We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Murray Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Murray Hotel
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Reviewed 11 August 2011

This was my second time staying on the island. Both times I have stayed at the Murray and have never been disappointed. The view is great. It is in a nice location and surprisingly you dont hear a lot from all the foot traffic. All the historic photos around the hotel are great. The staff has always been super friendly. I will definitely stay here again!

The only real complaint I have is it would be nice to have free WiFi for the price of the room.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cgauss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2011

We stayed at this hotel during the Lilac Festival. It was located in the heart of town and wonderful. A little old but most of Mackinac Island is old buildings.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelNorthernMich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

My husband and I, along with two other couples stay at the Murray Hotel on Mackinac Island for three nights and we were all very pleased. The location was wonderful. It was right in the middle of the downtown. Across from the hotel was a really cool bar called the Pink Pony that was really popular at night time. The live music there was great! There was also a little grocery store a couple of doors down from the Murray. That was nice because you could pick up a bottle of wine and sit on the 2nd floor patio of the hotel and have cocktails before dinner.

There are all sorts of places on the island that sell fudge and I would say that the Murray's fudge was the best. I also kept hearing people say that as they were walking by the front of the hotel.

The rooms are VERY small, but the location and friendliness of the staff far outweighed that.

I would definitely recommend the Murray and I will book it the next time I go back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heidiwhirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We stayed at the Murray Hotel the last weekend of July. This hotel is great value for the dollar. Small rooms, but clean. AC was available (which isn't offered at a lot of hotels on the island). The buffet restaurant didn't appeal to us, but again the value of price and great location is incomparable. Would definitely book this hotel again!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel-blogger968574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

This was my first trip to Mackinac Island. It was one of my favorite places for sure! You board a passenger ferry leaving behind your car and all your worries. It seriously is like being transported in time. No cars, only bikes and horse carriages to wander around this small island paradise. We biked the entire thing stopping along the way to marvel at the beautiful water and scenery. The sunsets were stunning, and the architecture felt like browsing a candy shop. We did not have our kids with us, but this is a delightful place to bring the family, very safe and no worries about traffic or anything else. Other than biking there are museums, candy shops and more candy shops, hiking trails and kite flying.

Room Tip: The Murray is right at the docks! No transportation needed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackjettye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

We've been to Mackinac Island a few times and this last time we stayed there with the girl scouts as part of their summer camp program. We had all meals at the hotel and they were very good...for a buffet. There was nothing fancy about it. Nothing made to order, but there was a lot of eggs, meats, cereals, drinks, etc. The staff was always on the ball and made sure to restock as needed. The rooms were certainly compact, but they were nice and clean. The beds were comfortable as well. The girls especially enjoyed the spa pool. I don't really know how so many girls got into that small pool, but they were happy and cool, so that's all that mattered. Overall, it was a nice stay.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor and the rooms were mostly the same, except the ones farthest away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenMiTy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

We stayed here on July 3rd, 4th and 5th in 2011. We checked in and the people at the desk were nice. We were able to check in early without delay. The two Queen room was a decent size, but fairly "bare bones". Just a tiny TV with few channels, no phone, fridge, safe or iron. No big deal considering the price and thankfully it had a good air conditioner! NOT the portable kind that required you to empty buckets!

The breakfast buffet was about average. Nothing special. The Burrito place inside was quite good and would go there again. We never tried the lunch buffet.

Beds are clean and comfortable. My mom complained that the pillows were not soft enough, but I had no problems with them.

My only advice is that the next upgrade should be to some 37-40" LCD TVs in the deluxe rooms. In other hotels they came with them. It's nice being able to watch a movie late at night on a bigger screen. I know it's nice to save electricity, but TVs are cheap these days. Other hotels offered more channels as well. This is a budget hotel, so I guess this explains it.

I'd visit again, this is now perhaps our 2nd favorite hotel on the island (out of only 3 we tried). We may go here again to save a little money.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tdockweiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,087 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
738 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
537 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and Waterfront Collection
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and ...
#10 of 12 in Mackinac Island
263 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murray Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murray Hotel

Address: 7260 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range: £124 - £297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Murray Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Murray Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murray Hotel Mackinac Island
Murray Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing