We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome experience! Loved the hotel, loved the island!”
Review of Lake View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lake View Hotel
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin, USA
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Awesome experience! Loved the hotel, loved the island!”
Reviewed 5 November 2010

My husband and I traveled to Mackinac Island for a three day, two night trip for our first anniversary! We booked the Lake View after several of our "first" choices were already full 3 weeks prior to our trip. Needless to say, I think it was meant to be because we were quite impressed with the hotel! We got a great deal with a "no cancellations/upfront payment" price -- about $164 per night, staying Sunday and Monday nights. The location is very easy--right across the street from the Star Line ferry docks. We got off the ferry and were immediately at the hotel. The bag service was seamless and check in was quick!

The room was Victorian style, with two queen beds. Our room overlooked the atrium where the pool and hot tub are. It was really nice to have a swim and sit in the hot tub after a whirlwind day of biking and hiking. The bathroom was very clean and everything worked great. Since it was September, we didn't need to use the A/C at all and chose to crack the window to hear the sound of the horses clip clopping along outside. We thought it added to the charm! Beds were comfy and we slept great.

The continental breakfast at Goodfellow's wasn't the best I have ever eaten but it filled us up, was free and was convenient so can't complain! They had an assortment of muffins, bread, cereal, etc. They offered $5 omelettes but we didn't have those.

All in all, we were quite pleased with the hotel. We loved Mackinac Island and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cworld26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager24, Director of Sales at Lake View Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2010
Thank you so much for letting us be a part of your first anniversary. I hope that we exceeded your expectations. It gives us great joy when customers let us be apart of there special days. A lot of the time if we know in advance we will have something special for you ann your loved one waiting at the hotel for your arrival. Cant wait to see you agian and thank you agian for choosing the Lake View Hotel while on Mackinac!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    516
    283
    93
    39
    21
See reviews for
437
325
10
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

We stayed two nights in October. We loved that the hotel was right across the street from the ferry. We told the ferry staff which hotel we were staying at and our luggage was delivered right to our room from the ferry. The room was immaculate. Our king-size bed was very comfy. We received a discount card to use all over town. There was a very nice inside pool and hot tub. Too bad we didn't bring our swimsuits! The only downside was that you could very clearly hear the horses going by all night. In the morning a very loud tour director was gathering her group right outside in front of the hotel. The first night there was a weddin celebration that would have been very loud if we had a room around the pool. In other words, if you're a light sleeper bring ear plugs. Otherwise, we truly loved our stay.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyBulldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager24, Director of Sales at Lake View Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2010
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, Byron the Bellman Manager has been at the hotel for 15 plus years, and enjoys helping our customers in anyway possible. I am sorry to hear about the noisy wedding party, if there is ever a problem please contact our front desk and they will address the problem for you. Our mission is to make sure that all of our guests walk away happy and keep coming back year after year. We cant wait to see you agian and thank you for choosing the Lake View Hotel while in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2010

We stayed at the Lake View Hotel for a quick weekend trip to Mackinac Island. We chose the hotel because of its location and the indoor swimming pool. All in all, it was a good trip. It was great being able to walk out the door and be in the middle of everything, the kids loved the pool, our room was a nice size for the four of us, and we enjoyed the continental breakfast at Goodfellows.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClevelandKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ashleesales, Director of Sales at Lake View Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2010
Thank you for your great comments about the hotel. The indoor pool is always a plus, because you never know when its going to rain or be cold on the island. Thats the good thing about being located in Lake Huron. Im glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed the hotel, and all the shops located around us. Hope to see you agian soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macomb, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2010

This was, I think, our 5th or 6th visit to the Lake View. We love it there. This time we decided to go with the bigger room. We had a Tourret room with 2 beds and a pull out sleeper. It was so much bigger than the regular rooms. Even with a fold out cot, we had plenty of room to walk around. Room was clean and the beds were very comfortable (I think they updated their mattresses recently). The pool is great for a rainy day. We ate in the main restaurant, Goodfellows, and everything was wonderful. I can see us staying anywhere else on the island. The rates are reasonable and the hotel is great, compared to what we've experienced other places.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tkoz73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ashleesales, Director of Sales at Lake View Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2010
We greatly appericate your business year after year. my biggest saying is "come in as guests, leave as family." We cant wait to see you agian next season, and make sure you let us know that your coming up, and we will give you a big Lake View Welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby Ontario Canada
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2010

I really enjoyed my two nights at the Lake View Hotel, i loved the victorian furniture, how the shops were close, also very close to the ferry. It was fun to rent a bicycle. Do have lunch at the Grand Hotel, it was amazing, also the tour by carriage thru the state park. I enjoyed going to the places where the movie Somewhere In Time was shot. I was a magical moment for me.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newhome2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evansville, IN
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

We stayed at the Lake View at the end of Septmeber for 3 nights. We paid approximately $178 a night for one of the turret rooms, Rm. 400. It was charming and perfect with a great view. The decor is very antique-y and victorian and the room was spacious. The beds were very comfortable. I know some the other reviews complained about the AC, but ours was a brand new LG AC and Heater. We used the AC during the day and the heater during the night. It worked perfectly. We had no complaints with the hotel. The location is fantastic, the staff was very welcoming and polite, and we would reccomend!
Since we were there at the end of the season, the hotel and island was busy but not busting... a perfect time to visit!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redpepper74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petal, Mississippi
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2010

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was beautiful, roomy and comfortable. We especially liked the towels shaped into hearts on our bed. Loved waking up to the sound of the horses hoofs clip-clopping outside our window. Easily accessible to the ferry docks, stores and carriage tours. We only ate the complimentary breakfast which had a large selection of choices.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet53009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
890 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
720 reviews
0.2 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
488 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,022 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and Waterfront Collection
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and ...
#10 of 12 in Mackinac Island
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake View Hotel

Property: Lake View Hotel
Address: 7452 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake View Hotel is located on timeless Mackinac Island. Our hotel is conveniently located downtown, making your favorite shops, restaurants and ferry lines just a walk away. We feature 85 newly upgraded guest rooms, the only indoor, heated pool on the island, free wireless internet, and a Continental Breakfast. We pride ourselves in meeting and exceeding our guests needs while not forgetting our historical past. As a guest at the Lake View hotel you will enjoy 32” LCD Flat screen televisions, new plush mattresses, pillows and bedding alongside our Victorian style decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Lake View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake View Mackinac Island
Hotel Lake View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing