We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way!”
Review of Lake View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lake View Hotel
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This was the second year in a row I booked a group trip for 25 students here and once again we have a wonderful experience. The staff - specifically Andrea, were wonderful, the rooms were spacious and clean, and the location was perfect. 11/10!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingchicas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,055)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

876 - 882 of 1,055 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2013

I am currently staying in the Lake View Hotel for the next 5 days and I am truly delighted with the hotel! There was a little mix up with my reservation when I checked in but they immediately took care of it and place me in a wonderful room! The room I am staying in is a turret room. It has a wonderful view to main street and the water. It is extremely spacious and tidy. In reading other reviews, some guests have been concerned with the portable air conditioners. What most visitors don't know is the city has banned the use of the standard window air conditioners because the city does not want the air conditioners to drip on people down on the sidewalks. I don't find the portable ac much louder than a normal window air conditioner. The hotel is extremely clean and the staff is wonderful. My room is heavenly and I am so thrilled with my stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yvonnepi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Our family stayed at the Lake View hotel for 2 nights. Yes, it's expensive, but you are paying for the location. The rooms were nice and large, but nothing special. The hotel is located right on the main drag of the island, directly across from the Shepler's Ferry dock. The pool in the middle of the hotel was great for the kids, and we didn't find it too loud or obnoxious (which we were worried about).

The restaurant is also nice, and they recently opened a wine bar, which did a very nice job.

We were very happy with the stay at the Lake View Hotel and would definitely recommend it for a family stay on Mackinac Island.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichiganRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

The hotel is right on the main street right across from the ferry landings. The staff is very nice, helpful and friendly Lots of restaurants close by so that is good. The room we had was an end room with a slight view of the lake. It was spacious,clean and the bed comfortable. The biggest negative in the room was the portable a/c unit. It cooled the room fine but was very noisy and there was not a way to reduce the noise other than turning it off. The continental breakfast was what one would expect at a roadhouse hotel. Adequate, but for $5 you could get an omelette. I gave it 3 stars because for the $$$$ I expected more, though on an island like that, everything costs a lot.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wj60304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We went to Mackinac Island for our 4th time to celebrate our 10 year Anniversary. This was our third time staying at the Lake View. Which, was still in high season. But, it was a last minute decision. The hotel was not at all accommodating and welcoming. They herd their patrons and they definitely knew we were return guests and had brought another family along 2 years before. Also, I mentioned when when booking that it was our 10th Anniversary. They had not offer even a complimentary anything. We had and always bring our kids. They gave us a noisy room, and claimed it was a deluxe 2 queen suite. We're luck if they were full size beds. The carpets were dirty and the bathroom gross. The fact that we recommended this to others and brought our loyal business the hotel's way was not appreciated or rewarded - aside from the lack of effort.
The tiny "Queen" beds were hard, and we never received service. When we were ignored we made a stop at the front desk to ask for service and were told "they are gone for the day." Say goodbye to our future business. Next year we were bringing a family reunion to your hotel now we are going to one of the island resorts!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amee78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

This hotel is well located within easy walking distance to the ferries, shops, restaurants, and historic sites on beautiful Mackinac Island. We used Shepler's Ferry and after a very pleasant crossing from the mainland were met by Byron the porter/bellman for the Lake View. He provided excellent service both upon arrival and at departure. In fact, we found the entire hotel staff to be pleasant and well informed. Our room was clean, comfortable, and well appointed having sufficient room for a queen bed and a small sitting area with a desk and chair as well as a comfortable wing chair. The room was equipped with a new-looking, quite and efficient inside wall mounted air conditioner. The breakfast included with the room was typical continental breakfast fare, but for an additional five dollar charge you can get a large well prepared omelette.

This hotel does seem to be behind the times as to the availability of internet service. We were able to connect from our room at no additional charge after consulting the very pleasant young woman working at the check-in desk who helped us establish an internet connection.

Mackinac Island is a lovely and unique venue and my wife and I look forward to another visit soon. We would certainly consider staying at the Lake View Hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an upgraded air conditioner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Virginian052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Lake View hotel was ideally located in front of the star line ferry dock. Hotel staff was very helpful in giving suggestions of things to do and places to eat...and they were very courteous. Room size was a bit smaller than an average size hotel room but was comfortable. Noise from the pool can be heard although there was supposed to be a 10PM noise restriction. For those who want to relax after a long bike ride, there are lounge chairs to snooze on in front at the hotel veranda.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nomadic_Thoughts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,087 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
738 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
278 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and Waterfront Collection
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and ...
#10 of 12 in Mackinac Island
263 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake View Hotel

Address: 7452 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range: £135 - £372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake View Hotel is located on timeless Mackinac Island. Our hotel is conveniently located downtown, making your favorite shops, restaurants and ferry lines just a walk away. We feature 85 newly upgraded guest rooms, the only indoor, heated pool on the island, free wireless internet, and a Continental Breakfast. We pride ourselves in meeting and exceeding our guests needs while not forgetting our historical past. As a guest at the Lake View hotel you will enjoy 32” LCD Flat screen televisions, new plush mattresses, pillows and bedding alongside our Victorian style decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Lake View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake View Mackinac Island
Hotel Lake View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing