We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beauty in flight”

Wings of Mackinac Butterfly Conservatory
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience free-flying exotic butterflies in a lush garden environment.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
177 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“beauty in flight”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

So unbelievable. You HAVE to take this in while you are on Mackinac Island. It is a walk, but the view is spectacular. While there the butterflies come and land on your clothes or skin. One thing to keep in mind......DO NOT touch the butterflies because they are so fragile. A stop that you HAVE to take in, well worth it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    57
    33
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great place to rest your feet!”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I've been to several butterfly houses and this one takes the cake!!! It's absolutely beautiful! It is small but that is what makes it so special, you see more butterflies and come closer to them! I love photography, so this was a special treat for me! Even if you don't love to take pictures, you can just take a seat on the bench by the water fountain and rest your feet! Enjoy the beautiful scenery and watch the butterflies flutter about! There were tons! And so many different species too. My husband even enjoyed this, the butterflies seemed to like the red shirt he was wearing, they kept landing on him!

Be careful where you step/sit the butterflies are everywhere! They also ask you to check yourself in the full length mirror before you leave for "hitchiking" butterflies!

Truly relaxing! Would go back in a heart beat!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank boilerbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“kinda lame”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

the room with the butterflies was smaller than our hotel room. for the price I expected something more, especially since the souvinear stand was about five times the size of the exhibit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful Butterflies”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We enjoyed this quiet attraction. Such a variety of butterflies! I had never seen most of them before. Loved it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheboygan, WI
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointing and sad, not as good as the Butterfly House”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We'd been to the Mackinac Island Butterfly House (located behind St. Anne's church) several times before, so we thought we'd try Wings of Mackinac this time instead. We were terribly disappointed and thought it was overpriced. We were in and out in 10 minutes and wished we hadn't spent the money. I think that we were also overcharged- it says adults are $7 and children are $4, yet we were charged $25 for two adults and a child. I didn't realize this until after we got back to the hotel.

The greenhouse garden is small with very little variety in the blooming plants, and there were dead butterflies everywhere. There were several sucked into a screen on a ventilation duct that were still alive but no one made any attempt to save them.

If you're deciding between which butterfly house to visit, go to the Butterfly House behind St. Anne's, not Wings of Mackinac. The Butterfly House not only has a beautiful greenhouse garden with a wide variety of flowers and butterflies, but it offers a reptile display and an insect display as well. The garden and butterflies are better cared for.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank aquila71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wings of Mackinac Butterfly Conservatory also viewed

 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 

Been to Wings of Mackinac Butterfly Conservatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing