We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean hotel but location is busy and near tourist shops and lots of people.”
Review of Lake View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lake View Hotel
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2010

This hotel it is clean and the rooms are nice but the location is not what I wanted. As soon as you step off the patio there lots of tourist and shops. You can walk down to the end of the street where there is a nice park right on lake Huron.

The hotel rooms are expensive and they are strict about cancellations and discounts. I had called to get a discount that I later saw on their web site after booking my room and they did not allow it. They claimed that the web site stated for New reservations only but that was not on the web site and was added later after I called. The resturant at the hotel "Good Fellows" was ok and we only ate there once. I think there are other places on the Island that is better value for your money.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oliver200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,056)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

991 - 997 of 1,056 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights with 2 teenagers, on 8/11-12. Two nice queen beds with no a/c, had a window fan. The weather was perfect, fan was sufficient. Spacious & clean room. Nice clean indoor pool, a spa tub and a sauna. Continental breakfast, additional $5 for omlet/person. We also enjoyed dinner, the food was good. Location is so perfect, it is right opposite Star Line ferry terminal, so getting to the hotel from ferry with 4 bikes and 4 bagpacks was very easy, just 3-4 min walk. They have bike racks on the side of the hotel, which over flowed it's capacity, but we could manage to get spaces for our 4 bikes. This hotel is on left corner of Huron street.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rajeev G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

This was my family's first trip to Mackinac Island and we absolutely loved it! I did a lot of research on Trip Advisor before booking a hotel, and I am so glad we stayed at the Lake View Hotel. You cannot beat the location, right on Main Street. Our room was big enough for my family and the beds were outstanding (I am very picky about hotel beds). One of the best things about staying on the island is the evening, after all the "day tourists" have left. We loved sitting on the big porch at night, playing cards and watching the streets quiet down.
The hotel staff was extremely friendly. Continental breakfast was OK, just enough to get you going in the morning. Take your own bike if you can. It is expensive to rent bikes all day for a family.
My kids took advantage of the pool, which was great to have after a long day of biking. I would definitely stay at Lake View again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyTraveler3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager24, General Manager at Lake View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2010

Thank you for your comments about your stay.I am happy to hear that you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your 1st vacation on the Island. At Lake View we have watched generations of families grow up as they come back year after year.Grandkids that came here with Grandma and Grandpa now bring their own children. Reading your comments, it's easy to see why.Playing cards on the long porch, enjoying the night, riding bikes, swimming in the indoor heated pool, it definitely makes spending time with the family sound like a wonderful time.
We all appreciate each and every guest and respect their opinions. Many of the changes we have made have been to the Lake View Hotel have been suggested by our guests first.

Hope to see you and your family next year!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

The location was great - close to shops, restaurants, and the Star Line Ferry. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The pool was a huge plus on our one rainy morning. The included breakfast was adequate - cereals, yogurt, bagels, pastries - and you could get a large, made-to-order omelette for only $5. We had a second floor turret room which was very clean and spacious.
The one drawback was the air conditioning. The room was outfitted with an ac unit that stood in the room (like a space heater only for cooling). It did a fine job keeping the room comfortable, but was loud and the condensation tank had to be emptied every three hours or the unit turned itself off. The nights on the island were cool so while this was an inconvenience, we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kstec2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

The Lakeview was fine but we especially liked the location...at the W end of Main St. Pretty quiet for sleeping; across the street from Sheplers and Star ferries; easy walk to anywhere from Arch Rock, the Fort, Grand Hotel. Missed contl brkfast & did not eat in the restaurant. Atrium pool is handy for kids/rainy days. Staff was nice, but do think it's cheesy to charge $17 for a rollaway cot. Room is adequate and clean but no TajMahal for the $- just how it is on the island, but if you're going back & forth on the ferry, consider the cost. We would return to the Lakeview.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denidub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager24, General Manager at Lake View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2010

Location is obviously very important all the time but it is a must on Mackinac Island! Thank you for letting people know about some of the great places to see while on the Island and how easy it is to get where you want to go from the Lake View Hotel. We have been blessed with a very warm summer this year and as a trade off we have to endure some rainy days as well(good for the grass, not so great for the vacationer).It appears from your comments you received some of the rain, thank goodness you were able to take advantage of the indoor pool. It's always nice to have a plan B, especially when you have children. I read over your comments regarding the rollaway. I know that many times when families travel they often need an extra bed to accomodate everyone. When I reserve rooms for families that need the extra bed, I always suggest one of our turret rooms. A turret room gives you extra space to move around and some have sleeper sofas that sleep one to two people. When you call to reserve your room in the future, ask about the turret rooms, I think it might be a great fit for you and would eliminate the rollaway cost you mentioned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

You can't beat the location of this hotel. Right across the street from the Star line ferry at the end of the main shopping district. The king room that I had was more then spacious, I have stayed in smaller for more money. The price was reasonable when you consider that you are on an island with a limited number of rooms and only have pay once for ferry service while spending multiple days on the island.. The AC was noisy but if it had not been unusually humid I would have had the AC off and just opened the window. Pool was good and I enjoyed that during the day when the streets were full (see below). The community balconies were nice places to read a book and people watch. I am already looking forward to coming back.

If you have never been to the island here are a couple of tips:
Bring warm clothes even if is the middle of summer. Mid 80's are considered hot days and the nights are chilly.
If you bring your own bike (I would recommend that) and don’t have a kick stand buy a cheep one at a bike shop. There are not a lot of bike stands so you end up parking on the street and can't lay your bike down.
Bring a rain coat/poncho. The island has a lot of horses, horses leave presents on the streets and when it rains or has rained you bike tires leave a track of water and horse right up your back if you don't have fenders.
When everyone is shopping downtown and riding around the island during the day ride on the streets and paths on the interior of the island. Then when the day visitors leave around dinner time go shopping and ride the exterior of the island.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hijkMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager24, General Manager at Lake View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2010

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. I love to hear about our guests' experiences.
Mackinac Island is definitely a unique experience.While staying with usyou can fill your days with activities, sight-seeing, and shopping or fill your day with relaxing at our pool or reading a book on one of our balconies. I really loved your tips, especially about the fenders on the bikes.I hope everyone that reads your comments and tips takes that one to heart!!!
Thanks again, hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2010

We loved this hotel, especially the big rocking chairs on the front porch. It has a nice pool area with hot tub and sauna. It closes at 10. There is a decent continental breakfast in the connected restaurant "Goodfellows." We stayed in a room (turret, I think) with two beds and a pull-out couch. There was also a huge jacuzzi tub in the bathroom. When my kids walked into the room they yelled, "Awesome!" We had a portable air conditioner in the room. If it doesn't work, it's because you need to empty the tank in the bottom. Super easy, no problem. We just loved the atmosphere here. We actually all fell asleep on the big porch rockers!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank james67gang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager24, General Manager at Lake View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2010

We have many families that stay with us every season. The turret style rooms we have our among the top picks for families with kids and I am happy to hear that you and your kids enjoyed your stay with us.
Many guests have fallen asleep in our rocking chairs.I think the relaxing klip klop of the horses and the fresh air have something to do with it, but, I also believe that there is a certain peace of mind that people have while staying here that allows them to completely relax and enjoy the moment,
Thank you for your comments, I look forward to seeing your family during your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,090 reviews
0.2 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
279 reviews
0 mi away
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and Waterfront Collection
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and ...
#10 of 12 in Mackinac Island
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
539 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
739 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake View Hotel

Address: 7452 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range: £136 - £486 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake View Hotel is located on timeless Mackinac Island. Our hotel is conveniently located downtown, making your favorite shops, restaurants and ferry lines just a walk away. We feature 85 newly upgraded guest rooms, the only indoor, heated pool on the island, free wireless internet, and a Continental Breakfast. We pride ourselves in meeting and exceeding our guests needs while not forgetting our historical past. As a guest at the Lake View hotel you will enjoy 32” LCD Flat screen televisions, new plush mattresses, pillows and bedding alongside our Victorian style decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lake View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake View Mackinac Island
Hotel Lake View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing