We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Victorian hotel with a great location”
Review of Lake View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lake View Hotel
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Victorian hotel with a great location”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

During a recent trip to Mackinac Island we stayed at the Lake View. I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. We are used to mew modern resorts and this was the first historic hotel we have stayed at.
Check in was a breeze. The hotel is right across from the ferry and the hotel brought the bags from the ferry to our room. Be prepared to tip the bell man otherwise he will pretend to take a phone call and say "I am working really hard here" and try and guilt trip you into a tip.
The room was spacious and had a nice bed. The a/c in the room was poor but you could at least open the windows. The shower was clean and maid service did a good job everyday.
The lobby was beautiful and comfortable to have a couple drinks in at the end of a long day. I would recommend this hotel because of the location, good service and comfortable room.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank racer525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    486
    266
    90
    39
    18
See reviews for
403
314
10
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New England
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

What a wonderful place to stay! It is right across the street from the boat landing….and the hotel porters will bring your luggage – right to your room…no need to drag the bags yourself. The rooms are fairly large and clean, and since we needed 3 rooms for our extended family, we got rooms close together and looking down over the pool. We thought…oh dear! It’s going to be loud. But, it was not. People were in the pool, hot tub, and the steam room, but the noise didn’t permeate our rooms. The beds were comfortable, and we were tired from the haunted night tour, so we slept well.
The huge veranda is very inviting, and you can sit and watch the world go by. There is no stuffiness here…just friendly people. There is also a game/gathering room which we made use of for board games while indulging in the Island staple: fudge! The price was quite reasonable for a resort area at peak leaf-peeping time - $116 for a room with 2 queen beds – non-smoking.
When we were leaving - after we checked out, there was lots of time left before the boat departure, so the hotel stored our luggage for us until we got back ready to board.
Within the Inn, there is a restaurant called Goodfellows where we had the most deliciously yummy prime rib! We were sitting at the bar, and the bartender let us order our meal to eat right at the bar. Usually bars do not accommodate diners… but they did for us – all 6 of us! And yes, we all had prime rib.
If you’re going to Mackinac Island… and I would recommend it – spring, summer or fall – any time is good…just not winter – the Island is closed. It is a step back in time, yet every modern amenity is available. Take the haunted historical night tour….the stories are fascinating. And you have to taste the fudge! So many varieties…so many calories…
Would definitely recommend the hotel to any and all comers.

Room Tip: Since we had rooms in the front, and found no problems with noise, I'd say any room would do. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chonja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Commerce Township, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Travelocity messed up our reservation for this hotel. When we found out about it, the hotel was full for the 4th of July. In fact there were no hotels on the island that had a room for us for that night. This 2 night stay was in the middle of a full week of vacation travels and all of the other prepaid hotel stays were strategically booked around this stay. The hotel staff found us a room, quite miraculously. When we arrived on the ferry, someone from the hotel met us at the dock and had already secured our luggage. It was in our room and waiting on us within 10 minutes of the ferry docking. Everyone was so helpful, courteous and enjoyable to interact with. The room was beautiful, the food at their restaurant was great. We will not even try to stay anywhere else on the island on subsequent visits.

Room Tip: Get a turret room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LKFoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UpState New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

My wife and I have just returned from Mackinac Island, which was fantastic, unfortunately the Lakeview Hotel was a great let down, misrepresented and over priced. I should add that I am very well traveled and have stayed in a "large number" of hotels so this is not a one of "whinge" without having a great deal of travel experience.

To begin with, when we arrived on the Island we went to collect our bags from the Hotel Porter who we were informed by the ferry line would be waiting for us. We spent 15 minutes looking for our bags and the porter without success to discover that our bags had been collected and already taken to the hotel. While this may appear to be good service, I would have thought the decent thing to do would be to wait for the Guests before taking off with luggage.

The check in was quick and the front counter girl was friendly but hardly informative. I would have much preferred she inform us of how to get to our room (third floor) than handing out coupons for discounts and pushing the Hotel Restaurant and Bar.

The Porter did deliver our luggage (two small bags) to our room and was in and out very quickly.

The room, supposedly a Lakeview Room, was small with minimal furnishings. Two chairs in the Tower Style corner with a small table between them holding an Ice Bucket and a second table at the foot of the bed for the coffee making items. What little floor space there was, was taken up with a portable air conditioner that had two speeds, On and Off and was very loud. Despite the "vintage of the hotel" there are far more acceptable ways of installing air conditioning without having to resort to the type this Hotel uses.

The bed, a King, was very firm to hard, although some people might prefer that so that is personal preference. Just be aware that if (like my wife and I) are accustomed to a soft bed, sleeping could be an issue.

The so called Lakeview should have been (at best) a Partial Lakeview Room as most of our view was the downtown street, looking into the windows of the apartments across the road and trees. What we could see of the Lake consisted of about 1/10th of the entire so called view.

Breakfast was supposed to be complimentary, and it was IF you only wanted a cold breakfast or toast. Omelettes and Eggs were available for an additional $5:00 per person and there was no sign of bacon, pancakes, sausage etc. The Best Western in Mackinaw City provided a complimentary breakfast which contained everything anyone could ask for for a breakfast and such things as coffee were unavailable once breakfast was completed.

The Restaurant (Goodfellows) reputedly the best in town outside of the Grand Hotel, was also over priced but was good. The Bar was also great during the day and the barmaid was excellent.

Complimentary Internet was also suspect, especially if you wanted to relax on the balcony in one of the many rocking chairs and use it - it was non existent and only randomly available throughout the Hotel UNLESS you purchased internet as a guest and even then, it failed to work on the front porch. When reception was asked about the problem the only response we got was, "it should work" ... end of story.

Check out was quick and painless.

All in all, and considering the number of Hotels on the Island, be very wary about this Hotel - you most likely wont get what you expect and pay for. Best advice, research ALL of the Islands Hotels and ensure that what they advertise is accurate. Competition on the Island is fairly strong and am sure that most Hotels would do (almost) anything to attract customers.

In short, if you are reserving a Hotel on line (site unseen), avoid the Lakeview Hotel. If you are on the island and looking for accommodation, ask to see the room that you are considering taking before committing to anything.

All in all - the Hotel was a huge let down, the Island and it's people on the other hand were brilliant and something not to be missed. We will be back at Mackinac, just not staying at the Lakeview.

Room Tip: As mentioned above, ask to see the room you are interested in before committing to anything, and fin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

Two chairs in the room very uncomfortable. Blower type air-conditioning system on the floor was very loud and antique. The breakfast was very minimal. Bathrooms need an upgrade Including the hot tub. The staff was nice and they were helpful. The hotel has a good location with convenience to the ferry and to the shops.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WYPY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake_View_James, Manager at Lake View Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
I appreciate this review in its honesty, and would like to address a few items.

1) The air conditioners: yes they are portable units, however due to the historical status of the hotel, in a historical district this is our only option to cool guest rooms.

2) The breakfast is a "continental breakfast". There is an Omlette station where you can order an omelette or made to order eggs as an option.

I love hearing that our staff was friendly and helpful, I believe we have one of the best teams on Mackinac Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loogootee, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

I was very disappointed with this hotel. I have never stayed in a hotel room this small before. There is a bed of course, but other than that there was one chair (simiiar to one in a doctor's office) and that is it. We tried to cancel the rest of our reservation but couldn't, due to the fact we have reserved our room thru a third party (expedia). Our room also was about 80 degrees overnight and we couldn't sleep because of it. Apparently the little air conditioner that sits on the floor wasn't hooked properly. I had read the reviews beforehand, but just didn't see what others had positively commented on. I would go back to Mackinac Island, but not to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCJ71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake_View_James, Manager at Lake View Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
I would like to extend my apologies that we were unable to resolve this guest issue during their stay.

The guest in question was upgraded to a lake view room at their request, and I agree that some of our lake view rooms are smaller as they are in the original (150 year old) portion of the hotel. We did move them on the third night to a larger room.

The airconditioner was incorrectly installed for this guests first evening but as soon as they informed us we corrected it immediately and it has been functioning correctly ever since.

There are many fine hotels on Mackinac Island, and I hope this reviewer has the opportunity to come back and finds a property that is more inline with what they are looking for.

They are welcome to contact me at anytime to discuss their stay and if there is anything I can do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Salem, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Being just at the end of the busy strip of shops and dining makes the Lake View a perfect hotel to enjoy the island. The staff is friendly. The lobby is great for hanging out to visit, play cards and use the free wifi (there is a charge from your room). The porch is fabulous for relaxing. The is a very nice indoor pool. It's very busy in the evening but not so during the day. Rooms are small but quaint. Highly recommend the Lake View.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
802 reviews
0.2 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
249 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
927 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
472 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake View Hotel

Property: Lake View Hotel
Address: 7452 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake View Hotel is located on timeless Mackinac Island. Our hotel is conveniently located downtown, making your favorite shops, restaurants and ferry lines just a walk away. We feature 85 newly upgraded guest rooms, the only indoor, heated pool on the island, free wireless internet, and a Continental Breakfast. We pride ourselves in meeting and exceeding our guests needs while not forgetting our historical past. As a guest at the Lake View hotel you will enjoy 32” LCD Flat screen televisions, new plush mattresses, pillows and bedding alongside our Victorian style decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lake View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake View Mackinac Island
Hotel Lake View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing