We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good family hotel on island”
Review of Lake View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lake View Hotel
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We recently stayed here with our 3 grown children (in their 20's). The room was a bit tight when we added the roll away, but it worked well. The hotel had a nice indoor pool and sauna, which was a nice break after biking the island. Great location, right in town and directly across from the boat docks. Although not a plush room, all in all it is a good place to stay for families.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hamp90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,055)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

923 - 929 of 1,055 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2012

My husband visited Mackinaw for the first time: We stayed at the Lakeview Hotel from Sunday to Tuesday: The staff was nice, However when we got to our room the sink stopped up and the TV was not clear at all. We told the front desk about this. They sent someone to take care of the sink. We were told that the stopper in the sink was broke. The maintenance guy took the stopper with him and never returned. So we had to wait until the water went out slowly before we could use it each time. (For real)
We were told the TV wasn't working properly due to a storm and that they were having a proble m with the cable company. Don't know about anyone else but I have a been on a cruise with a storm and the TV was much clearer. Imaginge Sun to Tuesday at $185 per night and no TV and it rain all day that Monday.( I don't play cards) also cards were not one of the amenities that I looked for when booking the room. The TV worked fine in the restaurant (Good Fellows), I checked with the other hotels on that same street and the TV's pictures were clear.
The least the Hotel could have done was offer some accomodations, coupons for free breaksfast etc. Don't ever tell your guest you have no control over the weather or that you are having problems with your cable company and they aren't taking anything off their (Lakeview Hotel) rate therefore they couldn't accomodate me. (For Real). You don't have control over the weather but you should have an alternative when things like this happen. Be honest tell the guest when they check in that you are working on the TV. We were told the TV was an issue prior to us checking in. Also the day after (Monday) I was going to the restaurant (Good Fellows) and some guest were complaining about the same thing.(TV).
I won't stay at the Lakeview Hotel again, and if you stay there, make sure you ask is the TV working!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Faye124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake_View_James, Manager at Lake View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

While we strive to always ensure our guest have an amazing stay at Lake View Hotel, it is true that some things are out of our control.

I will admit the television was un-watchable for 3 days or so, but the local Cable company was unable to correct the problem immediately, as there was a bit of storm damage. This effected our hotel, and a couple others next to us.
This guest did admit that we advised them at check in that we were experiencing issues with the tv, and that the cable company was working on it.

As Good Fellows uses Directv for their television they were not effected by the problems we experienced.

I will be investigating why the sink was not correctly fixed the first time the engineer was in the room, and sincerely apologize for that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

I love this hotel, the staff, the restaurant (Goodfellows Chop House). Location is perfect. Close to everything and all the shopping, taxis. Awesome pool and hot tub in the middle of the hotel. I stayed with a large group and they accommodated us so well. Will be staying here again. Great price. Also, we had to use the conference room for some group activities and it was perfect! Thanks for making our weekend so great!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carmen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Location: fantastic, right in the main street close to shopping, restaurant and entretaiment

Staff: really nice, good people, they gave us early check in and the bell guy, Byron was super taking care of our bags to and from the ferry

Room: noisy, air conditioning is old. My room was 236 and althought in a corner if you open the window you will get the cigarette smoke from the staff that takes their break. Also you could hear the bathroom from upstairs

The best: location, staff and the value discount card they give you, you can save some good money

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank Armando B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We stayed at Lake view Hotel for 3 nights. We stayed in a turret room that was beautifully appointed and spacious enough for a family of two adults and two children. The hotel is very old and some of the furniture is showing it's age like the chairs. Two of the Turret windows in our room were permanently fogged over so it impeded our view of the street and the lake. The beds are very comfortable!

Some of the things that we liked best about it was the indoor pool, and the central location. There were restaurants and shops all around the hotel. Also, It's difficult to find a hotel on the Island with an indoor pool.

The best attribute Lake View has to offer is friendly and accomodating staff from the front desk to housekeeping. We liked the fact that they had a large safe in the room to store our electronics and valuables. There was no refrigerator which we felt it should have had because it was a premium room.

A continental breakfast was included that has cereal, toast, waffles, english muffins, regular muffins, yogurt, fruit, donuts, coffee and milk.
You could have omelets or eggs made anyway for an additional $5. The omelets we had each day were delicious.

We liked that there was a game room across the street and also a laundromat. The hotel was quiet and the beds were comfortable.

The pool was a little on the cool side and was filled with kids at night.

It was a larger room with a separate sitting area with only one TV. Each evening, the kids wanted to watch Disney and my husband insisted on Sports. There should have been 2 tv's.

Internet is important to me because I own a business and need to have reliable internet. The internet wifi was horrible and we kept losing connection. Normally you get charged $3 per device per day but we didn't get charged anything for it in the end.

We visit Mackinac Island every year. I would say that this is my second favorite hotel next to the Harborview Inn mainly because of the high expense. Overall, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miabia03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Great place to hang your hat that is centrally placed in the heart of Mackinaw island. just a few blocks from the ferry. the rooms were decent. we had the jacuzzi room because its was the last one available but i wouldn't pay for it if there was a room without one. the reason being is the jacuzzi is just a big over sized bathtub in the bathroom. all in all it as a great location and a good place to stay. i would recommend staying there especially for the value.

Room Tip: I wouldnt recommend the jacuzzi room its just an over sized bathtub. We stayed on the side of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NormanTodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We stayed two nights at the Lake View Hotel (August 10-11, 2012). First off, the location was great. It's located right on the main strip of shops in the downtown area on what would be the southwest end.

All the staff was nice and friendly and the valets were great as well. All were prompt with handling luggage from the ferry dock to the hotel and then back from the hotel to the ferry dock. Don't be cheap, be sure to tip them.

The rooms were relatively up to date with a flat screen TV mounted on the wall. Our room did have a floor-standing A/C unit, which did not bother us at all.

The only issue I had is that I was traveling with my family and children; one of which was a 7 month old baby and our window was located street side along Hoban Street; which is a side street, and Goodfellow's Wings & Things Bar had an outside patio two floors below us. When the bar closed at 2am we got to hear everyone wander into the streets for the next 30 minutes. My advice is that if you're traveling with kids, ask for a non-streetside room.

And it was a bit pricey, even if it did include a food voucher. But that's to be expected when staying on the island.

Room Tip: My advice is that if you're traveling with kids, ask for a non-streetside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrianH78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,088 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
738 reviews
0 mi away
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and Waterfront Collection
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and ...
#10 of 12 in Mackinac Island
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
279 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
538 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake View Hotel

Address: 7452 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range: £133 - £353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake View Hotel is located on timeless Mackinac Island. Our hotel is conveniently located downtown, making your favorite shops, restaurants and ferry lines just a walk away. We feature 85 newly upgraded guest rooms, the only indoor, heated pool on the island, free wireless internet, and a Continental Breakfast. We pride ourselves in meeting and exceeding our guests needs while not forgetting our historical past. As a guest at the Lake View hotel you will enjoy 32” LCD Flat screen televisions, new plush mattresses, pillows and bedding alongside our Victorian style decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lake View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake View Mackinac Island
Hotel Lake View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing