We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the ride” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn at Stonecliffe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Inn at Stonecliffe
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Canton, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth the ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Very enjoyable stay! After checking in we were ready to eat. The maitre d' was very gracious and accommodating to us. Especially with our indecisive start to dinner! Our stay encountered terrible weather, which is to say it was very hot and humid without a whisper of wind, unusual for the island. Well we first thought of eating on the patio, but as mentioned the weather was less than ideal, so we asked the maitre d' if we could move inside. He graciously accommodated us, we chose the bar area where the Detroit Tiger game was on which suited our eight year old baseball crazy son just fine. However a couple of other gentlemen arrived and their talk was a little loud and we again asked to move. Without a second thought, the maitre d' moved the fussiest family at the Inn to the main dining room which was quieter and actually near a portable air conditioner!
And let's not forget about my son! The most awesome bartender on the island came running into the dining room and gave him scoring updates from the Tiger game as they happened!

Do stay in the summer house for the air conditioned rooms!

Room Tip: Get a room with air conditioning in the summer house. It can get hot and humid on the island!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    99
    30
    20
    10
See reviews for
115
214
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

The Inn at Stonecliffe is the gem of the island. The staff is wonderful and our room was so spacious and quiet. We've learned to take our bikes for the trip from downtown to Stonecliffe, but they have bikes to rent as well. It's worth the ride up to get away from the hustle and bustle of downtown. We even rode downtown for some night life and had no problem biking back up in the wee hours. You're going to need lights on your bike. You can take the "taxi", but it's faster to bike it. The horses do take breaks, but that's the same with all of them. Regarding the porters, well we've had them bring our bags to the room. There's a lot of guests coming at once so if you have to wait a little bit, be patient. They will get there. We've never had a problem and don't forget to tip them well. The bartender, Johnathan, is well versed in providing the drink you want and even the one you can't imagine. The food is better than what you would pay for at the Grand or the nearby Woods. I found the front desk staff to be so helpful and friendly while checking in. They even allowed us to check in early since our room was ready. I love the Inn at Stonecliffe because whether you are there in a sports jacket or jeans and a t-shirt, you will get the best service from people who seem like they love their job. If you haven't stayed there you're missing out on a spectacular place.

Room Tip: Why would you need a fitness center when you have trails to bike or walk. Just being on the island i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timbuktu, Mali
Level Contributor
97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Secluded - Summer House very clean with newer rooms and mansion is stylish. Good continental breakfast and restaurant next door is very good. Great location, nice grounds, great view. Biking trails nearby. Beats the crowds downtown.

Room Tip: Second floor of the Summer house has water/bridge views from the deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend getaway and I wouldn't stay anywhere else. Though Mackinac is only 8 miles across, there is still so much more to the island than the downtown area and the Grand Hotel. The Inn at Stonecliffe is nestled about two miles out from the downtown area, overlooking the gorgeous water and in a private, magical setting all its own. You have the serenity of being away from the hustle and bustle of the hot spot of the island, yet you're still close enough to get into "town" by a 15 minute bike ride, or a brisk walk through the trees. Stonecliffe is a hidden gem on the island, with a personality all its own! The staff is upbeat, friendly, and just as happy to be in this dream of a place as its guests. We loved it and will always stay here for our Mackinac Island trips!

Room Tip: For a more back in time, one of a kind feel, choose to stay in the actual mansion. For a more modern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TR F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fenton, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

This Inn has everything: an excellent helpful staff, beautiful property, stunning sunsets, and amazing food! We stayed in the summer house with a wonderful view of the water.The staff at the Stonecliffe went out of their way to make sure our stay was fantastic! For me, this is the perfect place to stay on the island. You can take a quick ride downtown when you are in the mood for shopping or a night out, or you can get away from it all and roam through the expansive gardens which surround the property.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RVilleneuve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
48 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed at the Inn at Stonecliff on the 24th and 25th of August and our experience was very good. The rooms in the manor house were old-fashioned but clean and everything worked properly. Our room looked right out at the Mackinaw Bridge. The staff was helpful and attentive. The pool was very small but adequate. We rented bikes from the hotel for a very reasonable $5/hr but they were "fixies" so it made going up hills incredibly hard. For dinner we skipped the in house restaurant and walked across the front lawn to the Woods restaurant which was very good as well. The free breakfast the next morning was also definitely good enough to get us going. The only real downside is the hotel is quite far from downtown and the carriage rides take anywhere from 25 to 40 minutes (we took four trips, one took 25, one took 35, two took 40). For people with no need for the downtown area this place is a gem.

Room Tip: Stay in the manor house unless it's during a heat wave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJRobNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escanaba, Michigan
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Everything was really comfortable and nice. Beautiful view of the Mackinac Bridge. We stayed in a suite in the summer home, which was a slight walk from the main mansion. Beautiful night with shooting stars. Found a half eaten candy bar in the room, that was the only drawback.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank duecenewton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#5 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,380 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
1.7 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#2 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
1.6 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
1.4 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Stonecliffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Stonecliffe

Property: The Inn at Stonecliffe
Address: 8593 Cudahy Cir, PO Box 338, Mackinac Island, MI 49757-5130
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Stonecliffe 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Stonecliffe enjoys a storied place in Mackinac Island history. Built in 1904 as a family summer escape by industrialist Michael Cudahy, Stonecliffe has enchanted guests for nearly half a century. Situated high on the west bluff, Inn at Stonecliffe lodging comprises a classic Tudor-style mansion that offers 16 bed and breakfast style guest rooms, and the more modern Summer House Suites, with 31 richly appointed suites decorated in a classic summer cottage style with a light Victorian influence. Overnight visitors to Mackinac Island often observe that the best time to enjoy the island is in the early morning or late evening when the last ferry has carried the daily visitors back to the mainland. At The Inn at Stonecliffe, you’ll enjoy that feeling every moment of your stay. Anywhere you turn, tranquility and relaxation await, from the breathtaking bluff-top views of the Straits of Mackinac and Mackinac Bridge to the Inn’s lush, rolling lawns.Special Services and / or Features: • Breakfast Included• Air Conditioning• Onsite Dining and Cocktail Lounge• Weddings and Events• Kitchenettes• Bike Rentals • Cable Television• Outdoor Heated Pool• Private Baths• Telephones• Complimentary Wireless Internet• Non Smoking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Inn at Stonecliffe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Stonecliffe Hotel Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing