white fluffy towels and good toiletries. Hair dryer included (I love that.) Breakfast was basic, but filled with high quality bagels, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, toast and a selection of cereals and juices.

The inn also has a great selection of videos, some new releases and some classic's as well as a selection of games. One evening a group had gathered in the small breakfast/reception area to play games and chat. We didn't have the opportunity to sit on the front porch, but it's there and beckons a butt and good book..

I would recommend this Inn easily to my best friend. Everything you need in a fantastic location to main street (all the fudge and food one would need)!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeocachingTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2010

Stayed here with a couple of friends for 3 nights and I found that this beautiful B & B was a friendly, bright, quiet and clean experience that added to the flavour of what I expected the Island to be like. I loved the homey atmosphere and Joe the Cocker (the dog) melted my heart. I think it is probably the best place on the Island for the price. It was also close to everything. All in all, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarahfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2010

If there is a distinction, I would describe this property as an Inn rather than a Bed & Breakfast. We have stayed at numerous B&Bs, most having antiques throughout the home, large common sitting areas and one large dining room table where breakfast is served at an appointed time.
The Cottage Inn has a light, airy, island feel to it. Upon our arrival the Innkeepers, Rich and Marge, were as helpful and gracious as can be. Rich showed us to our room and explained the heating and air conditioning systems. They were both quite so informative when asked about things to do on the island.
An advantage over a B&B was that breakfast was available for two hours, and coffee was available at all times! The variety and quality of the breakfast items was terrific.
Another nice touch was the DVDs provided in the lobby. We had not had a chance to see Somewhere in Time prior to our arrival. Watching that made our visit to The Grand Hotel the next day that much more special.
We would highly recommend The Cottage Inn, and we hope to be back there again one day soon!

Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank KeyWester01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2010

Spent three nights at the Cottage Inn and this has been on of the best experiences we have had at a B&B. Wonderful hosts, exceptional accommodations, location is excellent to all restaurants and Main St. We loved staying here and are looking forward to coming back to the Cottage Inn.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geri6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2010

The Cottage Inn more than met our expectations during our stay there during the Winter Festival on Mackinac Island. Marge and Rich (and mascot Joe Cocker) treated our group of four as cherished, old friends. Breakfast each morning was a variety of delicious home-made goodies - hot breakfast casseroles, right out of the oven muffins, fresh fruit and yogurt, cereals, fresh juices. Delightful! In the afternoon, when we would return from hiking around the island and be cold and tired, there was always fresh cookies, fudge, coffee, and hot chocolate waiting for us. Our room was spacious, sparkling clean, and comfortable. This is the only hotel I have ever stayed in that had a pillow that was better than my own at home. The whole picture was made complete by the friendliness of the innkeepers, Marge and Rich. They love the island, and they love to share its stories and treasures with their guests. We spent over an hour each morning just sitting, drinking coffee downstairs, and chatting with them. They were charming - the perfect innkeepers, and now we all regard them as friends. I give The Cottage Inn an A+!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank macisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews