We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Deal...”
Review of Lake View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lake View Hotel
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed at the Lake View for one night while touring the island and would go back again. Had a very good dinner in the restaurant. The rooms open to the pool atrium and are well-appointed. Location is awesome and it was a good deal for the price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank going5star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (999)
There are newer reviews for Lake View Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

806 - 812 of 1,000 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed two nights and purchased a family package for both rooms. Reasonable price for time of year included ferry tickets, $100 gift card for Lake View restaurants, and various discounts at other stores in town. The hotel is SO user friendly and family-friendly! Indoor swimming pool open from 9:00am to 10:00pm to fill in down time for kids. Goodfellows Restaurant gift cards could also be used at Sanders Candy Stores on the Island, so the remaining balance after we had dinner was used to buy a LOT of fudge!!
We had two rooms for 4 adults and 4 kids. Room 234 was perfectly sized to accommodate a cot. I was concerned about noise due to the proximity to the pool, but it was never a problem. Rooms VERY comfortable and cleaned on a timely basis. Hotel front desk staff very accommodating and pleasant! A really wonderful, highly recommended place to stay!!

Room Tip: Room 234 slightly larger and will accommodate a cot.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sommerfall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in 222, and the room was lovely. But at about 11:30 pm the juke box in the bar got loud and woke me up. I called twice to ask then to turn it down. No such luck. Definitely do not stay in this room if you are a light sleeper....the bar closes at 2am.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank joaniebgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Bathroom tiles need a thorough scrubbing. As a senior, the lighting is so bad I had to use a flashlight app to find anything in my suitcase. Other hotels use energy - saving bulbs and provide better light

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Itiswhatever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Well, we crossed Lake Michigan on the ferry and walked a short block to a very beautiful, comfortable, pleasant hotel right on the Main Street. Built in 1854 with updates, and decore of the age when The Island was a major getaway for the wealthy, this four story hotel is the perfect place to organize your sightseeing on Mackinac Island. We were there for the Lilac Festival and right on the parade route. Breakfast was good. Usual fare is the continental [cold cereals, fruit, ect.] but our group paid a little more and got a hot breakfast with the other items. [Traveling with a group helps. I am not sure other guests could get hot food items]. The fudge shops are all up and down the street, plus other shops to fill your time. When you have biked or walked enought, relax in the heated indoor swimming pool. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Quiet hours are from 10 pm to 6 am. The soundproofing in the outside walled rooms as we could hear...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 172nancyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Located across from the Star Line Ferry, and supposedly the only indoor pool on the island. Can be noisy before pool closes, but tolerable. Better for families than couples. Goodfellows restaurant in the lobby has monstrous portion sizes, but for an Italian restaurant, the pasta was overcooked. Air circulation systems in the rooms seem to have been updated, but our room a/c was broken. When notified, the maintenance staff said "that is broken". I said, "I know", but no repair was undertaken. The room had a supplemental portable a/c unit that had to be drained daily, but it moderated the temperature sufficiently. Adequate hotel, no issues with cleanliness. Just a little tired and dated. Porters did a very good job getting luggage to and from ferry. Front desk staff somewhat glib about key programming issue, but got the job done eventually.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonBarSinister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My biggest gripe? The swimming pool is literally in the middle of the hotel, not enclosed, where there are stunning acoustics to hear screaming kids. Until 9:30 at night. And at 9 in the morning. Or whenever their parents let them go swimming. All the hotel rooms on all four floors circle the area around and above the pool and hottub area. Which is ok, if you have kids with you. But if you are on a romantic trip with your spouse, this is a serious bummer. It was a good thing we don't go to bed early either, since the pool is open until 10 pm. Besides that, the service was really helpful. However, the room was a little small and needed some updated carpet and wallpaper nad fixtures. It was fine for one night.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scrltpimpernel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
971 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
728 reviews
0.2 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
493 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,065 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and Waterfront Collection
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and ...
#10 of 12 in Mackinac Island
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake View Hotel

Address: 7452 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range: £131 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake View Hotel is located on timeless Mackinac Island. Our hotel is conveniently located downtown, making your favorite shops, restaurants and ferry lines just a walk away. We feature 85 newly upgraded guest rooms, the only indoor, heated pool on the island, free wireless internet, and a Continental Breakfast. We pride ourselves in meeting and exceeding our guests needs while not forgetting our historical past. As a guest at the Lake View hotel you will enjoy 32” LCD Flat screen televisions, new plush mattresses, pillows and bedding alongside our Victorian style decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Lake View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake View Mackinac Island
Hotel Lake View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing