We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay on Mackinac”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Main Street Inn and Suites
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2010

My wife and I celebrated out 15th anniversary with a night's stay on the island at the Main Street Inn. The room was clean and very well done. We had a view overlooking Main Street. But the rooms are long (suites) and the beds are far away from the windows - meaning we heard nothing while sleeping. We got there relatively early and were able to look at a few other rooms which were similar but offered various little differences. Our room, for instance, had a beautiful large bay window to look out. But that meant the balcony only had room for one person. The room next to us had less grand window and room for a couple to sit out and watch the goings on down on Main Street. We got comp fudge and coupons...the recommendations on places to go to eat for both dinner and breakfast were fabulous. On the back side of the building is the livery and I wonder if the odors affect the rear-facing rooms. The location is right across from the docks so you can easily take care of your own luggage. I'd find it hard to think that anyone could be too dissapointed with thiis place...it is a place I would return to in a heartbeat. We had a fabulous time.

My only real complaint was that they had the in-room fridge turned off and no sign telling you that. One could easily have put something in there and not realized it was warm (I almost did). Either make sure its on or post a sign.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amaranthpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (522)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

394 - 400 of 523 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2010

We just celebrated my parents' 50th Anniversary on the island and stayed at Main Street! We had 4 rooms total and each of them was beautiful and immaculate! The staff went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable! We would all highly recommend Main Street Inn! We will definetly be back for a return visit!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Momkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

We spent three nights at Main Street Inn and Suites in late August, and enjoyed every minute of it! The suite (Room 210) had a beautiful living room with a small balcony on the second floor overlooking the harbor and life on Main Street, and the bathroom had a fantastic whirlpool tub. It was a very relaxing setting, and quiet, yet right in the middle of all of the action on Mackinac Island. We found the front desk staff to be very welcoming and always had good recommendations for us regarding meals and such.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzanneManhattan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

My husband and I got married on Mackinac Island in October of 2006 and we stayed at Main Street Inn and Suites. Their staff was so wonderufl and accomodating for our wedding party and they all wanted to see our dresses and and saw us off to our wedding location. Thier rooms are soooo comfy and nice and wonderful. We go back every year for our anniversary except once. Last year we took our 1 year old and she had a great time, especially with the fudge. I would HIGHLY reccomend staying here. We will be back with them this October 2010. Once you have you will compare other hotels with Main Street and they won't even come close.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank garrenandreaiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

Recently spent two nights at the Main Street Inn and loved it. The hotel is brightly decorated and immaculate. Considering what the Grand Hotel charges and even the Hampton Inn in nearby Traverse City, this was a real bargain.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nohandsontheclock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

I love staying at Main Street Inn & Suites on Mackinac Island (this was my 2nd visit)! It's located across from one of the ferries and has great views of the harbor. The staff made me feel welcome and the rooms are gorgeous - no cookie cutter decor here. Each room is completely different from every other.

Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
Thank Pebble9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

We've been going to Mac Island every fall since '93. We first stayed at Main St Inn & Suites, the year they opened, and have been there every since. The rooms are so comfortable, as are the beds. Like climbing into a cloud. We've stayed about 8 different places and none of the beds compare to theirs. Plus the hospitality & friendliness of their staff is superb. It's just a very comfortable place to be, and right on Main St. Sits right across from the Sheplers boat dock, which we take every yr. We come over from St. Ignace Sheplers. We've traveled on their boats and Arnolds and the kids are way more accommodating and friendly than on Arnolds. And, even more so in St. Ignace. Main St has a couple shoppes underneath on street level~~a wonderful book store and a Murry's Fudge shop. Several restaurants within a couple blocks. No pool, but when you have the Lake Huron beaches, what else do you need~ Try it, you'll be hooked. We will be there again Sept. 22nd.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marty1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,030 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
731 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
765 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,052 reviews
0.1 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Main Street Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Main Street Inn and Suites

Address: 7408 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757-0178
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range: £57 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest accommodations on Mackinac Island offer the feeling of an intimate inn with the conveniences of a modern hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Main Street Hotel Mackinac Island
Hotel Main Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing