We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stepping Back in Time”
Review of Lake View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lake View Hotel
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel was conveniently located across the docks of Shepler's Ferry line. The Porter greeted us at the dock and ensured our Suitcases were not an issue.

The room was spacious, clean and quiet, with all the modern amenities.

Our boys enjoyed the only heated pool on the island.

This was perfect for families.

Staff were professional and courteous.

Conveniently located on the Main Street.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank DMX10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,056)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

851 - 857 of 1,056 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Had one of the turret rooms. 2 queen beds, love seat sleeper, shower, and large jetted tub. Service was great, so is the location. One of the few hotels on the island with a pool. Nice size indoor pool, and a nice hot tub. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Robsp1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel with a bus tour group of about 40 people. Located on Main Street, just across from the ferry docks, this quaint hotel was situated in a great location. Check-in was fast and efficient. Hotel is very convenient if you have luggage. Hotel and our room was clean. Staff was very helpful. Adjacent full-service restaurant (Goodfellows) is available. Our room (214) was oddly shaped, somewhat like a "Z" and not very efficient (do not recommend). Two doors within the room, one to access the interior hallway and one to access the pool area. Indoor pool area also had sauna, whirlpool, towels, tables and chairs. Pool closed at 10 pm so no noise at later hours. Guests located on street side said they could hear the horses at night. One "busy" elevator available next to lobby. Our room had a window air conditioner and coffee maker. No refrigerator. No computer (business area) within hotel. Wi-fi was reportedly available but did not access. Lobby was spacious and comfortable with numerous chairs/tables. Outside porch had several rocking chairs and was relaxing in the evening to people watch. The "Continental" breakfast started serving at 7 am, and was convenient, but limited and was served in the adjacent connected restaurant. Coffee, juice, pastries, cereal, milk, bread, yogurt, and a toaster. An omelette station for $5.00 was available. Had an 8 am ferry ride so the "continental" breakfast worked out great for me. Asked for a wake up call that never came...as was also reported (complained) by several other guests.....since I had to get the first ferry this was important...and the hotel let me down....luckily a in-room radio/alarm clock saved the day......Overall I would recommend this hotel and stay here again (bring your own alarm clock!!!).

Room Tip: If traveling with children that want to swim ask for interior room with pool access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda44149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The location is perfect for a family stay on the island, since it's directly across the street from Sheplers ferry terminal. The pool is a great draw for the kids, but it does add to the noise and commotion during the evening. Thankfully, the curfew is 10:00 so it wasn't bad at all. I'd certainly recommend this hotel, especially if you have kids.
The staff is well trained and extremely accommodating.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Willie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I stayed two nights with family during a recent vacation and found the location very good. The beds were comfy, room was clean and view from upstairs was nice. However, the room was very small due to the shape and arrangement. The air/heat was very complicated and I had to get the hotel personnel to help us. The room we stayed in was 342 and I would recommend you do not select this one. I am sure being a corner room it contributed to the cramped area. The bathroom was very small, as well. The wi-fi was not working well at all. Also, there was no computer available to guests in the lobby, which might have helped since the wi-fi was not working most of the time.

On the positive side, the staff was friendly and helpful. The front lobby was spacious, well-furnished and generally a nice place to gather our tour group before leaving for the day. There was also a lovely front porch with rocking chairs on which to relax. It was located just across the street from the ferry dock which was very convenient when we first arrived.

We had a nice dinner in their banquet room the first night we arrived. I ordered the white fish, vegetable medley and scalloped potatoes. Salad and dessert were great, too. It was very good meal. Others at my table ordered the prime rib and gobbled it right up, so it must have been very good as well. We ate two hot breakfasts and there was quite a variety to choose from.

We chose to stay at this hotel rather than the Grand Hotel due to some differences in the tours that were available. I really think it worked out best because we ate lunch at the Grand and then spent the rest of the day exploring Main and Market Streets and surrounding area. We took a carriage ride back from the Grand Hotel for $5 each so it all worked out well. It is not too long to walk from the Grand, though. It is nice to be right in the middle of the town. It was a quiet hotel even though it was full of occupants.

Even though there were some things we did not like, overall I would recommend this hotel. I would just advise that you be picky about which room you select. If you want a good view, you will have to work on that, as well. It does have a heated indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna. This is quite a large hotel complete with eighty-five guest rooms, two restaurants, banquet facilities and a frequently-used elevator. It is not the Grand but it is a sweet stay.

Room Tip: Don't select room 342.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank scrapqueen40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Check in off the boat was quick we arrived at 1:30 and our room was ready. Room was clean and more than enough space for 2 adults and 2 kids. Continental breakfast was simply doughnuts, toaster waffles, toast, fruit, yogurt ( however you could have an omelette made to order for $5). Why the lower rating - pool needed to be cleaned and ph checked in hot tub and pool. Our room was above kitchen and an angery chef was cussing out a worker outside our window. Lots of talking at night when they were wrapping up for the night. All in all if the price is right I would stay again.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank DisneyNut4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We spent time in July 2014 on Mackinac Island. This old style hotel looks comforting when you get off the Sheplers boat shuttle as you enter onto Main Street. It is thoroughly modern inside with spacious rooms--and as a plus, it has an indoor swimming pool. There is a very nice restaurant and bar attached with main street viewing from inside. Food was good. The hotel staff was courteous, and the lobby was clean and neat. I liked the veranda with quite a few rocking chairs for the tired and/or people waiting for the shoppers to get their fill of looking through the many shops (lots of fudge) on Main street. Lots of bicycles for rent for the crowds. Lots of horse drawn vehicles to use--the beautiful Percheron and Belgian horses are very well maintained and brushed until they shine. A very beautiful place to visit and you feel as if you have gone back to a more genteel place and time.

Room Tip: If you have a handicapped traveler, there is a ramp on the side of the bar to aid in entry to the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrandmaSanAntonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,088 reviews
0.2 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
279 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and Waterfront Collection
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and ...
#10 of 12 in Mackinac Island
264 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
783 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake View Hotel

Address: 7452 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range: £131 - £362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake View Hotel is located on timeless Mackinac Island. Our hotel is conveniently located downtown, making your favorite shops, restaurants and ferry lines just a walk away. We feature 85 newly upgraded guest rooms, the only indoor, heated pool on the island, free wireless internet, and a Continental Breakfast. We pride ourselves in meeting and exceeding our guests needs while not forgetting our historical past. As a guest at the Lake View hotel you will enjoy 32” LCD Flat screen televisions, new plush mattresses, pillows and bedding alongside our Victorian style decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lake View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake View Mackinac Island
Hotel Lake View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing