We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel; good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and Waterfront Collection
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
127 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice hotel; good location”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

This was the first time we have stayed overnight on the island. We looked on-line at several options. We chose the BIcycle Street Inn because it was new & for the location. If you want a modern feeling hotel, it is a good choice. If you are looking for a hotel to take you back in time, this isn't it. We had a room on the third floor (302) with a view of the water. The balcony has two chairs to sit outside. The room is spacious, with two beds and a chair. There is a sitting room with a couch and table. Both areas have TV's. There is a door separating the two areas, which is nice in the morning if someone is still sleeping. There is a small refrigerator & microwave. We thought it was comfortable & suited our needs. The staff was very pleasant. The first night there was a power outage that affected a large part of the island, including the hotel. The staff provided us a lantern so we weren't in the dark. The power was out 3 hours -- no fault of the hotel -- but the next day we received a coupon from them for free Sanders fudge. A nice touch. As others have said, the "deluxe" breakfast isn't deluxe. It is pretty basic: bread, english muffins, toaster french toast, yogurt, cereal, sweet bread (banana, orange).

Room Tip: There are 12 rooms facing the water. We had room 302 -- nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Familyoffourplustwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    49
    15
    2
    6
See reviews for
96
76
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago area
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed here in early July with extended family (3 rooms) and we all loved it! We had balconies overlooking downtown and the people watching is best on the island. It does quiet down late at night, so there was no noise problem. Rooms were nice and spacious. We had the rooms with a close off living area. It's extra nice when you have young kids and can close off the room when they're sleeping. Bathroom is large with a nice stand up shower and plenty of counter space. 2 TV's. We really appreciated the ability to store our bikes in the basement storage area, so we could get in and out with the bikes easily. There is open space in the atrium or lobby area if your party is in multiple rooms. Breakfast could have been better, but we make up for it with other meals plus island snacks. The staff was wonderful and next time we visit the island overnight, we hope to be able to stay there again. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for rooms overlooking Main Street if you enjoy people watching. The view is great, to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanetS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

This is a lovely new hotel with a very friendly staff and extremely quiet, clean rooms. Though we've been to the island many times, this was our first stay overnight so I can't compare it to other places to stay. But, I can tell you about our experience.
The room was a great size. Room for six which would have accommodated our whole family nicely had it not been an anniversary trip for my husband and me.
Beautiful bathroom with Philosophy bath products which was a nice treat. Spotless.
Lovely decor and comfortable beds.
Location was, of course, ideal as it was almost directly across from the Shepler's arrival spot.
We stayed at the back and the view out the glass doors was not much to brag about, but it was quiet. Smelled of horses, but it is Mackinac...
Only real complaint was breakfast. The breakfast area was a ZOO. The staff could not keep up with refilling the free breakfast items which were disappointing to begin with. We purchased a breakfast and it was fine, but certainly not noteworthy. Left breakfast feeling stressed due to the noise level, crowds, and lack of organization. Would've preferred coffee and a sweet somewhere else.
Overall, I would definitely, happily return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ajackkfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

My wife and I are a retired couple and spent 2 nights at this inn in June 2013. We had an interior room on the 3rd floor. The room/hotel is in a modern style. Our room was a nice size with a large bathroom with shower. The hotel couldn't have been more helpful. No hassles with the luggage (Our bags were picked up from the ferry an dropped off at the hotel and visa versa upon departure). The registration staff was eager to helped/assist with any questions or needs (in our case called a taxis for a luncheon at the Grand Hotel). Located on busy/convenient Main Street but our room was very quiet. Price was moderate by Island standards.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stlouisbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Although the hotel does not have amenities, who needs them on the island? It was a brand new, modern hotel. The office is a bit hidden inside the shopping arcade but it just allowed more time to sample that wonderful fudge! The rooms were very nice and comfortable and the location was perfect. Would definitely stay again. And the rooms are EXTREMELY quiet!! We were right by the elevator and didn't even notice. You can take your bike up the elevator to your room!

Room Tip: upper floor was nice because of the atrium
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank accrowder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Read the press release about the new "Luxury Hotel" on Mackinac Island and decided to give it a try. We have stayed in practically every hotel/B&B on the Island and have many,many favorites. Well, our first impression, was that we had just entered the food court at the Mall. I guess we weren't the only ones. We had reserved a deluxe, balcony waterfront room on the second floor. We entered a dull looking room with very uncomfortable/drab furniture we dubbed "the waiting room" because it reminded us of a Dr's waiting room. Very few decorative features. I don't know who was in charge of decorating the rooms, but they failed in capturing the feel of the Island. We also found the configuration of the suite strange, the bedroom is adjacent to the balcony. This makes it very difficult if you are an early riser and want to grab a coffee and sit out on the balcony without waking others. All the other hotels with balcony suites on Mackinac have the sitting/living room area next to balcony. There wasn't any table/desk with chairs to sit and have a snack/etc.

The bathroom was huge, but, again, dull décor. We received one tiny shampoo for 2 people for 5 days and they never replenished them. We had less than a half a roll of toilet paper left and they did not leave one after they cleaned the room. We had to call for shampoo and toilet paper. Never had this problem at other "luxury" hotels/B&Bs on the Island. We also had problems with air/heat. We did not have any control of the temperature in our room. It was either to cold or to warm. Our remotes weren't working properly and we noticed that they were installing temperature wall controls in other rooms(this should of been done prior to opening).

We went to the "deluxe" continental breakfast the first morning and never went back. Big disappointment.

The Staff were friendly. However, our friends staying at the Chippewa, left us a message at the front desk, which we never received.

We did enjoy our balcony and the beautiful views. Also liked the bike storage room downstairs.

I don't think we will be staying at the Bicycle Street Inn again. . .there are far to many wonderful, charming places on the Island to choose from.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank Lakeshore65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Stayed here in May after reading about this new hotel, the first one in supposedly decades to be built on the island. Anyhow, since everything was new, what could be wrong, right? Room was large enough for two people to comfortably move about which was good. No place to hang towels, pillows are way too large to be comfortable and the view (and smell) from our room of a horse rental barn left much to be desired. I can only imagine what it will be like during warm or hot days! We could hear the security fencing , which is used on the street level shops, being opened and closed. A minor detail, I know, but odd that a new hotel would not take this into consideration when being built. We didn't spend much time in the room as we have always spent as much time exploring the island as we could while there. After all, why stay anywhere like Mackinac Island if all you want to do is stay inside? The over all look from street level is totally NOT Mackinac Island. Our first impression, and the first impression of others we met during our stay, was reminiscent of any food court in any shopping mall anywhere. And when we saw it at night with the fencing drawn closed we felt like we were actually walking through a mall. Definitely NOT A MACKINAC EXPERIENCE and so unlike the other hotels and B&B's we've stayed in over the years. It looks out of place, like someone is trying to change the look of the downtown instead of using some imagination to tactfully blend in. Pricey, but everything on the island is and the supposed "deluxe" breakfast was nothing more than the basic continental breakfast offered at most places on the island. Will not stay here again or recommend it to our like-minded friends who want to 'feel' the island for its charm and history, not to eat at a mall food court! This place, although new, comes with no more room amenities than some of the other hotels, ranks near the bottom of our list when it comes to cozy and/or charming and most definitely does not make us want to stay there again, due in large part to the feel of being in a modern day mall which just happens to have hotel rooms above it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank marcus m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.0 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
857 reviews
0.3 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
730 reviews
0.1 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
918 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
666 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and Waterfront Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and Waterfront Collection

Property: Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and Waterfront Collection
Address: 7416 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and Waterfront Collection 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located on Main Street in the center of downtown Mackinac Island, Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and Waterfront Collection features 56 air conditioned guest rooms and suites ranging up to an astonishing 700 square feet. Accommodations include balcony rooms with direct waterfront and Main Street views, and balcony suites with panoramic views of the Straits of Mackinac, Main Street, and interior island views. Our suites sleep up to six persons in one and two bedded rooms with premium bedding and a separate living room with sofa/sleeper. All rooms and suites offer walk-in glass showers, coffee-maker, fridge, microwave, and 42" flat panel televisions. Our newly expanded skylit atrium radiates light to our first floor lobby and mezzanine level featuring seven new luxury guest rooms. We have a newly renovated restaurant - Winchester's, for craft food and drink, and Sanders Candy Shop. Additional hotel amenities include a fitness center with available massage therapy, business center, guest laundry, and indoor bike storage. Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and Waterfront Collection is delightfully reminiscent of an earlier era, yet has all the modern touches you desire for a heightened travel experience. For comfort, style and sophistication, stay with Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and Waterfront Collection ~ the place "where suite dreams come true". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and Waterfront Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing