We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Honeymoon Stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Main Street Inn and Suites
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Honeymoon Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

What a magical place! We came here to celebrate our 10 yr wedding anniversary and couldn't have found a better place to stay.

We stayed in the honeymoon suite (room 308) and loved every intricate detail. This hotel room has granite tile floors and countertops and is gorgeous with an English-style decor. It's a VERY spacious room, and the views from the balcony are fantastic. There are large flat screen TVs in the bedroom and living room, and there's a microwave and refrigerator too. The hotel looks brand new, even though it is 10 yrs old. It's very clear that the owner and her staff take great pride in this hotel.

The service here is the best we've ever had. All 3 of the front desk staff were amazing. They were very friendly and helpful. They helped us modify our dining reservation and arranged for a carriage taxi to pick us up outside the hotel. I wouldn't have even thought to ask them to do this, but they genuinely wanted us to have a good time and we are so appreciative of their thoughtfulness. The staff had great suggestions of things to do on Mackinac Island, as they live on the island (some of them live there year round). We also loved that the housekeeping staff are from Jamaica - it really reinforced that we were staying on an island and exudes the "vacation" mindset. A special thank you to housekeeper Ava for taking good care of us.

You will get your fill of fudge staying at this hotel! It's offered every evening at turn-down service AND at the front desk. For a chocolate lover, this was a very big perk!

This was our first time at Mackinac Island, and we truly loved every moment. Next time we will return to Main Street Inn and Suites with our children! Thank you, Main Street Inn and Suites. It was a magical, memorable experience. We will return again soon!

Room Tip: Honeymoon Suite (room 308) is fantastic for couples with a great balcony view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    44
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
136
245
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

I stayed at the Main Street Inn and Suites on my first trip to the island. I chose this hotel for its value and rating on Trip Advisor. The hotel is located right in the hub of the shops on the island, so you don't have far to walk if you like to shop. Staff were so friendly and helpful, room was clean and decor very nice. Staff nightly turned beds down, coupons for local restaurant and fudge shop given out to me. I definitely recommend this hotel; you get four-star accommodations for much less than other hotels and inns on the island. I hope to come back to Mackinac Island again and would stay again at the Main Street Inn. It is a beautiful place!

Room Tip: I had an interior room with skylight. I didn't have a window, but I didn't miss it because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

We had such a fantastic time at the Maine Street Inn. Stayed for 3 nights on vacation with my 15 and 17 year old. The staff was so attentive and courteous, the location superb and the beds divine. Nightly turn down and fudge treat was an added bonus. Enjoyed our porch with its view of Main Street and Lake Michigan. Would stay here again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wauchula Fl
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

What a great staff. Great advice on what to do, friendly, and courteous. The room was adequate and clean and so close to pier. If you are on island for short time stay here and stay street side! The stable is out your window on back and is noisy early!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank floridaPastor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed here in June and found it to be really lovely. The price is competitive and the service and furnishings were delightful. Two downsides, no balcony if you don't pay twice the rpice for street view, and no breakfast. Bu they recommended a place for breakfast just 2 doors away and it was great. Be prepared to spend about $500 for a one night stay with ferry, food and tour for a couple. But so many people find a serious price break if you can go after the summer season.

Room Tip: Make sure it is an updated room. If you go off season you can get the beautiful balcony suites for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RNYClakelanier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
columbus, ohio
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed two nights in a suite facing Main Street. It was perfect! Very clean upon arrival...spotless! Furniture and decor were beautiful; plenty of amenities in the bathroom and kitchenette. We had a bay window overlooking Main Street and a small balcony. We opened the windows and could hear the clip-clop of the horses going by, plus typical noise of people talking, etc., but not overly loud. Quiet at night, with occasional clip-clop. It was wonderful not to hear car engines running. The staff at the hotel were exceptional; all very polite and helpful. A nice touch was lemon water provided in the lobby of our floor to drink after coming in from outside. I highly recommend staying here, and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: It is worth the cost to have a suite facing Main Street, and to get a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank audnlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

My husband and I had a fabulous time at Main Street Inn and Suites. We arrived early before check in and the front desk staff took our number and called us once the room was ready. My husband also ended up having to do some work once we arrived so they let him use the game room to make some calls before our room was ready. The housekeeper was also so incredibly friendly. She saw us waiting in the game room and asked what type of room we were staying in. She was sure to let the front desk staff know when it was ready since we were traveling with a baby. Each day that we saw her, she was so kind and friendly to us. Also, as we were traveling with a baby, they had a pack n play all set up for us. The fudge on the night stand each evening was a bonus! I would highly recommend this hotel if you're visiting Mackinac Island.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank ChicagoGirlabouttown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
0.1 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#1 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Main Street Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Main Street Inn and Suites

Property: Main Street Inn and Suites
Address: 7408 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757-0178
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest accommodations on Mackinac Island offer the feeling of an intimate inn with the conveniences of a modern hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Main Street Hotel Mackinac Island
Hotel Main Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing