We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely disappointing, stay away”
Review of Lake View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lake View Hotel
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Extremely disappointing, stay away”
Reviewed 26 June 2011

The Lake View Hotel did not honor our prepaid reservation for a 3 night stay in a ‘Deluxe Room’ and instead gave us a ‘Standard Room’. Even though the hotel has different published rates for the room types and we prepaid a full price rate ($922 for 3 nights) months in advance, the hotel refused to adjust the price or give us the proper room… they told us to take it up with Expedia and tried to convince us that the rooms are similar.

The front desk staff was dry, rude and uninterested in addressing our issue. They did not care about what our confirmation statement stated and insisted that the reservation is for a standard room. It was clear to us that they were not happy that we reserved through Expedia; we suspect that the front desk reservations are commissionable.

The room itself was tiny (approximately 11x11 with a small bathroom) and was situated directly above the restaurant balcony. Our room faced the lake but had no view of it and the room location was so close to the main road that we heard loud profanities late into the night. The A/C unit is portable and sits on the floor taking a significant amount of space; it is also loud and requires to be emptied of water periodically. The beds and linens were clean and comfortable.

Overall our island experience was ruined by the Lake View Hotel and the fact that we were cheated.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank shinalai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake_View_James, Manager at Lake View Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2011
While the guest is correct that they stayed in a Standard room, this was not our decision but Expedia's.

Expedia was notified before the guest booked the reservation that we did not have any more reservations available for the dates this guest stayed. Expedia chose to book their room and have them placed into a Standard room.

I would like to apologize for the "dry, rude and uninterested" actions of our front desk staff. We will be working on training them to better handle situations of this nature in the future. Our goal is 100% satisfaction and I'm sorry that we were unable to provide this guest with a good experience.

In defense of our staff, prior to this year the room that this guest was in was a Deluxe Room, when we air conditioned the entire hotel, we changed a few room descriptions and placed a few smaller rooms in the the Standard category.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    485
    266
    90
    39
    18
See reviews for
403
313
10
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2011

Tiny room, noisy room, no coffee pot in room. Continental breakfast worse than a Super 8.
Staff uncaring. Appears this hotel caters to the older folks with tour groups. Very poor value.
For the money, there are much better choices available.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbeam71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake_View_James, Manager at Lake View Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2011
We are sincerely sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay.
And hope that your return visit we have arranged will be much better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

We were there on Memorial Day and amazed that we were able to get in at a reasonable price. The people at the front desk were very accommodating. The room was lovely and very comfortable. Loved the location as it was right across the street when we came in on the ferry. We loved the big old building but it had all the luxury of a new one. The long row of white rocking chairs on the front porch made a great photo shot. The restaurant was also a big asset. Lake View Hotel was a great value and we would definitely stay there again if we get to the island.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cincher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davisburg, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

We stayed at the Lake View 5/20-5/21. I was so impressed with this beautiful hotel. Customer service was very Friendly. Our room was very nice and super clean. The Indoor pool was exceptional! Goodfellow's restaurant was wonderful and had an exceptional wait staff. This Hotel is in a great location, right across the street from the Star Line Ferry Dock.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank daraymer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin, USA
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2010

My husband and I traveled to Mackinac Island for a three day, two night trip for our first anniversary! We booked the Lake View after several of our "first" choices were already full 3 weeks prior to our trip. Needless to say, I think it was meant to be because we were quite impressed with the hotel! We got a great deal with a "no cancellations/upfront payment" price -- about $164 per night, staying Sunday and Monday nights. The location is very easy--right across the street from the Star Line ferry docks. We got off the ferry and were immediately at the hotel. The bag service was seamless and check in was quick!

The room was Victorian style, with two queen beds. Our room overlooked the atrium where the pool and hot tub are. It was really nice to have a swim and sit in the hot tub after a whirlwind day of biking and hiking. The bathroom was very clean and everything worked great. Since it was September, we didn't need to use the A/C at all and chose to crack the window to hear the sound of the horses clip clopping along outside. We thought it added to the charm! Beds were comfy and we slept great.

The continental breakfast at Goodfellow's wasn't the best I have ever eaten but it filled us up, was free and was convenient so can't complain! They had an assortment of muffins, bread, cereal, etc. They offered $5 omelettes but we didn't have those.

All in all, we were quite pleased with the hotel. We loved Mackinac Island and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cworld26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager24, Director of Sales at Lake View Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2010
Thank you so much for letting us be a part of your first anniversary. I hope that we exceeded your expectations. It gives us great joy when customers let us be apart of there special days. A lot of the time if we know in advance we will have something special for you ann your loved one waiting at the hotel for your arrival. Cant wait to see you agian and thank you agian for choosing the Lake View Hotel while on Mackinac!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

We stayed two nights in October. We loved that the hotel was right across the street from the ferry. We told the ferry staff which hotel we were staying at and our luggage was delivered right to our room from the ferry. The room was immaculate. Our king-size bed was very comfy. We received a discount card to use all over town. There was a very nice inside pool and hot tub. Too bad we didn't bring our swimsuits! The only downside was that you could very clearly hear the horses going by all night. In the morning a very loud tour director was gathering her group right outside in front of the hotel. The first night there was a weddin celebration that would have been very loud if we had a room around the pool. In other words, if you're a light sleeper bring ear plugs. Otherwise, we truly loved our stay.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyBulldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager24, Director of Sales at Lake View Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2010
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, Byron the Bellman Manager has been at the hotel for 15 plus years, and enjoys helping our customers in anyway possible. I am sorry to hear about the noisy wedding party, if there is ever a problem please contact our front desk and they will address the problem for you. Our mission is to make sure that all of our guests walk away happy and keep coming back year after year. We cant wait to see you agian and thank you for choosing the Lake View Hotel while in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2010

We stayed at the Lake View Hotel for a quick weekend trip to Mackinac Island. We chose the hotel because of its location and the indoor swimming pool. All in all, it was a good trip. It was great being able to walk out the door and be in the middle of everything, the kids loved the pool, our room was a nice size for the four of us, and we enjoyed the continental breakfast at Goodfellows.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClevelandKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ashleesales, Director of Sales at Lake View Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2010
Thank you for your great comments about the hotel. The indoor pool is always a plus, because you never know when its going to rain or be cold on the island. Thats the good thing about being located in Lake Huron. Im glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed the hotel, and all the shops located around us. Hope to see you agian soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
802 reviews
0.2 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
249 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
927 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
473 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake View Hotel

Property: Lake View Hotel
Address: 7452 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake View Hotel is located on timeless Mackinac Island. Our hotel is conveniently located downtown, making your favorite shops, restaurants and ferry lines just a walk away. We feature 85 newly upgraded guest rooms, the only indoor, heated pool on the island, free wireless internet, and a Continental Breakfast. We pride ourselves in meeting and exceeding our guests needs while not forgetting our historical past. As a guest at the Lake View hotel you will enjoy 32” LCD Flat screen televisions, new plush mattresses, pillows and bedding alongside our Victorian style decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Lake View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake View Mackinac Island
Hotel Lake View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing