We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel right in the action”
Review of Lake View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lake View Hotel
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2010

We stayed at the Lake View Hotel for a quick weekend trip to Mackinac Island. We chose the hotel because of its location and the indoor swimming pool. All in all, it was a good trip. It was great being able to walk out the door and be in the middle of everything, the kids loved the pool, our room was a nice size for the four of us, and we enjoyed the continental breakfast at Goodfellows.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClevelandKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ashleesales, Director of Sales at Lake View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2010

Thank you for your great comments about the hotel. The indoor pool is always a plus, because you never know when its going to rain or be cold on the island. Thats the good thing about being located in Lake Huron. Im glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed the hotel, and all the shops located around us. Hope to see you agian soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,055)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

983 - 989 of 1,055 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2010

This was, I think, our 5th or 6th visit to the Lake View. We love it there. This time we decided to go with the bigger room. We had a Tourret room with 2 beds and a pull out sleeper. It was so much bigger than the regular rooms. Even with a fold out cot, we had plenty of room to walk around. Room was clean and the beds were very comfortable (I think they updated their mattresses recently). The pool is great for a rainy day. We ate in the main restaurant, Goodfellows, and everything was wonderful. I can see us staying anywhere else on the island. The rates are reasonable and the hotel is great, compared to what we've experienced other places.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tkoz73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ashleesales, Director of Sales at Lake View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2010

We greatly appericate your business year after year. my biggest saying is "come in as guests, leave as family." We cant wait to see you agian next season, and make sure you let us know that your coming up, and we will give you a big Lake View Welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

I really enjoyed my two nights at the Lake View Hotel, i loved the victorian furniture, how the shops were close, also very close to the ferry. It was fun to rent a bicycle. Do have lunch at the Grand Hotel, it was amazing, also the tour by carriage thru the state park. I enjoyed going to the places where the movie Somewhere In Time was shot. I was a magical moment for me.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newhome2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

We stayed at the Lake View at the end of Septmeber for 3 nights. We paid approximately $178 a night for one of the turret rooms, Rm. 400. It was charming and perfect with a great view. The decor is very antique-y and victorian and the room was spacious. The beds were very comfortable. I know some the other reviews complained about the AC, but ours was a brand new LG AC and Heater. We used the AC during the day and the heater during the night. It worked perfectly. We had no complaints with the hotel. The location is fantastic, the staff was very welcoming and polite, and we would reccomend!
Since we were there at the end of the season, the hotel and island was busy but not busting... a perfect time to visit!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redpepper74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2010

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was beautiful, roomy and comfortable. We especially liked the towels shaped into hearts on our bed. Loved waking up to the sound of the horses hoofs clip-clopping outside our window. Easily accessible to the ferry docks, stores and carriage tours. We only ate the complimentary breakfast which had a large selection of choices.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet53009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Starting with a positive, the location was good, if you like to be in the busy part of a tourist island. Very near the Ferry Boat Dock.

On a hot or humid day, it requires trips to empty the de-humidifier, which is supposed to be an air conditioner of sorts. During the night, expect to awake at least once in a warm room to empty to tank of water again. Not very convenient or effective form of A/C

Price is too high for the age, amenities, limited breakfast included, service, etc. Having a pool does not make up for the lesser parts of this old hotel.

Probably this would be a good place to spend the day, like many do to view the island, and stay elsewhere - Sault Ste Marie is only about 1 1/2 north and Traverse City only about 2 hr. SW on Lake Michigan.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John-Kingwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

This was our second stay at the Lakeview Hotel, and ironically we think we were in the same room as on our first visit! If you can afford the price, staying on the island is a wonderful experience.
The good:
Great location across from the ferry dock (Shepler's and the Star Line) and right in town.
An indoor pool and hot tub, so a great choice for families with children.
Clean.
Comfortable bed.
Free continental breakfast which includes yogurt, granola, apples, oranges, bananas, milk, juice, coffee, pre-made waffles, english muffins, and "store bought" pastries. Not great, but good enough. Made-to-order omelets are available for $5.
We had a nice dinner at the hotel restaurant, Goodfellow's. It's expensive, but there is a discount for those staying at the hotel.
Great outdoor porch, and outdoor seating in the restaurant.
$25 fee if reservation is cancelled more than three days before visit; no refund if less than three days. This is more lenient than many other hotels on the island.
We arrived at 12:30 and our room wasn't ready; we went out for lunch, and when we returned an hour later, the room was ready and the bell hop had put our bags in our room. I appreciated the convenience.
The bad:
Older, dated furnishings. The carpet in our room was stained. The room looked pretty much the same as I remembered it from 8 years ago, although the TV was newer.
Our room was not air conditioned (some rooms do have AC). This didn't bother us, but I know it is important to some people.
Service in the restaurant didn't seem overly friendly, maybe because they were so busy.
Price - our room was $256, including taxes, for two adults and our teenage son for a mid-week visit in August. For us, staying on the island was worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IlliniTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,088 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
738 reviews
0 mi away
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and Waterfront Collection
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and ...
#10 of 12 in Mackinac Island
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
279 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
538 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake View Hotel

Address: 7452 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range: £134 - £354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake View Hotel is located on timeless Mackinac Island. Our hotel is conveniently located downtown, making your favorite shops, restaurants and ferry lines just a walk away. We feature 85 newly upgraded guest rooms, the only indoor, heated pool on the island, free wireless internet, and a Continental Breakfast. We pride ourselves in meeting and exceeding our guests needs while not forgetting our historical past. As a guest at the Lake View hotel you will enjoy 32” LCD Flat screen televisions, new plush mattresses, pillows and bedding alongside our Victorian style decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lake View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake View Mackinac Island
Hotel Lake View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing