We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a way to travel.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mackinac Island Carriage Tours

Mackinac Island Carriage Tours
Ranked #2 of 12 Tours in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Narrated tours of this island that doesn't allow cars.
Brandon, Mississippi
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What a way to travel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

The whole Island is a wonderful day trip. Food, transport, hiking, the old fort, views, biking, and a beautiful hotel that I wish I could have afforded to stay at. The ferry ride over is refreshing and even better on the way back, especially if you make a side trip under the Mackinaw Bridge.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    612
    240
    82
    44
    31
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Easton
Level Contributor
168 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great Way to Kick Off Your Stay on the Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I found this to be a great way to start a day trip on the island. We bought a package from the Star Line Ferry Company which included a round-trip ferry ride from Saint Ignace, the carriage tour, and entrance into Fort Mackinac. At this time, it was a savings of nine dollars.

Regardless of where you get the tickets, this was a good way to see s part of the island. You get to ride a horse drawn carriage while getting a tour from the drivers. I particularly enjoyed the history, especially on the second part of the tour through the state park. On that portion of the ride the driver was enthusiastic, sweet, filled with energy, and just a pleasure to be with. She certainly lifted the spirits of everyone on board and seemed to really enjoy what she was doing.

The tour takes you to Surrey Hill, where you can see old carriages and visit a butterfly garden. (I did not visit the garden) You then board another carriage to go through the state park... with a quick stop at Arch Rock before stopping at the Fort... where you have an option to get off.

Again, I really enjoyed the tour and would do it again if I return. The only disappointment was the short time we had to spend at Arch Rock... but that's another reason to return. I recommend this tour to get your bearings on the island and learn a little about the history.

Note: The carriage portion of the two is about 1 hour 45 minutes... but a part of that is left up to you depending on how much time you spend on Surrey Hill... or visit the fort.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Moonrover2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Always a great ride ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

This was our second vacation to Mackinac Island and we rode the carriage ride both times. The ride starts downtown and meanders it's way around the island, the driver also narrates the trip with interesting facts about the islands history. They make at least three stops during the tour at Surrey Hill, Arch Rock and Fort Mackinac.

Helpful?
Thank Rick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Another must do!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

This is a must do! Perfect opportunity to see the island in a relaxing and fun way. Stop and visit attractions along the way. Fun, knowledgeable and friendly staff make it a good value for the price.

Helpful?
1 Thank Reneegram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
272 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 381 helpful votes
“A Long Time Favorite Tradition on Mackinaw Island.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

First time I went on this carriage ride was 12 years ago. And it became a tradition ever since. We never did the "Fort" or "Butterfly Stop". We just take a carriage ride. Even though I can easily walk, i still love this carriage ride. It's just fun. Even though I already know what the guide is going to say, it is still fun. It's peaceful. Makes you forget about all the everyday's worries. Some of the places they stop ( the arch for example ) are beautiful. Guides are informative and funny. The ride is not cheap, but nothing is cheap anymore. So I don't think their prices are unreasonable. The only thing I don't like about this ride is that some of the ladies who sell the tickets for the ride act kind of standoffish. And also guys who put you on a first carriage, treat people like horses. They try to "pack" people very tight. They want to make sure that they "pack" 4 people in a raw. And it's a bit uncomfortable. 3 people per raw is 100% more comfortable. So people should have this option. I would rather wait a little longer, but be comfortable. On the second carriage they give you more flexibility. This is really the only downfall.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 135catherineg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mackinac Island Carriage Tours also viewed

Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 

Been to Mackinac Island Carriage Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing