We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Main Street Inn and Suites
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Really cute and clean inn steps from ferry. Its all close since Mackinac Island is only 8 miles around. No waterviews. But neat and decorated in a Laura Ashley kind of way. Flat screens and other updates. Spacious rooms, smaller bathrooms. No breakfast but free fudge on check-out!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Main Street Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed you stay with us. We do have a nice location right in the middle of down town so the ferry is very close to us. I believe you may have stayed in one of our deluxe standard rooms. You are correct; the standard rooms do not have a water view. However, all of the suites have balconies with water views. We are glad you enjoyed the decorating in the rooms. The owner of the hotel did all the decorating herself. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    44
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
142
257
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Petersburg, IL
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We just returned from a one night stay. It was a great experience. They recommended Sheppler's Ferry, which makes the luggage transportation/storage very easy. The Inn will store your luggage so you can explore the Island before/after check-in/check-out. Friendly and helpful staff. Our room was one of the least expensive, but was very nice. Beautifully decorated, very clean, and quiet. Great location. There is nothing that I would ask to change.

I highly recommend spending the night on the Island so you can enjoy it later at night and first thing in the morning. Less people and more charm.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveler062010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Main Street Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Thank you very much. We love to hear when our guests enjoy our stay. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallkill, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We stayed here on May 28, 2012 for one evening. we had never been on Mackinack Island and found this hotel from trip advisor. We decided to reserve this hotel because of its affordability and it's location....not to mention it got great reviews on trip advisor. To reserve, I sent an email to the hotel and they called me in less then 5 minutes to reserve...I call that service!

When we arrived, we were greeted warmly and were given some discounts at local establishments. We then went and settled into our rooms. The rooms were very clean and had all the necessities. They even had a fridge and coffee pot. We reserved an interior room with a skylight. They have fresh cut flowers throughout the hotel.

We then went to check out the town. When we returned they turned down our room and gave us a complimentary box of fudge.

When we left, we had time before our ferry and wanted to rent a bike to view the island. They responsibly watched and tagged our bags and kept an eye on them the entire time. Upon our check out, we were given a complimentary 1/2lb of fudge of our choice from their fudge shop.

Lastly, and most importantly, I want to add that we had trouble with our toilet that morning....it wouldn't go down. I went down to the front desk and in no time they had a maintenance person come in and plunge it. I find a hotel shows its true colors not when all goes right, but when it doesn't and we found Main street inn & suites to be wonderful!

Room Tip: We heard that the road front room can get noisy from the bars at night so we chose an interior room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank thg5008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MainStreetInn, Manager at Main Street Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 10 June 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words. It is wonderful to hear that our guests had a great time here (even when there was a minor mishap).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartville, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We just returned from our stay at the Main Street Inn. While the weather did not cooperate, it gave us more time to enjoy our beautiful room. We stayed in 309, a lovely King suite on the third floor. The room was immaculately clean and tastefully decorated.
All of the staff we encountered were polite and helpful.
We loved the location, it was a quick walk to any shop or restaurant.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jlmatheo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MainStreetInn, Manager at Main Street Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 10 June 2012
Thank you very much. It’s too bad the weather wasn’t nice for you but we are glad you enjoyed your room. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hammond, La.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

This has to be the best value on the island. We stayed here 5/20 & 5/21/2012. It is quaint, clean, and the staff are friendly and ready to help in any way. It is in a great location. I would recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MainStreetInn, Manager at Main Street Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 10 June 2012
Thank you very much. We do try to stay competitive with our rates. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IRWIN, PA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Just got back from a wonderful time on mackinac island. We stayed at the Main Street inn and suites. What a beautiful ,clean and friendly place to stay. It is located in the middle of town close to everything.

Room Tip: You might want to book a room facing the main street. There is no main porch to sit on and people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JUTDEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MainStreetInn, Manager at Main Street Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 10 June 2012
Thank you. We are happy you had a nice stay with us. We also think we have a great location. It is very convenient to walk out the front door and have access to everything.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2012

This was our first time at this hotel and we'll definitely stay here again! It's in the perfect location, with a bigger room than expected, quiet and peaceful and clean enough to walk around barefoot (I don't often do that)!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SSMorJRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MainStreetInn, Manager at Main Street Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 10 June 2012
Thank you. We do pride ourselves on being very clean. We do have the carpets professionally cleaned often so our guests will feel comfortable walking barefoot or even letting their children play on the floor. We are glad to hear that you will stay with us again; we look forward to your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
804 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
712 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
927 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
673 reviews
0.1 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Main Street Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Main Street Inn and Suites

Property: Main Street Inn and Suites
Address: 7408 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757-0178
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest accommodations on Mackinac Island offer the feeling of an intimate inn with the conveniences of a modern hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Main Street Hotel Mackinac Island
Hotel Main Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing