We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Our Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Inn at Stonecliffe
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We recently spent two nights at the Inn and loved it! We liked the ambiance and charm of both the mansion and our room! We ate dinner the first night at the Inn--the Cudahy Chophouse, and the second night at the Woods which is right on the property. Both were delicious! They are also nice because you don't have to go back into town after getting cleaned up! We highly recommend the Inn at Stonecliffe!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DebbieC331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (538)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 538 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

Just got home from a holiday weekend stay at the Inn. What a beautiful facility, far from the maddening crowd that is on the main streets. Bikes are available for rent. The pool is delightful. But the view is the best feature of this grand place. My only suggestion for improvement would to offer lunch service, asI did not want to leave the grounds. Staff is gracious and very accommodating . cmpd

Room Tip: Spurge and get a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Cyndi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My husband and I spent our 25th wedding anniversary at Stonecliffe and we had a wonderful experience. The Inn is off the beaten path, with wonderful grounds and lovely views. The walk into the city was also very relaxing, giving us time to explore all walking paths. I would definitely stay at the Inn again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Paraise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Spent a family weekend on historic Mackinac Island. The distance from downtown is a minor inconvenience as the hotel offers fantastic views in a peaceful, serene setting. The recent renovation updates the property just enough without destroying the old world feel that the island offers. New beds too! Friendly staff, nice rooms, and breakfast included. All in all a wonderful stay. Will stay again and certainly recommend!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank oppermancjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This hotel is the only place on the island we will stay.
It's about 1-1/2 to 2 miles from town, bicycles are also rented at hotel, which were all new this year.
It is a beautiful old mansion with fabulous grounds.
We usually try to get a room with a lakeside view, this gives a great view of the mackinaw bridge.
This year; they have upgraded the interior paint wallpaper and furnishings. Very nice.
Seems like the breakfast which is included in the room price was not as generous as previous years. But still good.
Will try to come back again in the fall-great calming time there.

Room Tip: Book early June or late sept, early oct. They seem to be more flexible with rooms & pricing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We had our wedding at the Inn at Stonecliffe, the weekend of June 27-29, 2014. Hands down, the best hotel on the island for such an important event. The staff handled the entire weekend with ease, grace, and professionalism. From the wedding coordinator, Becky Miller, who attended to every detail, to the banquet manager, Nadelorean, to the front desk with Daniel and Rayah, as well as the porters, the service was polite and personable. The rooms and grounds are impecable, overlooking the Mackinac Bridge, and they also have a fabulous outdoor pool. They offer an outstanding breakfast, included with your stay, each morning. Top Notch, we will be going back each year!

Room Tip: Don't pass up the opportunity to stay in the Mansion. The rooms are well-appointed and spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stacy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Wanting to enjoy all that Mackinac Island has to offer, made our choice of The Inn at Stonecliffe the wrong choice for us. The rooms in the Summerhouse are indeed spacious with a small kitchenette and even a sitting area. The staff was helpful and answered all of our questions. The breakfast is nothing to write home about and it might be worth it to trek into town for better coffee. Our main issue was the location as it takes about an hour by horse-drawn carriage to get to town or if you rent bikes it is about a 15 mins ride. We stayed 2 nights.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SyttendeMai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
1.8 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
738 reviews
1.7 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,088 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and Waterfront Collection
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and ...
#10 of 12 in Mackinac Island
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
279 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,055 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Stonecliffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Stonecliffe

Address: 8593 Cudahy Cir, PO Box 338, Mackinac Island, MI 49757-5130
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range: £147 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Stonecliffe 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Stonecliffe enjoys a storied place in Mackinac Island history. Built in 1904 as a family summer escape by industrialist Michael Cudahy, Stonecliffe has enchanted guests for nearly half a century. Situated high on the west bluff, Inn at Stonecliffe lodging comprises a classic Tudor-style mansion that offers 16 bed and breakfast style guest rooms, and the more modern Summer House Suites, with 31 richly appointed suites decorated in a classic summer cottage style with a light Victorian influence. Overnight visitors to Mackinac Island often observe that the best time to enjoy the island is in the early morning or late evening when the last ferry has carried the daily visitors back to the mainland. At The Inn at Stonecliffe, you’ll enjoy that feeling every moment of your stay. Anywhere you turn, tranquility and relaxation await, from the breathtaking bluff-top views of the Straits of Mackinac and Mackinac Bridge to the Inn’s lush, rolling lawns.Special Services and / or Features: • Breakfast Included• Air Conditioning• Onsite Dining and Cocktail Lounge• Weddings and Events• Kitchenettes• Bike Rentals • Cable Television• Outdoor Heated Pool• Private Baths• Telephones• Complimentary Wireless Internet• Non Smoking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Inn at Stonecliffe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Stonecliffe Hotel Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing