We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming Inn”
Review of Inn on Mackinac

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn on Mackinac
Certificate of Excellence
Wheaton, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Charming Inn”
Reviewed 3 April 2013

This is our place to stay when we visit the island. It is close enough to town for a nice walk, but far enough to miss most of that noise. The front veranda is a great place to sit and watch people pass by, and the spa pool located on the property is wonderful. The staff puts out cheese and crackers every afternoon, and warm cookies on the nightstand each evening. Truly a place to unwind and relax.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    83
    22
    9
    5
See reviews for
106
177
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knob Noster
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We were extremely pleased with our recent stay at the Inn on Mackinac. The location is always very important to us, and this was ideal. We were on the main street within easy walking distance of most everything but not in the middle of all the downtown hub-bub and touristy area. We spent a short time just sitting on the wonderful second-floor porch and taking in the horsedrawn wagons and people on bicycles--such a unique sight. Our room, and the whole Victorian house, was what you would expect from a quaint, old-fashioned town but with modern plumbing, etc Most importantly, it was clean. We even had a private door out onto a patio area that was an added bonus. The breakfast was very adequate--had many of the normal choices but nothing surprising. I liked the little additional things like cheese and crackers in the afternoons, warm cookies before bedtime, and coffee, tea, and hot cocoa 24-hours a day. The staff we encountered were all nice. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sugarmaple65336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChuckBBQ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in September 2012 and while we loved the Island, The Inn needs help. One would expect a 4 star hotel for the cost of this hotel. The Inn is not.

The beds were small and fairly comfortable, but the bedding was old and thin. The bed spreads were cheap Walmart type. The bathroom is very small, sit on the toilet and close the door, your knees are against the door. The small sink is in your room, not the bathroom. The TV is older than I am and the carpet has burns in it even though there is no smoking.

The breakfast was good, but the same every day.

The staff were nice and they did move our baggage to and from the ferry, which is a large help in there are no motorized vehicles on the island only horses, bicycles, and walking. Only thing was they sent our luggage to the wrong ferry.

I recommend Mackinac Island, but not this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChuckTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnonMackinac, General Manager at Inn on Mackinac, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Thank you for your review! At this very moment we are ordering brand new luxury bedspreads for all of our rooms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

The Good...The Inn on Mackinac is in a very nice location, the porch is great to sit on, the staff was very nice, and my daughter enjoyed the breakfast. The Bad... You can hear EVERYTHING in the room next door and out in the hallway. And I mean whole conversations, the TV, the iPhone alarm. And our room had a weird musty smell, and the shower was gross/ dirty/old. I would love to visit Mackinac Island again, but would definitley stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ldb9446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnonMackinac, General Manager at Inn on Mackinac, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Thank you so much for your review! All issues mentioned have been addressed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise
Level Contributor
179 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

My wife and I stayed here for three nights just after Labor Day taking advantage of the Inn's lower rates plus the extra 15% offered for booking well in advance. We had stayed on the island a few years before and had thought this would be a neat place to stay from our observations from having past the Inn numerous times during our walks into town. We were not disappointed. The staff is very welcoming and accommodating. We especially enjoyed the cheese and crackers along with lemonade that are provided each afternoon plus the freshly baked cookies that are left in your room each evening. The breakfast provided each morning offered a myriad of choices which included french toast and/or waffles, scrambled eggs, sausage, fruit, oatmeal, yogurt, coffee and/or tea, and juices. It's location is just perfect, being near town but just outside enough to offer a little more quiet. The Inn is beautifully decorated and the large porch overlooking the sidewalk and street offers a great place to pass time and watch the carriages, bikes, and people go by. It's so relaxing! The only concern we had during our stay was the last evening when a wedding party that was staying at the Inn were up visiting on the patio immediately below our room in a less than quiet manner until late in the evening. We had the Colonial Front View Room in the Turret which I had selected not realizing it had the balcony porch immediately outside our window and the patio right below. Other than this one incident, we had a marvelous time and would stay here again in a different room. We made one especially great discovery during our stay which was the JL Beanery Coffee Shop across the street from the Inn in back of the Bay View Inn and the bicycle shop. They make the greatest lattes, sandwiches, and pastries that you'll find anywhere on the island; so much better than Starbucks too! An additional attraction we thoroughly enjoyed was sailing the Straits with Captain Dave on his beautiful sailboat located right behind the Bayview Inn at the Bay View Yoder Dock. I highly recommend this leisurely two-hour sailing experience to anyone visiting the island. Some advice I might offer for anyone considering staying at this Inn is to get on Facebook and click on Like which will allow you to check often for some great rates offered for booking well in advance. If and when we visit the island again, we'll definitely stay at the Inn on Mackinac.

Room Tip: The Colonial Front View Room in the Turret might not be your best choice if you have noisy people on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank durf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

This inn was very accomodating when I first booked it months in advance. When we arrived, it was quaint and charming, with helpful staff at the desk at all times. The decor is a lot of antiques that are well maintained, the beds are comfortable and there are plenty of extra pillows. You can hear other room's plumbing at times, but that is a small price to pay for staying at such a great old place. There is plenty of seating on the porches and there is a wonderful "spa" on the back deck. It is heated and a cross between a swimming pool and a hot tub, with a water fall. The free breakfast is like nothing I have ever seen in a hotel. There is the waffle maker, toaster, hot scrambled eggs and sausage, and a chafing dish of real oatmeal served with brown sugar and chopped pecans. Different juices, cereals, and fresh fruit. And yogurt. Hot coffee, tea and chocolate were available at all times and there was a cheese and cracker tray set out every afternoon. Evenings the chamber maids went to each room with fresh baked cookies. Mackinac Island can be quite boisterous down town, but this Inn is just far enough up the street that you only hear the occasional clip clop of the passing horses. I highly recomend this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishGirlinWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheboygan, WI
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We arrived just before 2 pm. We were told our room would be "just a few minutes". We ate lunch and returned and the room still wasn't ready. We have 2 kids and were looking forward to arriving, getting changed, and going biking, and instead we're stuck waiting around. The woman behind the desk is very flip about the situation. She suggested I take my suitcase into the public restroom to change, which is fine but at the same time inconvenient. I also wanted to be able to lock my purse in the room instead of carrying it on the bike. When you arrive at a hotel, you expect to be welcomed and to have a comfortable place to go. It is now 330 and we've been waiting an hour and a half, killing time because we thought the room would be "just a few minutes". Our afternoon has been wasted.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank aquila71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Mackinac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Mackinac

Property: Inn on Mackinac
Address: 6896 Main Street, PO Box 1716, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The year was 1867, an era of horse-drawn carriages and ladies in bustles. Blacksmiths were crafting horse shoes in glowing forges. During this height of Victorian culture, the Inn on Mackinac was built. Known then as Chateau Beaumont in memory of the famous Army surgeon at Fort Mackinac, the Inn on Mackinac has retained its quaint, old fashioned charm. The Inn’s facilities have been updated to meet the needs of the modern traveler while preserving its colorful history. Today, completely remodeled and redecorated, this beautiful Victorian Inn opens its doors, where the very special charm of our family-run Inn awaits you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn On Mackinac Hotel Mackinac Island
Hotel On Mackinac Island
Mackinac Bed Breakfast Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing