We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Inn at Stonecliffe
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Grand Hotel(Mackinac Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa(Mackinac Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
Murray Hotel(Mackinac Island)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake View Hotel(Mackinac Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront(Mackinac Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Iroquois(Mackinac Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Island House Hotel(Mackinac Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Harbour View Inn(Mackinac Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (539)
Filter reviews
539 results
Traveller rating
338
123
37
29
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
338
123
37
29
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssummer housemackinac bridgemanor housebeautiful mansionstone cliffsunset rockmain mansionback porchwoods restaurantcarriage rideoff the beaten pathhorse drawn taxidowntown areaaway from the hustle and bustlerented bikesour honeymoongrand hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
356 - 361 of 539 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The Inn at Stonecliffe is about a 30 minute carriage ride from the docks. It is secluded, quiet, private and very romantic. The staff are top notch. The food is excellent at the restaurant. The grounds are spectacular! Beautifully manicured. Several walking paths. Make sure to go to the look out. You will not be disappointed. An absolutely stunning view of the Mackinac Bridge. The back 9 holes of the Golf course is right next door. We will definitely be returning! Thank you, Daniel, for making sure we were well taken care of!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

My husband and I were here for our honeymoon October 8th through the 10th as part of our northern Michigan tour. This was definitely the perfect place for our romantic getaway. With scenic views of Mackinac Bridge, as well as the beautifully manicured grounds complete with multiple walking trails, Stonecliffe far exceeded our expectations. The staff we encountered were all very accomodating, from Gerald who made sure our luggage was brought up in a timely manner, to Caleb who kindly tagged our bags for our return trip and also helped us in choosing the best bikes for our tour around the island. I would also like to say a special thanks to Karen, who was very informative, and kindly upgraded us to an even nicer room. Also, to Stefanie, the GM of Stonecliffe, who chatted with my husband and I on one of our taxi rides back, even though it was her evening off. She took the time to fill us in on some of the best areas on the island to visit, including the most scenic sunset viewing area.
All-in-all, Stonecliffe was defnitely an excellent option for our stay. The only advice I would give to guests trying to decide where to stay is to
1. Be mindful of the distance to the mansion. While easily accessible on nicely paved roads, just be mindful that a little extra cash will need to be shelled out to pay for taxis, or bikes should be rented. However, the walk up to the mansion is absolutely beautiful.
2. Keep in mind that there are two options for Stonecliffe; the mansion and the summerhouse. Our original room (before we were upgraded) was in the mansion. While the view was INCREDIBLE, the room is a bit more dated and does not have central AC, which is not really an issue in October, but may be in July. The summerhouse, which may not have the same views as the mansion, does offer large, comfortable, rooms, some of which contain whirlpools, as well as AC. Both options are wonderful, it just depends on what you're looking for in a room.

We are looking forward to spending many future anniversaries enjoying Stonecliffe!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

My husband and I go to Mackinac each year in October and we try out a different inn or b& b each time. Stoneciffe has been our absolute favorite! If we could have given them 6 stars we would have! It was a very scenic 2 mile ride up to Stonecliffe, you are far away from the hustle and bustle of town, its very quiet and tranquil.

We were worried about having to haul our luggage 2 miles but some one from Stonecliffe met us at the dock and arranged to have it carried up, and delivered to our room. When we checked in the staff was very knowledgeable and told us some excellent places to ride our bikes, and they were beautiful routes! The best part was our room. We were assigned to the "Straights" room at the top of the stairs in the manor. It was huge with high vaulted ceilings, very roomy and a gorgeous view of the Mackinac Bridge (which at night/sunset was epic, we would definitely recommend a bridge view room). It was spotless and very clean. We were impressed.

I was worried about some of the reviews saying it was loud and noisy. They do hold weddings there on the weekend, and i'm sure thats part of the problem, we stayed mid week, and it was very quiet perfect for some down time and relaxation. We brought our bikes so it wasn't much of a hassle as far as getting to and from down town, it was about a 10 min. ride from the main street. We were worried about how it would be riding back at night, we had dinner and drinks and went back later after dark, but there are street lamps all the way up and we didn't have a problem. We were told by the staff that if you don't have bikes it is a $6.50 ride to and from downtown in a carriage. Which isn't terrible considering you would pay just as much for a taxi in the city. And a carriage taxi ride under the stars is much more quaint than a real cab. We will be staying there next year for sure. We had an amazing stay!

Room Tip: Straights Room
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NatalieMalinowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Couldn't have been treated better. The General Mgr Stefanie Congdon was very proud of her Inn. She showed us around the historical mansion, the newer hotel area, pool, gardens and stone cliff. So relaxing to walk the grounds. Impressed that she often stopped ask other guests how they enjoying their stay. The views at Stonecliffe are out of this world. Regarding island accommodations; the beach views and of the bridge are better (than when we visited other Inns) than any other vantage point anywhere on the island. Looking forward to going back and taking advantage of the restaurant (heard about the fabulous chef & staff from other Innkeepers) - which we didn't do this time. Stefanie advised us to visit wonderful places on our bicycles. If it weren't for her enthusiasm, we would not have gone to Ft. Holmes and stopped at some other beautiful points on the paths, or biked nearly as far (whew). Looking forward to next summer and seeing their new renovations - although I like things as old as can be...while my husband enjoys the newest.

Room Tip: If you like the feel of history - choose the mansion. If you like a summer, vacation, newish feel - choose the newer "addition."
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanMcD13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We have treated ourselves every year for the past 10 years to a 2 night-3 day stay at Stonecliff. We have wonderful memories from each trip and have frequently brought friends and family with us. We do not enjoy "tourist traps" which is what most people think about the main street of Mackinac Island. My husband was very hesitant to go at first. However, after finding Stonecliff, we both are hooked! It's secluded and cozy, elegant and homey. The staff have always been wonderful as we've gotten acquainted with many of them. We stay in the same room every time, enjoying the beautiful wooded view while sitting on a 12 foot cushioned window seat! We take our own bikes and love to ride around the top areas of the island and see sites the normal visitors to Mackinac Island never see. We go after Labor Day when it is naturally slower, and when the last ferry leaves the island...ahhh...blissful!

Room Tip: Several to choose from, depending on what you prefer to see out your window!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews