We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice! Great location”
Review of Murray Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Murray Hotel
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Maumee, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very nice! Great location”
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Booked this hotel very last minute and I wasn't sure what to expect but I was really impressed. The location was amazing, centrally located in downtown, right across from the Arnold ferry, steps away from resturants, shops, and a very good resturant inside.
When we arrived they had a man who worked at the hotel there to take our luggage to the hotel for us.
The rooms were super clean and quant, very charming. They left cookies in the evening in your room.
You can store your luggage if you get there early or leave after checkout. That's a really great benefit.
The bed were extremely comfortable.
The workers were helpful and kind.
The pool was very small, but my kids were happy just o swim.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JenHizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    98
    44
    6
    5
See reviews for
68
120
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
327 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012 via mobile

We love the location of this hotel. It is right on the main street.
We walked to the hotel from the Star line ferry. Five minute walk with bags.
The rooms are small but clean. The bathroom was very small.
Check in was easy. They held our luggage for the day after we checked out because we spent that day on the island.
The hotel is a bit hidden. The sign says Murray Fudge out front. You walk through the small fudge show to get to the hotel.

Our only problem at this hotel was the breakfast buffet. The breakfast cost was just five dollars per person for hotel guest.
Do yourself a favor and eat somewhere else. Nothing we had was quality.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PH-Travel-Lovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

we got this as a last minute deal during the memorial day weekend. we got a very small room with a queen bed, and it had a small bathroom with a stand-in shower and toilet. the room overlooked the small pool. it had a great older times atmosphere. the staff was very friendly, and helped us to find places to eat and see. they allowed us to keep our luggage when we checked out, but still were visiting other places on the island.
it's right across arnold ferry line, so very easy to get to. has a little mexican restaurant inside and a fudge shop too.
it was a bit small, but we knew that going in to it.

Room Tip: try to ask for rooms facing the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MayaMy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, Michigan
Level Contributor
212 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

I love this place - it's homey, they have a really nice breakfast buffet. You can stash your luggage if you arrive before the room is ready. It's right down the street from the ferry landings, right on main street. The people are really friendly.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dalrutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
161 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in a queen deluxe room on our first visit to Mackinaw Island. Quaint, cozy with friendly staff. Excellent location, across from ferry and in the middle of downtown. Brought our own bikes which were safely kept right in front of hotel. Favorite experience was "Jack's Livery Drive your own Buggy" Went around the whole island in our own horse drawn buggy, very romantic and I've never seen anything like it in all of my extensive travels. Highly recommended for both rooms and buggy!

Room Tip: Get largest room available Balcony doors DO NOT open as seems in picture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marge P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Michigan
Level Contributor
166 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

The hotel was great. We had a room that overlooked the main street and th harbour. We could watch the ferry coming in form the mainland and had a beautiful sunset view. The pool area was quite, clean and refreshing after a long day of walking the island. Staff were helpful held our luggage for us on the day of check out, we took a late ferry back to mainland. We would definately return for another visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, WI
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

After several trips to this hotel, I feel like I need to share with the world, this wonderful hotel. It is the very bestof everything a hotel should be. Customer service, character, charm, and making the customer feel special.

The hotel itself has old world chram, elegance, and that warm and homey feeling we all crave. You can be as active or solitary as you want to be here. The service is wonderful, warm and inviting.

The rooms are small and cosy, but we LOVE that! The upstairs jacuzzi is awesome!
We've never had a moment where we weren't cared for from the moment we book until after we are home, including a Christmas card!

We simply love to stay here, and will return over and over......because it's simply the best!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eaner921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mackinac Island
0.2 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
0.2 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
5.5 mi away
Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#2 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murray Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murray Hotel

Property: Murray Hotel
Address: 7260 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Murray Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Murray Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murray Hotel Mackinac Island
Murray Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing