We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best accommodations we could ever ask for!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cottage Inn of Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
“The best accommodations we could ever ask for!”
Reviewed 24 June 2010

My wife & I stayed in the Bicycle Rack Room for 3 nights for our one year anniversary. The location is in the ideal spot for a quick walk to restaurants, shops, & to rent a bike. The room we stayed in was very elegant, always clean, & beautifully decorated. We especially liked how each room had a "theme." The outside of the B & B was as beautiful as the inside - landscaped like something out of a Hollywood movie. But the most enjoyable & satisfying part of the stay was the service. Rich & Marge served beyond what was expected - more than we could have asked for. They had the perfect blend of professionalism & friendliness. They made you feel as important as a member of their own family, & they were very helpful in answering any questions we had. We had the chance to observe other B & B's on the Island, & if we ever visit Mackinac Island again or if someone recommends a place to stay on the Island, because of our experience, we will be staying at Cottage Inn of Mackinac Island again & we will recommend the Cottage Inn to them. Thanks so much, Rich & Marge for such an incredible experience. You made our anniversary vacation that much more memorable!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BornAgainRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    625
    40
    10
    5
    0
See reviews for
116
423
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Warren, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2010

This B&B was everything you would want. Both hosts made you feel right at home, and a better value can not be found.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel-and-Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAPORTE, IN
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2010

During our stay we stayed in two different rooms - The Lighthouse Room and Father Marquette Room. Both rooms were very clean, comfortable, and well decorated in the theme of the room. Therainfall showers were great as well. However the best ingredients of the inn's atmosphere were the inn keepers Marge and Rich. They were extremely hospitable, friendly, and ran a very well managed inn creating an outstanding experience for all who visited. Everything about the inn was well orchestrated but with the feeling of casualness. The inn was amazingly clean and the housekeeper was always busy cleaning and working on full speed during the day. Marge' breakfasts are fit for a king & Queen and delicious. The inn is located close to all the main attractions and activities yet is on Market Street one block behind Main Street and thus is very quiet. The front porch surrounded by the beautiul garden makes eating breakfast, having a snack, reading a book, or just sitting and taking in the lovely environment of the Island perfect and relaxing. Rich and Marge make sure you have everything you need and are very friendly but also don't invade your space or privacy. Joe the Cocker Spaniel is also a wonderful mascott and warmed everyone's heart whenever he dropped by for a visit. We also met many wonderful people while chatting at breakfast and were able to share travel experiences and life experiences. The atmosphere is very relaxing, accepting, and comfortable. We will definately be back and will recommend the Cottage Inn to all our friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sherto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2010

We had the Mackinac Suite with 3 adults. It was very clean. The suite included a sitting area, living room with a pull out couch, and a separate bedroom/bath area. Great regular bed, sister said the couch bed squeaked with any movement. The sink area was actually in the bedroom, separate from the shower. Very large shower.
Very nice place, great Inn-keepers Rich and Marge. Many good suggestions regarding tours and restaurants.
We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 829melz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2010

We stayed here for our 27th anniversary. Had a wonderful stay. Innkeepers were very friendly and helpful. The weather was beautiful. We didn't want to leave! We have already recommended the Cottage Inn for other people we knew who were coming to the Island! We will be back. Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank candlewick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2010

This newer b&b delivers every time, which is why I am a repeat guest! This year I took advantage of a great 3 night rate, and Marge and Rich treated me like family. My room (Revolution) was ready early, and the second day (arranged at time of booking) I was given a 3rd floor room (Bridge Room) and the transfer was stress-free. I have also stayed in the Bicycle Rack, Father Marquette, and the Garden Balcony room and all rooms are so delightfully decorated I can honestly say I liked them all!

Breakfast is always a treat, with homemade egg dishes, muffins, coffeecakes, fresh fruits, etc. Is served from 8-10 am so you are not tied to any one specific time which helps for both early risers and late sleepers.

Location is wonderful as it sits one block up from the main shopping district, you are close to just about everything... You can also hear the scouts play Taps at night and Reveille in the morning, and hear the clop clop of the horses out of your bedroom window.

I cannot think of anything that I dislike about the Cottage Inn. Is one of the best, if not the best place to stay on the Island.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bab1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2010

This was our first experience on the island let alone the fact that we knew nothing of the Inn when we made the reservations.
Well, first impressions are make or break and the Cottage Inn made our stay so wonderful I didn't want to leave.
Rich and Marge, the inn keepers, do a wonderful job of making you feel at home. Rich is also very knowledgeable about the sights to see which cost you absolutely nothing and when you are traveling on a budget that is absolutely music to my ears.
Marge makes a wonderful egg dish to go with the muffins, b-fast cake, toast, cereal, or bagels that they have for you every morning. The weather was so nice that we sat out on the porch each morning while we were there. There was always coffee (which is very important to me) tea, and water for you at any time day or night. In the afternoons they have Murdick's Fudge, brittle, and caramel popcorn for you to munch on. They also have microwave popcorn if you decide you are hungry at two in the morning!
The room was very clean and it was nice to be able to relax in the evenings with a movie in your room at night. They have a good selection to choose from in the lobby. Another nice touch.
It was a convenient walk to from the ferry and is central to shopping and eateries. I would definitely stay here again. We are actually tying to talk family into going with us next year.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKWheeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
802 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
712 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
898 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Inn of Mackinac Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Inn of Mackinac Island

Property: Cottage Inn of Mackinac Island
Address: 7267 Market St, P.O. Box 458, Mackinac Island, MI 49757-5171
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cottage Inn of Mackinac Island is a beautiful inn built with Victorian style and charm. The Cottage Inn was built in 2001 and we are proud to be the most modern B&B on Mackinac Island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cottage Inn Of Mackinac Island Hotel Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing