We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet comfort off the beaten path”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn at Stonecliffe
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2014

If you want to be in the center of the action, this is not the place. However, it was a great choice for us, as we wanted some relaxation and quiet at the end of our very busy days on the island. We brought our bikes and used them to get from downtown to the inn and back. There are some very steep hills on the way, as the "Stonecliffe" name is accurate -- the inn is at the top of a rocky cliff and getting there required some strenuous riding. A very popular restaurant, The Woods, is right next door, and the inn also has its own restaurant and bar. It has plenty of indoor and outdoor seating and a wide lawn with a view of the Mackinac Bridge.

There were several families staying at the inn, but I can't imagine that little kids could handle the ride to the hotel, so they must have been paying quite a bit for horse-drawn cabs and shuttles, which charge per rider. We chose to dine at The Woods the second night after figuring out that our cab ride to and from a cheaper restaurant canceled what we saved on the meal.

When it came to furnishings, I liked that the inn did not sacrifice comfort for historical accuracy. The furniture had a classic style, but it was new. The bedding was comfortable and similar to what you would find at other hotels. If you want quilts and antiques, this is not the place.

The breakfast buffet opened at 7:30 and had a few hot items -- scrambled eggs and sausage both days, and other items that varied -- and yogurt, pastries, fruit, juice, cereal, toast, and coffee. We liked being able to serve ourselves and enjoy our breakfast on the patio.

The thing that impressed me most was how friendly and helpful all the staff were. We were able to get help with things like ferry tickets (including assistance with lost bike tickets) and dinner reservations from the front desk. Our bags were delivered from the ferry to the hotel, and our bags were delivered about five minutes after we got into the room. Even though there was a buffet for breakfast, an attendant introduced himself to us and let us know he was available if we needed any assistance.

We would definitely stay here in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed in Tudor, one of the Bridgeview King rooms on the third floor and really liked it. It was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (539)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 539 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

I wrote a review in May 2014 prior to us checking out. We had a bad experience with the facilities and personnel during our stay as I noted in my original May review. Trip Advisor would not let me make another review for 30 days. So this is an addendum to say that the Inn manager sought us out Sunday morning prior to us checking out. He was very apologetic about the issues they were experiencing at the Inn, and he offered to give us our money back for our stay plus cover our dinner there on Saturday night. We did not expect that but we appreciated it. So I wanted to give them credit for stepping up. Thank you! We will consider trying them again.

Stayed: May 2014
2  Thank Ddrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

For our 2014 summer vacation my husband and I chose Mackinac Island and the Upper Pennisula of Michigan. Having never been to the Island I was unsure of where to stay. My husband's brother and wife had vacationed on the Island a few years back so I asked for some recommendations. They had stayed downtown at the Island House and loved it. I tried booking there and it was full. So I did a little rearch on tripadvisor and found The Inn at Stonecliff. SOOOO glad that I did. It was charming. Just what we wanted. It is about 2 miles from downtown but we love to walk and it was a beautiful walk every day. I loved all of the wildflowers! We even found a little shortcut thru the woods. It is so peaceful and lovely here. None of the noise or chaos of downtown. We stayed in the Mansion in the Mackinac Room and it was superb! Huge room with a large windows and a spectacular view of the grounds and the bridge. No air conditioning in the Mansion but we left the windows open and the breezes cooled the room nicely. Bathroom was extremely spacious and the shower was excellent. The bed was ultra comfy....I slept like a baby. And to me the most important part of my stay at a place is the bed! I loved being able to get up in the morning and walk down the grand staircase to a delicious hot breakfast every morning. The staff goes out of their way to make your stay a pleasant one. Be sure to take the walk out behind the property to Sunset Rocks. I highly recommend The Inn at Stonecliff.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank chefshar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Even though this Inn was a little off the beaten path from the mainstream city life of Mackinac, it was SUCH a delight to stay at. We stayed here for our honeymoon and loved every second of it. We purchased one of the packages their website had to offer which included a dinner for two one night and breakfast each morning. The dinner we had was sensational and the breakfasts were delicious with plenty of good options to choose from. We rented bikes two of the 3 days we were there and that was so much fun!

We stayed in the Snowberry Room and while the room was very pretty, the bed was a bit outdated and could have used a new mattress. It was not the most comfortable. The bathroom was cute and clean and I enjoyed the vintage feel of it. It is also not the most quiet hotel as the doors and hallways are older and don't shut out the noise.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefanie C, General Manager at The Inn at Stonecliffe, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you so much for your review of our property! We love that so many honeymooners find their way to The Inn at Stonecliffe, and find the time to enjoy their get-away and each other on such a momentous occasion. We hope that you will come back to visit us soon. I see that you last stayed with us during summer of 2013. You will be happy to hear that we opened in 2014 with a new look! All 16 rooms got a major facelift. New carpet, paint, wall coverings, furniture, and yes... that includes beds! You will absolutely love it, and we hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The Inn is about 2 miles from downtown, but the short walk or bike ride is definitely worth it. The grounds are meticulously groomed and the view of Mackinac Bridge is beautiful. The rooms at the Inn are very nice and the beds are comfy. The complimentary breakfast has an abundant selection of delicious food for even the pickiest of kids. Our kids thoroughly enjoyed the outdoor pool and my husband and I enjoyed reading and relaxing while they had fun. The thing that sets the Inn apart from other hotels on the island though is the staff. The porters, front desk people and especially Daniel, the manager, were all incredibly friendly and helpful answering our many questions. We plan on making our stay at Stonecliff an annual event.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Brooke V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We recently spent two nights at the Inn and loved it! We liked the ambiance and charm of both the mansion and our room! We ate dinner the first night at the Inn--the Cudahy Chophouse, and the second night at the Woods which is right on the property. Both were delicious! They are also nice because you don't have to go back into town after getting cleaned up! We highly recommend the Inn at Stonecliffe!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DebbieC331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Just got home from a holiday weekend stay at the Inn. What a beautiful facility, far from the maddening crowd that is on the main streets. Bikes are available for rent. The pool is delightful. But the view is the best feature of this grand place. My only suggestion for improvement would to offer lunch service, asI did not want to leave the grounds. Staff is gracious and very accommodating . cmpd

Room Tip: Spurge and get a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Cyndi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
1.7 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,090 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,056 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and Waterfront Collection
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and ...
#10 of 12 in Mackinac Island
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
738 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#2 of 12 in Mackinac Island
671 reviews
1.5 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Stonecliffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Stonecliffe

Address: 8593 Cudahy Cir, PO Box 338, Mackinac Island, MI 49757-5130
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range: £135 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Stonecliffe 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Stonecliffe enjoys a storied place in Mackinac Island history. Built in 1904 as a family summer escape by industrialist Michael Cudahy, Stonecliffe has enchanted guests for nearly half a century. Situated high on the west bluff, Inn at Stonecliffe lodging comprises a classic Tudor-style mansion that offers 16 bed and breakfast style guest rooms, and the more modern Summer House Suites, with 31 richly appointed suites decorated in a classic summer cottage style with a light Victorian influence. Overnight visitors to Mackinac Island often observe that the best time to enjoy the island is in the early morning or late evening when the last ferry has carried the daily visitors back to the mainland. At The Inn at Stonecliffe, you’ll enjoy that feeling every moment of your stay. Anywhere you turn, tranquility and relaxation await, from the breathtaking bluff-top views of the Straits of Mackinac and Mackinac Bridge to the Inn’s lush, rolling lawns.Special Services and / or Features: • Breakfast Included• Air Conditioning• Onsite Dining and Cocktail Lounge• Weddings and Events• Kitchenettes• Bike Rentals • Cable Television• Outdoor Heated Pool• Private Baths• Telephones• Complimentary Wireless Internet• Non Smoking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Inn at Stonecliffe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Stonecliffe Hotel Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing