We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite Lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Arch Rock

Arch Rock
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Natural rock bridge soaring 149 feet above the Straits of Mackinac appears to be suspended in midair.
Wyoming, Michigan
Level Contributor
92 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Quite Lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We see Arch Rock while we take the Mackinac carriage tours. The stop at Arch Rock and we can get out and look at it for a bit. It is really something to look at from way up high. Highly recommended.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank singingscotty20... .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,590 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,040
    420
    116
    13
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“In the State Park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Impressive to see but it was extremely windy the day I was there & felt like we could be blown off the steps you need to climb to get to the viewing area.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gloria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buda, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great picture location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

My wife and I walked to see this from our cottage and also saw on a buggy tour. It is definitely better to see from the carriage ride. We took many photos and heard about the legend of the rock. A must see for us!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HIngram746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Stop, take a picture and see the view.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Biking up to arch rock was a nice trail ride. Watch out for groups of people walking there. You can approach from the loop trail also, but there was construction on the steps from the water up to the rock area. So that might not be an option for a little bit yet.

Once at the arch rock, there is a very clean restroom nearby.

You can get to arch rock, hiking, biking or the horse tours also stop there.

You can not walk on the formation, like they did 100 years ago. (boo, but I understand). But there is a walkway where you can view the formation as well as Lake Huron. It's a nice relaxing area for a short stop to take in the scenery.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Warren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwest US
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Arch rock will soon be a memory”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

This formation is natural beauty, but nature erodes as well. We were able to get off the carriage for a short stop and closer view.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank tvlcard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Arch Rock also viewed

Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 

Been to Arch Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing