We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place! Just make sure you know what you're getting into!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Inn at Stonecliffe
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor, MI
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place! Just make sure you know what you're getting into!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2008

I stayed here for a few nights and it was an excellent experience. The hotel - "bed and breakfast" is a stretch, even though breakfast is provided every morning for free - has several different buildings that are not attached. I stayed in the Summer House. The room was pricey - i don't think you'll ever get it for much less than $200 a night, and it's often more. Fortunately, the room is in great condition. Comfortable bed and perfectly clean. The grounds are beautifully landscaped. Very nostalgic design. Felt like I was in Pleasantville.

This is the **perfect** place to go if you want a secluded retreat. If you want to escape the fast pace of daily life, this is the place for you. However, don't underestimate the fact that this place is truly secluded. It's 2 miles or so from the main business stretch of Mackinac Island - where you'll find dining and shopping options. That wouldn't be a big deal normally, except the only mode of transportation on the island is bikes or horses. Cars are outlawed. (If you don't know this, perhaps you don't know what you're getting yourself into on Mackinac Island.)

Horse shuttle rides run nearly $7 per person, each way. (And these are not romantic carriage rides, which cost much more.) They travel barely faster than a walking pace. The hotel rents bikes at a mind boggling rate of $35 a day each. If you have the ability to bring your own bike to the island, the chances that you'll regret it are slim.

Lastly, be cautious about using this hospital if you need to have Internet access. Wireless worked for me, but other hotel patrons I talked to had problems connecting.

This hotel is a terrific option for someone who is looking to get away. However, if you don't have the patience to take time to get where you want to go, this isn't the place for you.

  • Liked — Beautiful rooms!
  • Disliked — Remote location
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank EarlKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    99
    30
    20
    10
See reviews for
115
214
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
142 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2008

Our third year returning to Stonecliffe, and it will certainly not be our last. The property is beautifully maintained; the Summer House suites the perfect size for our family of five, and the location two miles out of town--for us--is perfect.

We have learned that the best option for us is to bring our own bikes to the island. It costs $7 to bring them over on the ferry, but when you're staying several days (we stayed five nights this last time) it makes alot of $en$e!! It IS a two-mile ride to Stonecliffe (the majority is all uphill) but by bike it takes only about fifteen minutes (and that includes walking your bike up the Grand Hotel hill). On the property there is plenty of room to ride around, and the kids enjoyed having their own bikes to play on.

One reason we regularly return to Stonecliffe is the extensive Mackinac trails that run through the property. You are very close to Sunset Rock; and there are trails down to the water (not a beach-just the water line). From Stonecliffe you are are ideally situated to explore the island via trails or bike paths; every morning we planned our route, took lots of water and headed off for adventure! We typically ate a late lunch in town, then headed back for an afternoon in the pool. Dinner at the Inn was always good, and the grill at the pool a nice substitute.

This past visit we witnessed no fewer than five weddings. We even had the opportunity to reassure a nervous groom over morning coffee on the terrace (my favorite morning spot, overlooking the bridge)! Despite the number of weddings, we never felt that we missed out on anything as guests of the hotel, and noted that most guests loved the sight of a happy couple and were very respectful of the wedding parties. Both of our daughters have told us they will get married there, and we have to agree there is no lovelier place on the island (with the exception, perhaps, of the gazebo from Somewhere in Time near the fort :-)

The staff is fabulous, the food great, the rooms clean, the balconies huge, the front lawn incredible for games of tag, and the out of town location ideal for those who want a quiet holiday. We quickly get on island time (S....L....O....W...) when staying at the Inn (no internet
-ack! but yes to cell phones, btw) which is exactly what our family needs. The kids are now 12, 6 & 8 and our yearly trip to Stonecliffe is a tradition we won"t give up!

  • Liked — Distance from town--quiet!
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kadelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2007

We were supposed to stay at the Inn at Stonecliffe in August, 2007 as a part of a 3 month tour around the US. However, 2 days prior to our stay, our car had a catastrophic break down and we were forced to cancel the part of our trip which included the Inn. I immediately called the Inn and informed them. They expressed their sympathy. When I requested that they refund my deposit, they said they would hold the deposit until the end of the season (October, 2007) in hopes that we would be able to stay at a later time, but if not, at that time they would refund. I felt this was quite understanding on the part of the Inn since they have a non-refundable policy.

When I did a follow-up email to let them know we were not going to be able to reschedule at a later date, I received a response from management indicating they would hold my deposit until the end of the season but it would never be refunded. I emailed them back explaining the person I spoke with at the Inn had told me I would receive a refund at the end of the season. This email went to the manager of the Inn, as well as the assist manager who sent the refusal email. They never even bothered to respond to my email!

I find it is difficult to understand why during high season, they felt they had to be so unflexible regarding refunding my deposit of over $200, since I am sure they rebooked the room. But, even more, I find it unbelievable they never bothered to respond to my email. They can now be certain that I will never stay with them - nor will I ever be able to recommend them to anyone.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
11 Thank natemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
(At Heart in the Keweenaw) Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2007

One of the things that really struck me about the Inn at Stonecliffe was the beauty of the property. It's a ways from town, and set back in the woods, but it is also on a bluff that overlooks the Straits of Mackinac, and the bridge. This is beautiful at any time of day, and especially at sunset. In addition, the architecture of the main house and the Summer House, where we stayed, was very elegant and graceful.

We had a Deluxe Suite in the Summer House, with a small water view (no bridge, unfortunately). The room was bright, clean, and comfortable, but the real selling point was the balcony. It was spacious, and sitting out on there in the evening, feeling the cool breeze, was extremely relaxing.

There aren't many restaurants by Stonecliffe, which, combined with the ten-minute bike ride from town, is a bit unfortunate. However, the dinner buffet that the hotel offers is quite good, and the warm breakfast (particularly the french toast!) is incredible.

I'm definitely going back to the Inn as soon as possible.

  • Liked — Its beauty and distance from town
  • Disliked — Its distance from town
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank RubberBandGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2007

Our family had a wedding at the Inn at Stonecliffe in August 2007. The Coordinator, Michele Bolen, was outstanding in her organization, her attention to our specific and unique individual wedding requests and needs, and her attention to the wedding site in the grotto as well the actual performance of it. The quality of food and beverages were excellent. The owner and staff put a great deal of effort and heart into making our wedding special. My daughter, who works in an architectural firm and does interior decorating also, constructed an early vision for the entire wedding and reception which turned out glorious. Not one of us early on could see that vision as clearly with her, but we were all so surprised at the outcome. She also researched the many Island wedding vendors and selected the ones that together accentuated a beautiful wedding and reception. Many guests exclaimed that it was the best wedding they had ever been to. The colors, decorative nuances and "alternative" specialties were so well developed and also coordinated with the unique nature of Mackinac Island and the outdoor beauty of the Inn at Stonecliffe which overlooks expansive Lake Michigan and the Mackinac Bridge. The Inn room was spacious and elegant. Those who stayed at the nearby Sunset Condos were also happy with their accommodations.
The wedding staff were courteous, professional and also appropriately excited in their service. Michele coordinated both the reception and the ceremony very well, and all went off w/o a glitch. Though at first we thought that the cost for the Stonecliffe wedding would be high, in the end it was worth every penny and was very affordable in comparison.

  • Liked — Beautiful views
  • Disliked — bike rental costs
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank WanderingWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minneapolis
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2007

The Inn at Stonecliffe is an amazing place that reminds you to take a deep breath, relax, and just slow down.

We stayed in the summer house. Which was spacious, clean, and had a carpeted patio with a beautiful view. There was AC and a television in the room, but we barely watched TV the whole time there. My only gripe about the inn is I think that the rooms are a tad bit overpriced ( 285/night).

The staff is very courteous and was very accommodating and helpful during the trip. The full cooked breakfast served at the inn is pretty decent. The dinner was fabulous and very well presented, but you need reservations.

The hotel is remote and that seems to be a complaint of previous posters. However, with that being said I think that is the whole point of stonecliffe. If you want something in town, then book something in town. While there we rented bikes, walked, or took a taxi. It does add up so be prepared for that if you want to stay here. Besides that the grounds are so peaceful, and the back porch is a great place to sip coffee and talk for hours. The location is not a negative; it is what makes this place unique.

  • Liked — Views,location,staff
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank minniapplegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2007

The Inn at Stonecliffe offered an amazing experience for myself and my fiance. We have both visited Mackinaw Island since childhood and never realize that a place like this existed on the island!
We stayed in the older part of the hotel and enjoyed the fact that each room had a unique design (no TV or AC). Since it is a smaller hotel, there is a great opportunity to know the staff and other guests on a first name basis if you choose. There is only one restaurant and it requires reservations for dinner because it is so small. (There is a german restaurant w/in walking distance but we were told it was pretty expensive.) We were not able to eat at the hotel because of our late arrival. However the staff called us a taxi to town ($6.50 per person, each way, 20-40 minute ride) and we enjoyed a cocktail in the hotel library while we waited 10 minutes for a taxi. We enjoyed our night out downtown so much that we slept through the free breakfast. No worries, we were able to lounge by the pool and enjoy food from the grill during the day (great burgers).
The only downfall was the distance from town. During the day we were able to walk the 2 miles in 30 minutes. The trip into town is mostly down hill. Walking to the hotel from the docks, you will encounter many hills. I recommend walking downtown at least once, as you will find unique sights off the beaten track that are not visible from the carriage ride.
All in all, our trip was wonderful. After our visit we have decided to plan our wedding here! The resort offers a much quieter vacation. There are many trails around the island as well as golf and bike rentals for the active vacationer. For the more relaxed visitor, the hotel offers wonderful views, a great pool, as well as peace and quiet for a good book or conversation.

  • Liked — views of Mackinaw Bridge, unique accommodations
  • Disliked — distance from downtown
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank lismelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
1.5 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
1.7 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
1.6 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#1 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
1.5 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Stonecliffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Stonecliffe

Property: The Inn at Stonecliffe
Address: 8593 Cudahy Cir, PO Box 338, Mackinac Island, MI 49757-5130
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Stonecliffe 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Stonecliffe enjoys a storied place in Mackinac Island history. Built in 1904 as a family summer escape by industrialist Michael Cudahy, Stonecliffe has enchanted guests for nearly half a century. Situated high on the west bluff, Inn at Stonecliffe lodging comprises a classic Tudor-style mansion that offers 16 bed and breakfast style guest rooms, and the more modern Summer House Suites, with 31 richly appointed suites decorated in a classic summer cottage style with a light Victorian influence. Overnight visitors to Mackinac Island often observe that the best time to enjoy the island is in the early morning or late evening when the last ferry has carried the daily visitors back to the mainland. At The Inn at Stonecliffe, you’ll enjoy that feeling every moment of your stay. Anywhere you turn, tranquility and relaxation await, from the breathtaking bluff-top views of the Straits of Mackinac and Mackinac Bridge to the Inn’s lush, rolling lawns.Special Services and / or Features: • Breakfast Included• Air Conditioning• Onsite Dining and Cocktail Lounge• Weddings and Events• Kitchenettes• Bike Rentals • Cable Television• Outdoor Heated Pool• Private Baths• Telephones• Complimentary Wireless Internet• Non Smoking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn at Stonecliffe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Stonecliffe Hotel Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing