We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traveling back in time with plush comfort”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Main Street Inn and Suites
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Traveling back in time with plush comfort”
Reviewed 27 August 2010

We visit Michigan to see family every two years and always try to get up to Mackinac Island. This was the first time we stayed overnight on the island. If you haven't been to Mackinac Island before, expect a very enjoyable time! They do not allow automobiles at all and use horse-drawn carriages for the transport of everything imaginable. The fudge shops abound and there is a historical fort you can visit as well. We took a self-guided horse-drawn carriage tour this trip and my husband even got to go golfing at one of a couple courses on the island. The island is full of history and beautiful to boot.
What I didn't know before staying at the Inn, was that the island is even more enjoyable and wonderful after the ferries have shuttled the remaining tourists off the island before bedtime. We walked the island in the evening and the morning with hardly anyone on the street except the clippity-clopping horses and their drivers. It was magical. The kids loved it. We were able to soak in the feel of the island without sharing it with hundreds of others gathered around us.
Staying on the island is very rewarding, and staying at the Main Street Inn and Suites was equally enjoyable. The room was plush and so comfortable. The bed and pillows were super nice and we woke up refreshed each morning. There was a TV for the kids which we used at "nap time" in between doing the many things available on the island. The staff left us fudge samples one night and were always so sweet and helpful. We felt genuinely welcome; as if we were extended family and not paying guests. The paying part, by the way, was not too difficult as the Inn is one of the more reasonably priced places to stay on the Island. Price the Grand Hotel first and then appreciate that you can stay somewhere so homey and tucked away (although off main street and quite close to the ferries, it is tucked into the back of the shops and we always felt secluded the moment we entered the lobby) without having to waste your whole vacation fund on one night's stay.
We would definitely go back to the Main Street Inn and Suites and in fact I wouldn't call around for prices anywhere else this time. When I find someplace that does it right, I vow my future business to them to support their remarkable efforts. This hotel has my future business. Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GirliWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    44
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
140
253
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atkinson, IL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2010

I'm not sure if one more excellent review of Main Street Inn and Suites is needed but I will post one anyway. It is right across the street from Shepler's Ferry so you just have a short walk to get to your hotel. It is centrally located on the main street so go either way down the street and you're close to "home". The hotel itself is beautiful. We stayed in a deluxe standard room on the backside of the hotel. It was so quiet you forgot you were on Main Street! We were pleasantly surprised when we came "home" our first night to the turned down beds and complimentary fudge. We took a bike ride our first night on the island and bought the "Sunset pkg" which meant we could keep the bikes until morning. Main Street let us store our bikes in their basement. The staff was excellent and answered any questions we had. They even made arrangements for a dockboy from Sheplers to pick up our luggage at our room to take down to the ferry the morning that we left. We would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pajamama2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2010

We decided on a last minute trip to Michigan and wanted to stay at the Main Street Inn based on reviews. It did not disappoint. The staff was extremely helpful from start to finish. We booked a suite and it was beautifully decorated and so spacious. We did not expect the living room to be so grand. The location is perfect and convenient and we were also surprised with the beautiful view of the bay. Everything was even better than the photos on-line! We will definitely plan ahead next time to book a longer stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iowafam3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffersonville, IN
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2010

This is the second year that we have stayed at the Main Street Inn and Suites on Mackinac Island. We have stayed in numerous places ovewr the last 15+ years, but needed more room due to an increase in family size. They have reasonable rates for the island, they are centrally located, their staff is helpful and friendly. I would certainly recommend this hotel to any who travel to Mackinac Island.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scot28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
66 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2010

This is our 3rd stay at this hotel during the yacht races and we were not disappointed. We splurged on a suite, which was money well spent. We enjoyed the extra room and view of Huron street. The beds are super comfortable, the hotel is still so clean and fresh. My only complaint is that the housekeeping this year, while good, was not exceptional as it's been in the past years I've stayed. Our last night we didn't get turn down service, and the regular coffee was never restocked after cleaning. I had to go down to the lobby and ask for coffee each day. Other years housekeeping left wine glasses in the room and made towel animals for the kids when they saw I had bought a bottle of wine, and seemed to notice that there were kids in the room. Other than these minor things, we were satisfied. Staff turnover is very high on the island, so some problems are understandable.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsClean76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2010

We stayed in a huge suite for our annual girls' weekend, and seven of us fit in the suite very comfortably. Everything was BEAUTIFUL--the room, view, entire facility...everything. The price was very reasonable for everything that we got--such a huge room and the perfect location! The staff was super friendly, and the dockporters did a fantastic job too. The beds were extremely comfortable, even the roll-away we used. Everyone slept really well. Everything was amazingly clean as well, and when we needed more towels late at night, the front desk staff person was so quick in meeting our needs. I highly recommend staying here because it's fantastic. It's a newer property so you don't have to deal with old, falling apart facilities--it's all so new! We loved it and can't wait to go back again and again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwilson11513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2010

Based on positive reviews here, we recently stayed at the Main Street Inn for our first trip to Mackinac Island. We were not let down. The location is perfect, right off the ferry dock and in the heart of the downtown area. We stayed in a deluxe standard room that faced out the back of the hotel, and though it did not feature a great view it was probably much quieter than rooms facing Main Street. The room was large, very clean, and cheerfully decorated. And turndown service each night included some of the Island’s fabled fudge, as well as a coupon at checkout for a free half pound on our way out!

While we would have loved to have stayed at the Grand Hotel, we figured we saved close to a thousand dollars staying at the Main Street Inn, and spending the afternoon at the Grand eating lunch and having drinks. Plus the Main Street Inn is much more convenient for taking a carriage tour, renting bikes, or trying one of the local restaurants.

Many of our friends on the east coast have sadly never been to Mackinac Island, or even heard of it. But we’ve sang the praises of the Island, and the Main Street Inn as the place to stay, since our return.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SilverRaven58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
732 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
858 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
241 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
702 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Main Street Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Main Street Inn and Suites

Property: Main Street Inn and Suites
Address: 7408 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757-0178
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest accommodations on Mackinac Island offer the feeling of an intimate inn with the conveniences of a modern hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Main Street Hotel Mackinac Island
Hotel Main Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing